Book Thief, The

Markus Zusak
It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-02-08

Liesel Meminger haunts me. Death telling this story of a young girl in the middle of a war. Hans, Rosa, Rudy and Max the Jewish boxer in the basement. I can't forget them, I love them. This story isn't about WWII or Hitler, it's about people and love and kindness and loss. Hans with his hand rolled cigarettes and accordion heart, Max with his words, Rosa the thunder cloud, and Rudy, the boy with the hair the color of lemons.

Reviewed: 2019-11-07

The book started off as slow for me (as a lot of books do) but then picked up a little speed in the middle. Midway through I became interested in the story and characters, instead of just reading because I had started reading it and had to finish. By the last 50 to 100 pages I was blown away, moved to tears, and forever haunted ... the ending makes the book worth the read!

Reviewed: 2019-08-15
One of the best Holocaust books I’ve read because it so poetically yet honestly portrays the truth of what occurred. This book is heart-wrenching in the right ways because it speaks to humanity’s fraility, strength, and dignity. Read. Read. Read.
Reviewed: 2019-01-02
This is still one of my favorite books, even though I haven't read it since 8th grade! It's terribly heart wrenching... But that's what makes it amazing!
Reviewed: 2018-07-30

This book devastated me. I just finished it and I've spent the last half hour trying to read between tears. 

Going into this book I knew only a little, Germany during World War II, a young girl, books and a Jew. This book though... The use of language, the imagery is simply gorgeous. It's heart breaking in so many ways and yet, gives such hope in the goodness of people. Lisel and Rudy will join Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe and Emily and Teddy as perfect child couples. 

I've just finished this book, still wiping the tears from my eyes and I know that I will return to this book in the next couple of years. This book is damned near perfect. I love it!

Reviewed: 2018-06-28
Depressing, heartfelt, amazing.❤️.....and there’s Rudy.
Reviewed: 2018-02-24
I have a coworker who knew I was reading this and when I mentioned I was done with the book he asked me how I liked it. "It was good; but..." I said and he smiled and agreed. 
 
There are places where the book is fantastic, haunting, and extremely well written. The words mesmerize and the text flows. You are placed in a this odd place of sorta following the Grim Reaper as he collects souls and becomes enamored with Liesel. The ending you're flipping pages determined to find out what happens-to Liesel, her parents, Max, and Rudy.
 
Then there's the middle. I can't begin to imagine how to tell this tale in the middle of WWII in Germany and yet make life somewhat normal. This is a story of Liesel and her young teen years. There's air raids, rations, and the lack of books but there's growing up, dealing with bullies, secrets, and pettiness of those years. How do you make the story compelling without much happening and yet everything happening?
 
Well, Zusak sorta figures that. However, the middle is where I got bogged down and was moving at glacier speed. 
 
So, would I recommend it? If you've heard about the book and are interested, give it a shot. I can't jump up and down and say it's fantastic but it's a really solid, well written book. Overall, I am glad I picked it up and stayed with it to the end.
Reviewed: 2017-02-22

The Book Thief tells the story of the other side of Germany during Word War II, showing readers that war and suffering affects everyone.

Reviewed: 2016-12-29

Wonderful, eloquent, and moving. An emotional combination of creative fantasy, historical ficiton, and children's writing.
-mm

Reviewed: 2015-12-31

I expected this book to be a lot better than it was because of all the good reviews. The language is so flowery that you don't know what's happening half the time, but once you cut through it, the story is pretty okay. Not great, but okay. It didn't blow me away, but the story flowed a little better once you got about halfway through. The few main characters were likable/memorable though, I'll give him that.

 

Item Posts
@chrisquick
@chrisquick completed #bookthiefthe... on 2020-02-14
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-05-26
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters began #bookthiefthe... on 2017-05-06
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 completed #bookthiefthe... on 2019-05-20
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 began #bookthiefthe... on 2018-12-13
@rosnovsky
@rosnovsky completed #bookthiefthe... on 2018-09-10
@sshamy
@sshamy began #bookthiefthe... on 2018-09-17
@baix0x
@baix0x completed #bookthiefthe... on 2018-07-22
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #bookthiefthe... on 2009-03-07
@pixielesher
@pixielesher completed #bookthiefthe... on 2018-03-30
@pixielesher
@pixielesher began #bookthiefthe... on 2018-03-23
@jfalkens
@jfalkens completed #bookthiefthe... on 2018-07-29
@jfalkens
@jfalkens began #bookthiefthe... on 2018-07-23
@baix0x
@baix0x began #bookthiefthe... on 2018-07-07
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #bookthiefthe... on 2016-12-31