Anatomist's Wife (A Lady Darby Mystery), The

Anna Lee Huber
Scotland, 1830. Following the death of her husband, Lady Darby has taken refuge at her sister's estate, finding solace in her passion for painting. But when her hosts throw a house party for the cream of London society, Kiera is unable to hide from the ire of those who believe her to be as unnatural as her husband, an anatomist who used her artistic talents to suit his own macabre purposes. Kiera wants to put her past aside, but when one of the house guests is murdered, her brother-in-law asks her to utilize her knowledge of human anatomy to aid the insufferable Sebastian Gage--a fellow guest with some experience as an inquiry agent. While Gage is clearly more competent than she first assumed, Kiera isn't about to let her guard down as accusations and rumors swirl. When Kiera and Gage's search leads them to even more gruesome discoveries, a series of disturbing notes urges Lady Darby to give up the inquiry. But Kiera is determined to both protect her family and prove her innocence, even as she risks becoming the next victim...

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-04-21
Excellent mystery along the lines of Lady Julia and Lady Emily. But makes you mad how women were treated in the past.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description Scotland, 1830. Following the death of her husband, Lady Darby has taken refuge at her sister's estate, finding solace in her passion for painting. But when her hosts throw a house party for the cream of London society, Kiera is unable to hide from the ire of those who believe her to be as unnatural as her husband, an anatomist who used her artistic talents to suit his own macabre purposes. Kiera wants to put her past aside, but when one of the house guests is murdered, her brother-in-law asks her to utilize her knowledge of human anatomy to aid the insufferable Sebastian Gage--a fellow guest with some experience as an inquiry agent. While Gage is clearly more competent than she first assumed, Kiera isn't about to let her guard down as accusations and rumors swirl. When Kiera and Gage's search leads them to even more gruesome discoveries, a series of disturbing notes urges Lady Darby to give up the inquiry. But Kiera is determined to both protect her family and prove her innocence, even as she risks becoming the next victim... Editorial Reviews Review "The Anatomist's Wife is a riveting debut. Huber deftly weaves together an original premise, an enigmatic heroine, and a compelling Highland setting for a book you won't want to put down. I cannot wait for the second installment of Lady Darby's adventures." - Deanna Raybourn - New York Times bestselling author of THE DARK ENQUIRY "Anna Lee Huber's spirited debut mixes classic country house mystery with a liberal dash of historical romance. Fans of Tasha Alexander and Agatha Christie rejoice! Lady Darby is an engaging new sleuth to follow...History mystery in fine Victorian style!" - Julia Spencer-Fleming - NYT bestselling author of ONE WAS A SOLDIER "Anna Lee Huber has delivered a fast-paced, atmospheric and chilling debut featuring a clever heroine with a shocking past and a talent for detection. I'm already anticipating Lady Darby's next adventure." - Carol K. Carr - author of the Madam of Espionage Series "Lady Darby is an unusual and romantic heroine, haunted by a deadly past and trying to be herself in a society that wants to silence her--and worse." - Judith Rock - author of the Charles du Luc Series "A riveting debut...an original premise, an enigmatic heroine, and a compelling Highland setting...a book you won't want to put down."--Deanna Raybourn, New York Times bestselling author of the Lady Julia Grey novels "Lady Darby is an engaging new sleuth to follow...[A] history mystery in fine Victorian style!"--Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author "A fast-paced, atmospheric and chilling debut featuring a clever heroine with a shocking past and a talent for detection. I'm already anticipating Lady Darby's next adventure."--Carol K. Carr, national bestselling author of India Black and the Widow of Windsor "An unusual and romantic heroine, haunted by a deadly past and trying to be herself in a society that wants to silence her--and worse."--Judith Rock, author of A Plague of Lies "Huber's protagonist is complex and likable and the well-lotted mystery is filled with fascinating secondary characters. The setting is lavishly portrayed...you'll be engaged right to the end."--RT Book Reviews About the Author Anna Lee Huber is a summa cum laude graduate of Lipscomb University in Nashville, TN, where she majored in Music and minored in Psychology. She currently resides in Indiana with her family, and is hard at work on the next novel in the Lady Darby series.
Reviewed: 2016-05-30
Not a bad first-in-a-series book at all. They mystery was pretty well done, and I was fully engaged in the story most of the time.

I would have probably given it four stars, except that something bothered me about the heroine, Lady Darby. I can't quite place my finger on what, though. Perhaps the first person perspective was part of it, though it's not something that normally bothers me. I don't know, I guess a lot of the time I found her inner dialogue to be quite frustrating. And some of the choices she made verged on TSTL territory. Overall, though, I found her backstory (which is actually quite interesting and sad), as well as the Sebastian Gage character intriguing enough to want to continue on with the series.

Item Posts
@krizay
@krizay completed #anatomistswifeal... on 2017-01-22
@krizay
@krizay began #anatomistswifeal... on 2017-01-16