Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened

Allie Brosh
Every time Allie Brosh posts something new on her hugely popular blog Hyperbole and a Half the internet rejoices.This full-color, beautifully illustrated edition features more than fifty percent new content, with ten never-before-seen essays and one wholly revised and expanded piece as well as classics from the website like, “The God of Cake,” “Dogs Don’t Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving,” and her astonishing, “Adventures in Depression,” and “Depression Part Two,” which have been hailed as some of the most insightful meditations on the disease ever written.Brosh’s debut marks the launch of a major new American humorist who will surely make even the biggest scrooge or snob laugh. We dare you not to.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-01-03
Yet another book I۪ve read based on a blog.

I first learned about Allie Brosh۪s work a few years ago,from a friend who shared the Alot with me- Brosh۪s furry brown creature that embodies her frustration with grammatical errors.



The Alot brought me to Hyperbole and a Half (the blog), which is absolutely wonderful. The internet has since created memes based on Brosh۪s work, the most famous of which likely derives from this:



What is the most astonishing to me is the amount of pathos Brosh can inject into her MS Paint artwork while combining it with humor and very deep, sometimes humiliating honesty.



The book, titled after the blog, is a combination of work previously available on her blog, and new pieces. Brosh manages to talk about a range of experiences, from stealing cake and caring for mentally deficient canines, to fighting debilitating depression without losing her twin powers of insight and absurdity. She can make you laugh and cry almost simultaneously. And she'll make you think twice about adopting a dog without being fully prepared for the consequences.

I love Brosh۪s blog, and thus I love her book. While I wish it had more new material, I still love revisiting her earlier stories and hope she has more in her to share.
Reviewed: 2017-09-18
Excellent graphic novel
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
http://bookslifewine.com/r-hyperbole-and-a-half/

4.5 stars rounded down to 4 stars!

Hyperbole and a Half is both the name of this book and the name of the award winning blog that author Allie Brosh maintains.

Hyperbole and a Half is different: it’s truly a bit of mixed media with lots of drawings and lots of text that have to be read together to get the complete story. The artwork in Hyperbole and a Half is different, too. It’s partially juvenile with Allie Brosh representing herself as a…strange white grub like creature with a face, stick arms, legs and hands and something that looks like a yellow birthday hat on top representing her blonde hair. There are also some rather sophisticated artwork as well – the combination of juvenile and sophistication reminding me of South Park in its consistency.

I’m having hard time reviewing Hyperbole and a Half – I think it’s because Hyperbole and a Half is so many things at once. Allie Brosh discusses the mundane, the ridiculous and the serious with equal fervor. Mrs. Brosh discusses her (often) crippling clinical depression with a candor that is impressive. She may then slide into a discussion about the [lack of] intelligence of her dog…but it all just works. It works incredibly well.

I found Hyperbole and a Half to be humorous, sad, honest and soul baring. At turns laugh out loud funny and remarkably insightful, I immediately purchased a copy of this for my permanent library.
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
Hilariousity. I wish she'd included "Wolves" though. That's some funny shit. I've read many of these already from her blog, but they never lose the spark. I laugh every time. And it's disturbing how much I identify with the shittier aspects of herself that she puts on display.

I won't tell which ones though.
Reviewed: 2015-01-22

From blog to book, Hyperbole and a Half is smart and unbelievably funny. The writing, situations, combined together with the expressive illustrations I literally had to put the book down a few times to calm myself from my laughter, I was in tears! You can read a ton of other her other stories and experiences on her blog http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/
You can pick up this book at the Colona Public Library ~ Ashley

Item Posts
@librarygoof
@librarygoof began #hyperboleandahal... on 2017-12-04
@librarygoof
@librarygoof completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2017-12-04
@attawaykl
@attawaykl completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2014-03-19
@attawaykl
@attawaykl began #hyperboleandahal... on 2014-03-17
@canoflightbulbs
@canoflightbulbs completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2018-01-10
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2017-06-28
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 began #hyperboleandahal... on 2017-06-27
@arbitraryrose
@arbitraryrose completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-09-03
@arbitraryrose
@arbitraryrose began #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-09-01
@hallwaysoralway
@hallwaysoralway completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2013-12-10
@saucysoucy583
@saucysoucy583 completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-03-15
@saucysoucy583
@saucysoucy583 began #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-02-24
@hannahmiikaela
@hannahmiikaela completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-06-22
@loranholmes
@loranholmes completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-03-02
@loranholmes
@loranholmes began #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-03-01