Paper Towns

John Green
From the #1 bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery New York Times bestseller USA Today bestseller Publishers Weekly bestseller   When Margo Roth Spiegelman beckons Quentin Jacobsen in the middle of the night—dressed like a ninja and plotting an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows her. Margo’s always planned extravagantly, and, until now, she’s always planned solo. After a lifetime of loving Margo from afar, things are finally looking up for Q . . . until day breaks and she has vanished. Always an enigma, Margo has now become a mystery. But there are clues. And they’re for Q. Printz Medalist John Green returns with the trademark brilliant wit and heart-stopping emotional honesty that have inspired a new generation of readers.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2016-09-28
My first admiration for this stemmed from it's hilarious crude humor. It was shocking, but in a good way. I didn't exactly know how to feel about Margo most of the time. I felt like Q was in love with the idea of her and not the person inside, but I soon learned that pretty much everyone was. It's very interesting to see how little you can know someone, but Q found out more about her through those clues. I told myself that I would be okay if Q and Margo didn't end up together, and in the end I find that I'm content with the ending. Some may see it as sad, but that all depends on how you look at it.
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Paperback
Reviewed: 2016-05-29

Great book and very funny

Reviewed: 2016-02-04
Paper Towns by John Green was a page turner for sure. From the first encounter with Margo Roth Spiegelman, it was easy to tell how quickly readers would be sucked into the pages. From chapter one all the way to the countdown of the clock, I was right on the edge of my seat.   Read the rest of the review here: http://www.coloradocozy.org/2015/06/paper-towns-review.html
Reviewed: 2015-07-11

four stars for John Green's language -- he has a special turn of phrase that I appreciate -- and for enlightening me on Whitman's Leaves of Grass, which I, like Q in the novel at first, always found dense and hard to get into (in fact, I still have never finished it).

I only got this book because I saw the movie trailer and immediately thought that it was probably better as a book. And I suspect I'll be right, because how is the movie going to make all that sitting around meditating on the meaning of Leaves of Grass meaningful? It won't, and yet it's so central to the theme of the story.

I liked the exuberance of youth, the road trip, and the clue-solving. And ultimately I liked the end, which is open to all possibilities. I could have had did have friends like Q and Ben in high school.

It seems like a book seniors in high school should read, although no teacher would ever assign it because it acknowledges that sex exists and some teens do it.

Item Posts
@intermediacy
@intermediacy completed #papertowns... on 2018-06-09
@intermediacy
@intermediacy began #papertowns... on 2018-06-06
@krixano
@krixano completed #papertowns... on 2016-02-14
@megoblein
@megoblein began #papertowns... on 2015-07-24
@ashleynicole98
@ashleynicole98 completed #papertowns... on 2015-09-20
@callidoralblack
@callidoralblack began #papertowns... on 2015-08-25
@aemostrom
@aemostrom completed #papertowns... on 2015-06-23
@angelraven
@angelraven completed #papertowns... on 2015-06-29
@hallwaysoralway
@hallwaysoralway completed #papertowns... on 2013-06-05
@ashleygibson
@ashleygibson began #papertowns... on 2015-06-21
@misskaelyn
@misskaelyn completed #papertowns... on 2015-05-20
@tjanla
@tjanla completed #papertowns... on 2015-02-18
@khalesiey
@khalesiey completed #papertowns... on 2013-05-18
@khalesiey
@khalesiey began #papertowns... on 2013-05-10
@aleacevedo
@aleacevedo completed #papertowns... on 2015-05-01