Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened

Allie Brosh
Every time Allie Brosh posts something new on her hugely popular blog Hyperbole and a Half the internet rejoices.This full-color, beautifully illustrated edition features more than fifty percent new content, with ten never-before-seen essays and one wholly revised and expanded piece as well as classics from the website like, “The God of Cake,” “Dogs Don’t Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving,” and her astonishing, “Adventures in Depression,” and “Depression Part Two,” which have been hailed as some of the most insightful meditations on the disease ever written.Brosh’s debut marks the launch of a major new American humorist who will surely make even the biggest scrooge or snob laugh. We dare you not to.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-02-26
That was hilarious. The sad parts were funny too, and they opened another door to the famous blogger's life that I didn't know about.
Reviewed: 2019-12-27
If you're someone who doesn't understand anxiety and depression read this book. It does an excellent job of explaining why all the "think positively", "you have nothing to be depressed/anxious about" and "you can do this" messages people tend to send when you're depressed and/or anxious are unhelpful and harmful.
Reviewed: 2018-01-03
Yet another book I۪ve read based on a blog.

I first learned about Allie Brosh۪s work a few years ago,from a friend who shared the Alot with me- Brosh۪s furry brown creature that embodies her frustration with grammatical errors.



The Alot brought me to Hyperbole and a Half (the blog), which is absolutely wonderful. The internet has since created memes based on Brosh۪s work, the most famous of which likely derives from this:



What is the most astonishing to me is the amount of pathos Brosh can inject into her MS Paint artwork while combining it with humor and very deep, sometimes humiliating honesty.



The book, titled after the blog, is a combination of work previously available on her blog, and new pieces. Brosh manages to talk about a range of experiences, from stealing cake and caring for mentally deficient canines, to fighting debilitating depression without losing her twin powers of insight and absurdity. She can make you laugh and cry almost simultaneously. And she'll make you think twice about adopting a dog without being fully prepared for the consequences.

I love Brosh۪s blog, and thus I love her book. While I wish it had more new material, I still love revisiting her earlier stories and hope she has more in her to share.
Reviewed: 2017-09-18
Excellent graphic novel
Item Posts
@slowsho
@slowsho began #hyperboleandahal... on 2019-05-16
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #hyperboleandahal... on 2017-12-04
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2017-12-04
@attawaykl
@attawaykl completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2014-03-19
@attawaykl
@attawaykl began #hyperboleandahal... on 2014-03-17
@canoflightbulbs
@canoflightbulbs completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2018-01-10
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2017-06-28
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 began #hyperboleandahal... on 2017-06-27
@arbitraryrose
@arbitraryrose completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-09-03
@arbitraryrose
@arbitraryrose began #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-09-01
@hallwaysoralway
@hallwaysoralway completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2013-12-10
@saucysoucy583
@saucysoucy583 completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-03-15
@saucysoucy583
@saucysoucy583 began #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-02-24
@sienna
@sienna completed #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-01-05
@sienna
@sienna began #hyperboleandahal... on 2015-01-05