Batman: The Killing Joke, Deluxe Edition

Alan Moore, Brian Bolland, Tim Sale (Introduction)
Written by Alan Moore & Brian Bolland Art and cover by Brian Bolland The classic Batman tale by Alan Moore and Brian Bolland returns in an all-new special edition! This edition - celebrating the 20th anniversary of the landmark work - features all-new coloring by Bolland, and includes the story "An Innocent Guy," previously featured in BATMAN: BLACK AND WHITE! Advance-solicited; on sale March 19

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-05-02

Really hard to stomache at times and outdated in its portrayal of women, let's be honest but truly some of the best dialogue writing I have ever read and that ending is truly fascinating. 

Reviewed: 2016-07-22
I'M ENTERING MADNESS!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA...
Reviewed: 2016-06-14
I remember hearing about his graphic novel around the time of the film The Dark Knight. People wondered if Christopher Nolan would be borrowing from Alan Moore's depiction of the Joker's origin. Only lightly, it seems. In the movie the Joker is trying to break Harvey Dent to prove his point, and in the book it's Commissioner Gordon. The book Joker has some characteristics that are like the film Joker, but that might all be coincidence.

I haven't enjoyed Alan Moore books in the past. The Killing Joke was not as bad as others of his that I've read, but neither is it exceptional in any way. It's an okay origin story for the Joker. It's too short to be completely satisfying.

Brian Bolland's artwork is pretty good. I read the version that he re-colored, and I'd be interested in looking at the original coloring. Bolland's coloring is very muted, which I like, but some scenes might have been better with a bit more vibrancy.

So: an okay book. Not very memorable. I don't have much to say about it.
Reviewed: 2015-05-04

Amazingly written and illustrated this novel is one of the must-reads of batman comics. This novel really shows the complicated relationship of the Batman and the Joker and shows exactly why the joker is considered batman's number one nemesis. You can pick up this book at the Colona Public Library. ~Ashley

Item Posts
@jacademic
@jacademic completed #batmanthekilling... on 2018-11-12
@jacademic
@jacademic began #batmanthekilling... on 2018-11-12
@azcandace
@azcandace completed #batmanthekilling... on 2018-01-02
@azcandace
@azcandace began #batmanthekilling... on 2018-01-02
@mudheri22
@mudheri22 completed #batmanthekilling... on 2016-07-22
@electricidiot
@electricidiot completed #batmanthekilling... on 2016-06-20
@electricidiot
@electricidiot began #batmanthekilling... on 2016-06-20
@andromopa
@andromopa completed #batmanthekilling... on 2015-03-09
@andromopa
@andromopa began #batmanthekilling... on 2015-02-09
@nada
@nada completed #batmanthekilling... on 2015-10-16
@nada
@nada began #batmanthekilling... on 2015-10-16