Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 2), The

Rick Riordan
After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson—a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any “normal” friends.But things don’t stay quiet for long. Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders which protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner by the Cyclops Polyphemus on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters, the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia—only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name…the Bermuda Triangle.Now Percy and his friends—Grover, Annabeth, and Tyson—must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes by the end of the summer or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family—one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon’s son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-09-10

The second book is even better than the first. I really enjoyed this book, getting to see Percy's powers in action and all the cool stuff with the Sea of Monsters and Clarisse. Fun!

Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Paperback
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
I really enjoyed this story. I thought that it was very fun, and while not exactly original (I mean, mythology and quests and the like aren't exactly brand-spankin'-new) it is still intriguing and entertaining to see things with a modern twist.

In this book, Percy illegally embarks on another quest to help save CHB (that would be Camp Half-Blood for the uninitiated) after someone poisons a special tree which holds up the magical protections around the camp.

Percy is joined in this book by Tyson, who is fun, but really reminded me of Grawp. And if you don't know who Grawp is, you should really brush up on your Harry Potter. Tyson is large, an idiot savant and dedicated to the only person who has shown him a modicum of civility - Percy.

Together, they, along with Annabeth, go on a quest to find an endangered satyr and a missing magical item. Monsters are encountered, make-overs made, pirates pirated, seas sailed, more monsters encountered, prejudices are both justified and rejected, more monsters, new alliances made- if only temporarily, friendships tested, and old war tributes paid by Confederate zombie soldiers... not necessarily in that order.

I love the modernization of the gods in this series. Hermes for one was especially entertaining... or at least his companions George and Martha were. Very cute. And I'm sorry, I just love the fact that Percy had to sign an electronic pad to receive a message from Hermes. Just like Fedex. (Sorry Hermes.)

I can see the similarities between this series and Harry Potter, but they are also different enough to not be distracting. I got caught up in the story, and let myself live in it, which I love. It's only on reflection that I can see the comparison to Harry Potter. But again, it's not overwhelming to the point of being a knock-off series.

I can't wait to see what happens in the third book.
Reviewed: 2016-01-17
This was about my third time reading this book. I first picked up this series sometime around 2008, and reread the first two books shortly after, but then I kind of dropped out of reading altogether for a while, and now here I am again.
I started rereading this series because I needed something less... depressing, for the lack of a better word. I feel like nearly everyone who is a fan of the genres this series falls into has read these books, so I doubt I'll say anything about them that somebody hasn't said before, but oh well.
This one started off at a good pace, enough action to draw me in yet enough details were kept hidden to make me want to keep going, find out more. Even though I've read them before, it's been several years, so I had forgotten almost all of the smaller details of the plots.
One thing I enjoy about these books so far, though, is all of the foreshadowing, the little hints dropped along the way, that I don't recall picking up the first time around. Because of that, rereading these books is almost... endearing.
I'm also happy that, even though these are considered children's/middle grade books, they don't feel dumbed down in comparison even to a lot of young adult books I've picked up. Yeah, the writing style isn't very complex, but in this case, I think that makes the story even more enjoyable and easy to move along with.
I feel like people of any age could enjoy this series.
Reviewed: 2014-04-04

I just cannot get enthused by Percy Jackson. It must have something to do with my frustration with Greek mythology in general, and the fact that I am not the target age to be an ideal reader. They aren't bad books, they just aren't for me.

Item Posts
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #seaofmonstersthe... on 2017-10-28
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 began #seaofmonstersthe... on 2017-09-02
@wond3rlandkitty
@wond3rlandkitty completed #seaofmonstersthe... on 2014-01-01
@wond3rlandkitty
@wond3rlandkitty began #seaofmonstersthe... on 2013-12-26
@sharbellareads
@sharbellareads completed #seaofmonstersper... on 2018-08-27
@sharbellareads
@sharbellareads began #seaofmonstersper... on 2018-08-21
@shixam
@shixam completed #seaofmonstersper... on 2018-08-14
@shixam
@shixam began #seaofmonstersper... on 2018-08-10
@albion
@albion completed #seaofmonstersper... on 2013-12-01
@albion
@albion began #seaofmonstersper... on 2013-12-01
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak completed #percyjacksonandt... on 2011-08-21
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak began #percyjacksonandt... on 2011-08-11
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor completed #seaofmonstersper... on 2015-04-12
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor began #seaofmonstersper... on 2015-04-11
@sroberts5772
@sroberts5772 completed #seaofmonstersthe... on 2017-03-18