Dream Thieves: Book 2 of the Raven Boys, The

Maggie Stiefvater
The second installment in the all-new series from the masterful, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater! Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after....

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-02-26
Kavinsky didn't have to die though. Yeah it's great that Ronan got his own book but bleh. It was extremely boring with the plot being all over the place. The character development was SO WEAK. Enjoyed the dream-thieving moments; mostly the ones where Ronan and Kavinsky got high together bringing the Pig back. Apart from these, I found the whole thing monotonous. Fell asleep twice. And I'm scared that I'd hate the 3rd book so much I won't even get the chance to read my long anticipated 4th. *sighs*
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
4.5 stars
Initial Thoughts 6/10/13: Okay, let's see if I can organize some thoughts here.

Firstly, this book was WAY more paranormal/action-packed/generally awesome than the first book (and I liked the first a lot)! There were several mind-blowing moments and I loved the whole dream thing.

The only reason it gets 4.5 stars and not 5 is that Maggie's writing in these books is so amazing but almost a little over my head at times. Sometimes I would get a little lost with the direction that she was trying to take us. Intentional? Maybe. But I had to actually stop and think and try to put things together so I was momentarily taken out of the book and had to read a couple things twice.
Also, the ending was as OMG as I expected it to be (I had high hopes!) and that doesn't mean it wasn't awesome, but I guess not the way I expected it to wrap up.

Can't wait to write a review for this one! And also sad I'm going to hold it until closer to the pub date haha.

Review originally posted on The Book Addict's Guide:
This was the first BEA book I dipped into and yes, I finished it back in June. It was SO HARD to hold my review until now which is at least closer to the pub date than June… I’m so glad I picked this one up immediately after BEA because THE DREAM THIEVES did not disappoint. It was exciting, horrifying, mysterious, curious, and terribly interesting. I was totally hooked from start to finish.

THE DREAM THIEVES picks up where THE RAVEN BOYS left off…. So if you have read THE RAVEN BOYS (which I suggest you do), there WILL be spoilers for book one in this review… Just watch out! So Ronan. He left us with quite a little shocker at the end of book one and that is what book two is allllll about — dreams. Um. YES PLEASE. You know (actually you probably don’t know) that I usually get annoyed when characters have these weird symbolic dreams that represent what’s going on in their life or are predicting the future. I just think it’s overdone and I tend to roll my eyes at those silly dreams. This book? Nothing like that! The whole dream aspect is freaking amazing. I absolutely love the idea that Maggie Steifvater came up with for the concept of this second book.

Now… For those who have read THE RAVEN BOYS (which I’m you’re still reading by this point, I’m assuming it’s all of you), THE DREAM THIEVES is actually quite different plot-wise. Yes, we still have all the same major characters and the same basic plot points (ley lines, Cabeswater, Glendower, and Blue’s forbidden kiss) but TDT delves so much more into Ronan’s side of the story and we get more answers about Chainsaw, his dreams, and even his father’s mysterious death (which I was dying to know about in TRB). I actually hooked on to this book more than I did book one because it was that much more mystical/paranormal/AWESOME versus all the business with Gansey & Glendower because let’s face it… It was hard (for me) to get into the mythology/history of Glendower in book one. In TDT, Glendower is much more an underlying factor to several events that keep the plot moving versus and actual main plot point. I was incredibly invested in Ronan’s story line! ALSO. There’s this guy called The Grey Man………. You’ll find out more about him in the book but Heidi (Bunbury in the Stacks) and I had a nice conversation about him. Kind of love him as a character (not in a swoony way — Just the way his character was planned out… So perfect.)

Honestly the only reason I didn’t give this book a full five star knock out review was for two reasons: One being that Maggie Steifvater’s writing in The Raven Cycle series is beautiful and twisted, but sometimes I feel like the style is a bit over my head, if that makes sense. I get the feeling that if I was an English major or something that this would have totally made sense… Like there was something I was missing as far as class or knowledge of writing styles. I don’t know how else to say that, but I just felt like the writing was a little over my head at times and it got complicated for me to follow. I’m not saying I wanted Maggie to write everything so boring and straightforward, but me personally — I just got lost in the writing style just a bit. The second thing preventing me from giving it a flat out five star review was that I just had expectations for a little bit more from the ending. It was certainly good and very exciting, but I guess I just expected it to end similar to book one (though I don’t know why since this was so different) but it was just a little different than what I expected so I was slightly thrown. I actually thought part of it was a bit fantastical for the way the whole book went (which is a silly thing to say considering the whole book was awesomely fantastical), but I just felt like this one scene didn’t fit the mood of the rest of the book. And this didn’t affect my overall opinion too much, but I would have loved to see that magic of Cabeswater in detail again! I just loved that in TRB.

That aside, I think fans of THE RAVEN BOYS will absolutely be wowed by THE DREAM THIEVES! There were so many amazing elements to this story, new and exciting characters, answers from previous mysteries and new ones to look forward to. I absolutely loved reading it and I can’t wait for the next book in the series… Although I will have to!

Re-read completed 10/5/17
Item Posts
@bjezerey
@bjezerey completed #dreamthievesthet... on 2010-10-10
@bjezerey
@bjezerey began #dreamthievesthet... on 2013-10-09
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #dreamthievesbook... on 2020-02-26
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #dreamthievesbook... on 2020-01-17
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #dreamthievesbook... on 2017-11-12
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #dreamthievesbook... on 2017-11-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #dreamthievesther... on 2018-08-24
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson began #dreamthievesther... on 2018-07-16
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #dreamthievesther... on 2015-08-17
@tjoffs
@tjoffs completed #dreamthievesbook... on 2017-11-03
@emmiemae
@emmiemae completed #dreamthievesbook... on 2017-06-22
@faeprincess
@faeprincess completed #dreamthievesbook... on 2017-06-23
@emmiemae
@emmiemae completed #dreamthievesbook... on 2017-06-22
@faeprincess
@faeprincess began #dreamthievesbook... on 2017-06-21
@emmiemae
@emmiemae began #dreamthievesbook... on 2017-06-09