Book Thief, The

Marcus Zusak
It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-07-08
This is one of my all time favorite books! The book is told from a perspective that I have never seen before and I was captured at the very first page. This book is a great historical fiction and I would gladly reread it over and over again.
Reviewed: 2017-02-22

The Book Thief tells the story of the other side of Germany during Word War II, showing readers that war and suffering affects everyone.

Reviewed: 2017-01-17
The Book Thief handles its heavy subject matter with clever wit, making it easier to digest but still allowing its impact to be felt.
Reviewed: 2016-12-29

Wonderful, eloquent, and moving. An emotional combination of creative fantasy, historical ficiton, and children's writing.
-mm

Reviewed: 2016-08-26
There are so many reasons one might hesitate to read The Book Thief, and I think they can easily be summed up in a sentence:[return][return]"This is a novel about a girl in Nazi Germany during World War II, narrated by Death."[return][return]That narrator gave me more pause than the Nazi Germany or World War II elements, to be honest. For one thing, it suggested that The Book Thief might have paranormal elements, which rarely appeal to me; that was a misconception, fortunately. It also suggested that this novel might be a sad, weepy downer–which actually fits with the Nazi Germany/WWII elements. And there are parts of The Book Thief that are hard to get through without getting a bit choked-up and misty-eyed. They are honestly earned. There are also parts that are amusing, heartwarming, and provoking.[return][return]The story told by Death is one of the most life-affirming novels I’ve ever read, and is ultimately a story of love–love of friends, of family, of home, and of books.[return][return]http://www.3rsblog.com/2014/05/book-talk-book-thief-by-markus-zusak.html
Reviewed: 2016-06-30
I loved everything about this book! It is so beautifully and cleverly written!
Reviewed: 2015-12-31

I expected this book to be a lot better than it was because of all the good reviews. The language is so flowery that you don't know what's happening half the time, but once you cut through it, the story is pretty okay. Not great, but okay. It didn't blow me away, but the story flowed a little better once you got about halfway through. The few main characters were likable/memorable though, I'll give him that.

 

Reviewed: 2015-07-07
Beautifully written, engaging, heartbreaking and heartwarming! One of the best books I have read in years.
Reviewed: 2014-12-29
Let me just start off on how much I loved this book. Markus Zusak built such beautiful characters and a fantastic story. I loved all the relationships he builds during the book and you can feel all the emotions the characters feel. Plus, having Death be the narrator was an amazing add to the story.
Wow. I ADORED this book. My first thought after closing it for the last time was "Everyone in the world should read this." What a life changing story this was! "Death" being the narrator was such a great touch. I think that might be one of my favorite things-when he (I assume death is a "he") started forshadowing to the deaths at the end, I was grateful for the warning-but from that point on I felt like I was rushing through the book, half hoping I could beat death there and read a happier ending...but the book couldn't have ended any other way.This is one great read.
Item Posts
@500booksblog
@500booksblog completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-10-29
@500booksblog
@500booksblog began #bookthiefthe... on 2017-10-24
@caliemeyer
@caliemeyer completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-07-16
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #bookthiefthe... on 2009-02-12
@livloves
@livloves completed #bookthiefthe... on 2014-08-11
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #bookthiefthe... on 2016-03-03
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #bookthiefthe... on 2016-03-03
@shelbypetrillo
@shelbypetrillo began #bookthiefthe... on 2016-02-23
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #bookthiefthe... on 2016-01-15
@aiseethee
@aiseethee completed #bookthiefthe... on 2015-12-12
@hallwaysoralway
@hallwaysoralway completed #bookthiefthe... on 2014-07-07
@dia309
@dia309 completed #bookthiefthe... on 2015-06-15
@dia309
@dia309 began #bookthiefthe... on 2015-06-05
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #bookthiefthe... on 2013-12-22
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #bookthiefthe... on 2013-12-21