0: Hobbit, The

J.R.R. Tolkien
Now a major motion pictureA great modern classic and the prelude to THE LORD OF THE RINGS   Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.“A glorious account of a magnificent adventure, filled with suspense and seasoned with a quiet humor that is irresistible . . . All those, young or old, who love a fine adventurous tale, beautifully told, will take The Hobbit to their hearts.” – New York Times Book Review

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-20

This novel truly takes you to a new land. It is full of adventure and creatures that will continue to pull you further into their world.
Genres it would fit into:
Adventure, Action, Sci-fi/Dystopian

Ms. Gorham

Reviewed: 2015-11-21

Loved this book

Reviewed: 2015-09-16

Muchos podrían juzgar la elección de este libro entre mis clásicos, pero definitivamente es uno de los más relevantes. Gracias a la forma de escritura sumamente alegre, amigable y tan personal de J.R.R. Tolkien, mi pasión por la lectura incrementó enormemente, dando como resultado el gran amor que le tengo a los libros hoy en día.

Reviewed: 2015-07-25

Although I had planned to read this book before watching the films – I did end up watching the films first and I am very glad that I did.
Now I did like The Hobbit but it wasn’t quite what I expected it to be and it often felt as though things were missing.
I did know that the characters were given more personality for the movies but still I was surprised to find that hardly any of the characters showed much of a personality. The only ones were I really felt as though we are actually getting to know the characters and can get an understanding for what they were actually up to were Bilbo, Gandalf and Gollum. Although I did get some personality out of Thorin as well; all other Dwarves felt lost on me. There was so little mentioned about them that they might have been just one Dwarf to begin with. Had I not seen the film before I would have had trouble keeping them apart or even getting a rough picture of them. Not to say that my imagination isn’t wide enough to create my own picture; the book just offered too little of the characters to actually base a picture on.
Seeing as I did watch the movie first I didn’t actually end up having issues with this and enjoyed reading the book.
I ended up really liking Bilbo. I never felt much for him before but he became such a wonderful character. I loved his quirks and gentle nature – how he basically wanted the good for all. I enjoyed his chapter with Gollum the most! I also preferred the Beorn book scene over the movie version.
One thing that did bother me though was how the narrator kept pointing out how far the chapter had come – when I read a book I like to dive into the story and not have a narrator permanently reminding me that I am “only” reading a book.
But then I did like the language used by the author!
While I was hoping for more detail and descriptions – it’s a fun book that I enjoyed reading and I simply adore the main character, Bilbo!

Reviewed: 2015-05-04
  A fantastic story that really gets your imagination going! I really love this tale. The only thing that is strange to me is when Bilbo gets knocked out and events still go on without the experience of reading them. It's a short tale and is fun to compare the book to the new movies. You can pick this book up at the Colona Public Library! ~Ashley

 

Reviewed: 2015-04-28
It's truly hard to review a classic, since there's typically a reason why they're considered such. Most don't reach that status by being bad books, and Tolkien's The Hobbit is no exemption to that rule. It's charming, thrilling, emotional, and enjoyable all at the same time. Where Lord of the Rings has sometimes dense areas of prose, The Hobbit has flowing poetry that's sure to produce a child-like giddiness. If you haven't read it yet, there's no reason not to. Pick it up and give it a try.
Item Posts
@thompson51989
@thompson51989 completed #hobbitthe... on 2018-11-06 00:00:00
@thompson51989
@thompson51989 began #hobbitthe... on 2018-10-22
@dlwest979
@dlwest979 completed #hobbitthe... on 2016-03-01
@dlwest979
@dlwest979 began #hobbitthe... on 2016-01-01
@centennialasp
@centennialasp began #hobbitthe... on 2016-11-29
@bookaddict450
@bookaddict450 completed #hobbitthe... on 2016-09-10
@bookaddict450
@bookaddict450 began #hobbitthe... on 2016-08-12
@bdawnc
@bdawnc completed #hobbitthe... on 2014-12-01
@bdawnc
@bdawnc began #hobbitthe... on 2014-11-24