Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Ransom Riggs
A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-01-15
I think this was a very inventive book, but that could be because I haven't read anything like it. No vampires, no magic, just some odd but "natural" powers.
Reviewed: 2018-06-03
It was an okay book, but I wasn't overly impressed.
Reviewed: 2017-05-23

I very much enjoyed the World War II references in this book along with the pictures that were included. I do wish that the chapters were a tiny bit shorter - mainly chapter ten - just because I like finishing a chapter before closing a book. This week was a tad busy so it was nearly impossible to read whole chapters at times. 

 

I loved the way they ended this one, it wasn't quite a cliffhanger - I despise those - but it also made you really want to read the next book. Sadly, I'm not sure when I'll be getting my hands on the second book just yet. 

 

I normally wouldn't compare the book to the movie adaptation but I'd like to inform those that are thinking about reading this AFTER watching the movie, that there's some major differences. One character is missing from the movie, one has changed genders, and two peculiarities have been switched in the movie. I'd definitely recommend reading it to get a better understanding on the world Ransom Riggs made, along with a better understanding of the plot.

Reviewed: 2017-05-14
Pretty inventive. It's an origin story that's part Dr. Who, part X-men.
Reviewed: 2015-10-31
This was an inventive tale, quite enjoyable. The whole way through, I kept wishing that a better writer had taken the job, though. This idea could be made into a wonderful book, but in this writer's hands, it sort of misses the mark.

Also, I can't stand it when writers set books in the past, but have their characters use modern day jargon, or do modern day things. Sorry folks, as much as we might hate it, folks are part of their time, and books loose their punch (in my opinion) when an author tries to make folks in the past make modern day decisions.

Of course, a book like this features bad guys, and the bad guys in this book are so very shallow and no fun at all. How they came to be is cause for an eye roll, too.

After all that, though, I did enjoy this book, and enjoyed the motif. It was a fun, light read.
Reviewed: 2015-03-21
I fell into this novel petty much the minute I started it. It was well written, interesting and (at first) the gimmicky use of the photos worked. I loved it. Then Jacob goes to Cairnholm and the love I felt ground to a screening halt. I could put up with the uneven pacing, the obnoxious protagonist, and I could even live with the clunky way the story tried to incorporate some of the photos even though it didn't always work. However, the story began to fail on what should have been the best part. If it is the author's intention to drag this out into a series, of at least 3 books, then why not save the burning love between Jacob and his grandfather's girlfriend for the next book. She waits decades (like 60+ YEARS) for Abe, preserving his letters and photos, but falls for his grandson within days of meeting him and finding out that Abe is dead??? She cries for a few minutes and then suddenly she's good? Umm ok. The novel is lightly populated but still many of the characters are flat and in some cases relegated to conveniently remembered blurbs from the main character. His mother, for example, is a collection of overheard phone conversations and the antagonistic hen pecking half of the parental unit. She is unsympathetic as a character and so he easily justifies abandoning her to (possibly) a lifetime of questioning what happened to her son. The Xmen similarity didn't make me dislike the story as no stories are wholly original anymore. If you dig long enough you'll find that every story has some similarity to the stories that came before, whether intentionally or not. I found it funny however, that Jacob is the most "normal" of the peculiar bunch and his love interest, Emma, is the next most normal. Would he still be all about her if she had the mouth under her hair :) The other things that bothered me about this story could potentially be addressed in subsequent books of the series, so I won't nit pick, but these are the things that really affected this first book in my opinion.
Just finished it and all I can say is "woooooow!" Review will be posted when I can gather my thoughts about it.
Item Posts
@ams1190
@ams1190 completed #missperegrinesho... on 2019-03-22
@ams1190
@ams1190 began #missperegrinesho... on 2019-02-11
@rlpadilla2
@rlpadilla2 completed #missperegrinesho... on 2019-01-12
@rlpadilla2
@rlpadilla2 began #missperegrinesho... on 2018-12-25
@jdanz
@jdanz completed #missperegrinesho... on 2018-06-08
@jdanz
@jdanz began #missperegrinesho... on 2018-06-08
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak completed #missperegrine000... on 2012-11-02
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak began #missperegrine000... on 2012-04-16
@linxzie
@linxzie began #missperegrinesho... on 2017-07-24
@linxzie
@linxzie began #missperegrinesho... on 2017-07-22
@queenoftsundoku
@queenoftsundoku completed #missperegrinesho... on 2012-09-25
@queenoftsundoku
@queenoftsundoku began #missperegrinesho... on 2012-09-19
@celipal93
@celipal93 completed #missperegrinesho... on 2017-06-08
@tjoffs
@tjoffs completed #missperegrinesho... on 2017-05-03
@olidolli
@olidolli began #missperegrinesho... on 2017-05-03