Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America, The

Erik Larson
Erik Larson—author of #1 bestseller In the Garden of Beasts—intertwines the true tale of the 1893 World's Fair and the cunning serial killer who used the fair to lure his victims to their death. Combining meticulous research with nail-biting storytelling, Erik Larson has crafted a narrative with all the wonder of newly discovered history and the thrills of the best fiction.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-11-08

Excellent writing, great research, and great integration of research into good writing. I would - and will - read it again!
There were many times when I lost the different stories in the book, but at the same time I was completely transfixed by all the stories. I was interested to see how they each ended individually and as a whole.
As to the epilogue at the end, usually I don't tend to like these - I think they are unnecessary and out of the way. But in the case I actually enjoyed it and didn't find it unnecessary at all.

Reviewed: 2019-04-28
This book is a nonfiction account of the 1892-93 Columbian World's Fair held in Chicago. The author provided detail in minutiae regarding the political divisiveness perpetrated by everyone from the mayor, federal and state governments to the union workers and landscapers. I would have liked a lot less political b******* and more of the story about the serial killer. I would have edited out about a hundred and fifty pages.
Reviewed: 2018-02-24
This should be right up my alley and I was excited this was the book club read this month. However, with club tomorrow and I'm only 100 pages into, well-I'm not going to finish.

I found the book slow, extremely detailed, and doesn't provided much to get me into or keep into the book. I'm might have kept plodding at this since I'm thinking it will pick up. After a week though, I'm rather over it.

First book of the year was a failure. Hopefully this isn't a trend.
Reviewed: 2017-05-25
http://www.pic2shop.com/item/9780385602730_0
Reviewed: 2017-02-16

This is a wild (non ficiton I might add) story.
-magee

Item Posts
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters completed #devilinthewhitec... on 2018-02-05
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters began #devilinthewhitec... on 2017-01-15
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #devilinthewhitec... on 2019-10-26
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #devilinthewhitec... on 2018-06-04
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #devilinthewhitec... on 2018-05-30
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #devilinthewhitec... on 2018-06-04
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #devilinthewhitec... on 2018-05-30
@chrisquick
@chrisquick completed #devilinthewhitec... on 2019-08-01
@rebajw
@rebajw completed #devilinthewhitec... on 2019-07-21
@taylorabranson
@taylorabranson completed #devilinthewhitec... on 2013-05-23
@taylorabranson
@taylorabranson began #devilinthewhitec... on 2013-05-22
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #devilinthewhitec... on 2017-10-20
@arayla
@arayla began #devilinthewhitec... on 2018-03-28
@aylai
@aylai completed #devilinthewhitec... on 2015-05-18
@aylai
@aylai began #devilinthewhitec... on 2015-05-17