Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millennium Trilogy), The

Stieg Larsson
The stunning third and final novel in Stieg Larsson's internationally best-selling trilogy...Lisbeth Salander--the heart of Larsson's two previous novels--lies in critical condition, a bullet wound to her head, in the intensive care unit of a Swedish city hospital. She’s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if and when she recovers, she’ll be taken back to Stockholm to stand trial for three murders. With the help of her friend, journalist Mikael Blomkvist, she will not only have to prove her innocence, but also identify and denounce those in authority who have allowed the vulnerable, like herself, to suffer abuse and violence. And, on her own, she will plot revenge--against the man who tried to kill her, and the corrupt government institutions that very nearly destroyed her life.Once upon a time, she was a victim. Now Salander is fighting back.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-07-22
4
Reviewed: 2020-08-28
didn't finish. no big desire to.
Reviewed: 2020-06-29
Again, a different feel from the first two books (this is more of a spy thriller/court drama), but a suspenseful conclusion to the series. It's very sad that we won't get to read and more of Larsson's works.
Reviewed: 2018-02-24
I loved the first two in this series and knowing this was the finale I pushed myself to finish this. It had parts that I would inhale and parts that dragged really slow. Overall, it was a rough ending to a superb series.
Reviewed: 2016-01-16
Lisbeth Salander lies in critical condition, a bullet wound to her head, in the intensive care unit of a Swedish city hospital. She?s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if and when she recovers, she?ll be taken back to Stockholm to stand trial for three murders. With the help of her friend, journalist Mikael Blomkvist, she will not only have to prove her innocence, but also identify and denounce those in authority who have allowed the vulnerable, like herself, to suffer abuse and violence. And, on her own, she will plot revenge?against the man who tried to kill her, and the corrupt government institutions that very nearly destroyed her life. Once upon a time, she was a victim. Now Salander is fighting back.
Reviewed: 2015-10-31
Not my usual genre, but still, a fun read.
Reviewed: 2015-04-19

So after the way the second book started I was so nervous about this one, but stopping was not really an option considering how the second book ended. I was happy, very happy, that I stuck it out to the end...potential end? I know there is another book to be released this year so we'll see. However, I was satisfied with the ending we were given in this one so three may be the magical number for me. There are no real loose ends, just an open ending that could lead to more.

As before, be prepared to think Swedes drink nothing but coffee and survive solely on sandwiches, but it's not as obnoxious as in the second book. The pace is fairly constant and the plot keeps you moving through the novel. Sure, there are some plot lines that seem completely arbitrary and have no effect in the long run, however, the distraction was welcome in this book and did not feel like a waste of time. 

Now begins a fun weekend where I get to see the films (both versions) and maybe walk away with more appreciation for our plucky little Lisbeth Salander. I would absolutely recommend reading this one, but it cannot stand alone...you have to read the previous books for this one to make much sense.

Item Posts
@wjgravity
@wjgravity completed #girlwhokickedthe... on 2021-08-30
@wjgravity
@wjgravity began #girlwhokickedthe... on 2021-08-29
@smeegie
@smeegie completed #girlwhokickedthe... on 2019-02-02
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper completed #girlwhokickedthe... on 2015-04-26
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper began #girlwhokickedthe... on 2015-04-07
@kochomik
@kochomik completed #girlwhokickedthe... on 2018-07-22
@kochomik
@kochomik began #girlwhokickedthe... on 2018-07-22
@empcle
@empcle completed #girlwhokickedthe... on 2016-09-10
@empcle
@empcle began #girlwhokickedthe... on 2016-08-04