Paper Towns

John Green
From the #1 bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery New York Times bestseller USA Today bestseller Publishers Weekly bestseller   When Margo Roth Spiegelman beckons Quentin Jacobsen in the middle of the night—dressed like a ninja and plotting an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows her. Margo’s always planned extravagantly, and, until now, she’s always planned solo. After a lifetime of loving Margo from afar, things are finally looking up for Q . . . until day breaks and she has vanished. Always an enigma, Margo has now become a mystery. But there are clues. And they’re for Q. Printz Medalist John Green returns with the trademark brilliant wit and heart-stopping emotional honesty that have inspired a new generation of readers.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-12-26
This isn't a long book and it isn't boring. The writing is pretty decent. The characters, however, mostly suck. So very much. Black Santa house kid and MAYBE suck-girl's* friend don't but they barely get any play time. I've rarely been so put off by a character as suck-girl, which is impressive because she gets about five minutes of presence in the narrative. Stupid boy is just such an unbelievable tool. He never considers anything, for the...what 23?.. days the story occurs within, that isn't to do with this concept that doesn't even resemble a real person.
There are interesting philosophical viewpoints expressed, briefly, within the book. The one that applies to my review is that the way we see things reveals more about the viewer than what is being looked at. This book is no doubt the most awesome awesomeness ever to many people. To me it was agony, as compelling writing and a wish to see which selfish option suck-girl had chosen pulled me through the exploits of as unappealing a cast of characters as I've ever read.
Seriously, this book pissed me off.
*dubbed them suck and stupid in my status updates
Reviewed: 2016-05-29

Great book and very funny

Reviewed: 2016-02-04
Paper Towns by John Green was a page turner for sure. From the first encounter with Margo Roth Spiegelman, it was easy to tell how quickly readers would be sucked into the pages. From chapter one all the way to the countdown of the clock, I was right on the edge of my seat.   Read the rest of the review here: http://www.coloradocozy.org/2015/06/paper-towns-review.html
Reviewed: 2015-07-11

four stars for John Green's language -- he has a special turn of phrase that I appreciate -- and for enlightening me on Whitman's Leaves of Grass, which I, like Q in the novel at first, always found dense and hard to get into (in fact, I still have never finished it).

I only got this book because I saw the movie trailer and immediately thought that it was probably better as a book. And I suspect I'll be right, because how is the movie going to make all that sitting around meditating on the meaning of Leaves of Grass meaningful? It won't, and yet it's so central to the theme of the story.

I liked the exuberance of youth, the road trip, and the clue-solving. And ultimately I liked the end, which is open to all possibilities. I could have had did have friends like Q and Ben in high school.

It seems like a book seniors in high school should read, although no teacher would ever assign it because it acknowledges that sex exists and some teens do it.

Item Posts
@kellyrowe
@kellyrowe completed #papertowns... on 2018-03-01
@intermediacy
@intermediacy completed #papertowns... on 2018-06-09
@intermediacy
@intermediacy began #papertowns... on 2018-06-06
@krixano
@krixano completed #papertowns... on 2016-02-14
@megoblein
@megoblein began #papertowns... on 2015-07-24
@ashleynicole98
@ashleynicole98 completed #papertowns... on 2015-09-20
@callidoralblack
@callidoralblack began #papertowns... on 2015-08-25
@aemostrom
@aemostrom completed #papertowns... on 2015-06-23
@angelraven
@angelraven completed #papertowns... on 2015-06-29
@hallwaysoralway
@hallwaysoralway completed #papertowns... on 2013-06-05
@misskaelyn
@misskaelyn completed #papertowns... on 2015-05-20
@tjanla
@tjanla completed #papertowns... on 2015-02-18
@misskaelyn
@misskaelyn began #papertowns... on 2015-04-19
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #papertowns... on 2014-03-22
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #papertowns... on 2014-03-08