Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

J.K. Rowling
What did Harry Potter know about magic? He was stuck with the decidedly un-magical Dursleys, who hated him. He slept in a closet and ate their leftovers. But an owl messenger changes all that, with an invitation to attend the Hogwarts School for Wizards and Witches, where it turns out Harry is already famous.. . . Full color.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-01-17
Excellent start to the series. Good foundation with characters. Can't wait to start the second book!
Reviewed: 2018-01-14

I honestly kick myself for not being into reading when I was younger so that I could have fully experienced a childhood that was full of magic and wonderment. I did not know how I would be reading this novel as this series is technically categorized as a “children’s” book. But I had no problem becoming entranced in this vivid world that Rowling has created. Right from the start, one can tell that an epic story is about to be told and that you (as the reader) are in for quite a thrill ride.

I loved being able to experience everything all over again, Rowling writes such strong and believable characters that you can’t help but imagine them as actual people. The way she describes the scenery and even how the plot progressed is simply genius. 

 

Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description What did Harry Potter know about magic? He was stuck living with the decidedly un-magical Dursleys, who hated him. He slept in a closet and ate their leftovers. But an owl messenger changes all that, with an invitation to attend the Hogwarts School for Wizards and Witches, where it turns out Harry is already famous... Editorial Reviews Amazon.com Review Say you've spent the first 10 years of your life sleeping under the stairs of a family who loathes you. Then, in an absurd, magical twist of fate you find yourself surrounded by wizards, a caged snowy owl, a phoenix-feather wand, and jellybeans that come in every flavor, including strawberry, curry, grass, and sardine. Not only that, but you discover that you are a wizard yourself! This is exactly what happens to young Harry Potter in J.K. Rowling's enchanting, funny debut novel, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. In the nonmagic human world--the world of "Muggles"--Harry is a nobody, treated like dirt by the aunt and uncle who begrudgingly inherited him when his parents were killed by the evil Voldemort. But in the world of wizards, small, skinny Harry is famous as a survivor of the wizard who tried to kill him. He is left only with a lightning-bolt scar on his forehead, curiously refined sensibilities, and a host of mysterious powers to remind him that he's quite, yes, altogether different from his aunt, uncle, and spoiled, piglike cousin Dudley. A mysterious letter, delivered by the friendly giant Hagrid, wrenches Harry from his dreary, Muggle-ridden existence: "We are pleased to inform you that you have been accepted at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry." Of course, Uncle Vernon yells most unpleasantly, "I AM NOT PAYING FOR SOME CRACKPOT OLD FOOL TO TEACH HIM MAGIC TRICKS!" Soon enough, however, Harry finds himself at Hogwarts with his owl Hedwig... and that's where the real adventure--humorous, haunting, and suspenseful--begins. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, first published in England as Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, continues to win major awards in England. So far it has won the National Book Award, the Smarties Prize, the Children's Book Award, and is short-listed for the Carnegie Medal, the U.K. version of the Newbery Medal. This magical, gripping, brilliant book--a future classic to be sure--will leave kids clamoring for Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. (Ages 8 to 13) --Karin Snelson From Publishers Weekly Readers are in for a delightful romp with this award-winning debut from a British author who dances in the footsteps of P.L. Travers and Roald Dahl. As the story opens, mysterious goings-on ruffle the self-satisfied suburban world of the Dursleys, culminating in a trio of strangers depositing the Dursleys' infant nephew Harry in a basket on their doorstep. After 11 years of disregard and neglect at the hands of his aunt, uncle and their swinish son Dudley, Harry suddenly receives a visit from a giant named Hagrid, who informs Harry that his mother and father were a witch and a wizard, and that he is to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry himself. Most surprising of all, Harry is a legend in the witch world for having survived an attack by the evil sorcerer Voldemort, who killed his parents and left Harry with a lightning-shaped scar on his forehead. And so the fun begins, with Harry going off to boarding school like a typical English kid?only his supplies include a message-carrying owl and a magic wand. There is enchantment, suspense and danger galore (as well as enough creepy creatures to satisfy the most bogeymen-loving readers, and even a magical game of soccerlike Quidditch to entertain sports fans) as Harry and his friends Ron and Hermione plumb the secrets of the forbidden third floor at Hogwarts to battle evil and unravel the mystery behind Harry's scar. Rowling leaves the door wide open for a sequel; bedazzled readers will surely clamor for one. Ages 8-12. Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc.
Reviewed: 2016-07-26
First Read 1999
Reread Times I remember:
2012
2014
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
I started reading this for the Nth time 3 days before the death of Alan Rickman, who played Snape in the adaptations- in my opinion the best thing about them. It was sad, heartbreaking really, to think of his character just beginning his journey again for me through this reading, while the man who played him so excellently had just passed away.

I love the adventure and magic of these books, but I especially love the journey we take with Snape's character. He is everything. So hard to love, but I love him for it.

I adore these books. That is all.
Reviewed: 2016-05-09
Still love it no matter how old I am. This book bring so many good memories of my childhood and so many great adventures that are yet to come.
Reviewed: 1998-09-01
Arthur A. Levine Books
Item Posts
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-11-14
@makccr
@makccr began #harrypotterbook0... on 2018-07-24
@sceadwerhaevn
@sceadwerhaevn completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-07-26
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2003-04-17
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #harrypotterandth... on 2003-04-17
@emmiemae
@emmiemae completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-09-08
@emmiemae
@emmiemae completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-09-16
@emmiemae
@emmiemae began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-09-08
@emmiemae
@emmiemae completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-09-08
@emmiemae
@emmiemae began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-09-08
@dsm6614
@dsm6614 began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-18
@lineyshka
@lineyshka completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-05-09
@belleslovelyboo
@belleslovelyboo completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-04-09
@austen1813
@austen1813 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2015-07-03
@austen1813
@austen1813 began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-07-03