Alice (The Chronicles of Alice, #1)

Christina Henry
Paperback

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-05-30
It's not your regular walk in the park, but then, if it was.. Well, it wouldn't be so damned good! Real RTC
Reviewed: 2020-09-13
Alice in Wonderland meets Steampunk and social horror in this novel. Alice is a mental patient who escapes when the demon Jabowocky breaks free. Mental patient/best friend Hatcher escapes with Alice. Caterpillar, Cheshire, the Walrus and the White Rabbit are real life monsters who use magic to get rich off drugs and girls. Some parts disturbing but well worth the read through. Only real complaint, too short of a novel
Reviewed: 2019-01-14
[3.5 stars.] I really enjoyed Henry's other work, "The Lost Boy" much better. But this was okay. A fun read.
Reviewed: 2016-07-20

   When I first started Alice, I basically thought it was gonna be Alice's Adventures in Wonderland with a dark twist. Boy was I wrong. It definitely had the dark twist. But as for the plot, I feel like Christina Henry took the characters from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and created her own world for them. A much darker and twisted world. Which isn't a bad thing, it's just that I was waiting for a good while to see if Alice would fall down a rabbit hole.

   At first I found it a little hard to get into the story. But once the action picked up, I couldn't wait to know what would happen next. I was happy to find that Alice wasn't just some helpless girl and I also couldn't help but to fall for Hatcher just the tiniest bit. Maybe a little more than a tiny bit, but still. Christina Henry ended it well enough that it could of done well as a stand alone but now that the next book has come out I can't wait to see what's next in store for Alice and Hatcher. I would recommend this book. Just keep in mind that 1.) It is not Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and 2.) it can get pretty dark, twisted, and disturbing at times.

Item Posts
@aghteaching
@aghteaching completed #alice... on 2016-07-01
@gigletrig
@gigletrig completed #alice... on 2018-07-06
@librarypages
@librarypages completed #alice... on 2016-07-04
@librarypages
@librarypages began #alice... on 2016-06-19