Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

J.K. Rowling
What did Harry Potter know about magic? He was stuck with the decidedly un-magical Dursleys, who hated him. He slept in a closet and ate their leftovers. But an owl messenger changes all that, with an invitation to attend the Hogwarts School for Wizards and Witches, where it turns out Harry is already famous.. . . Full color.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-07-31

Fresh, clean copy of first American book club. Somewhat confusing as lists full numberline and "First American Edition October 1998" but no price. Black color to book (not purple/crimson on first). Seminal title, first of blockbuster book septet which led to highest grossing movie series ever.

Reviewed: 2021-01-11
No
Reviewed: 2020-05-03

My 2020 re-read: Oh, so that's what all the fuss is about with Stephen Fry's narration. I get it now, everyone. Call me a believer.

I can remember exactly how I got my first copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. My mom had been working at a veterinarian's office and the vet's wife had multiple copies (don't ask me why now). She passed along one to my mom to give to me and it was love at first read. I still have that copy. It's battered from numerous reading when I was a kid, there are age spots on the top of the pages, and the dust jacket is so worn it's soft. It's a beloved copy, even if I've added the illustrated edition to my personal library.

Now that I'm an adult, it's been a number of years since I read The Sorcercer's Stone. I thought I knew that book inside and out, and didn't think listening to Stephen Fry's narration would be anything more than the same old, beloved story. And it was the same old, beloved story, but it was also so much more. It was like I got the chance to go through the story as if it was the first time all over again. They were the same words, the same characters, but Fry's performance introduced me to Harry Potter in a whole new way and I don't know how to thank him for that kind of gift.

I honestly can't wait to listen to the rest of this series, and hopefully each book will be as if it was the first time all over again.

Reviewed: 2020-02-29
Fav Parts: learning the castle, the characters, the classes, quidditch Love all the details the movie missed
Reviewed: 2019-11-30
A.A. Levine Books
Reviewed: 2018-12-19
A extraordinary piece of work! Three cheers for Harry Potter!
Reviewed: 2018-12-18
Harry Potter’s epic tale tells the story of an incredible boy! J.K. Rowling has written a story better than any of Ronald Dahl’s; save a spot on the shelf for this tale of a lifetime!
Reviewed: 2018-01-14

I honestly kick myself for not being into reading when I was younger so that I could have fully experienced a childhood that was full of magic and wonderment. I did not know how I would be reading this novel as this series is technically categorized as a “children’s” book. But I had no problem becoming entranced in this vivid world that Rowling has created. Right from the start, one can tell that an epic story is about to be told and that you (as the reader) are in for quite a thrill ride.

I loved being able to experience everything all over again, Rowling writes such strong and believable characters that you can’t help but imagine them as actual people. The way she describes the scenery and even how the plot progressed is simply genius. 

 

Reviewed: 2016-07-26
First Read 1999
Reread Times I remember:
2012
2014
Item Posts
@gancia
@gancia began #harrypotterandth... on 2021-08-24
@modesti18
#harrypotterandth... I chose this book because growing up I've read the entire series and watched each movie.
@sheon1993
#harrypotterandth... Very Magical and a vivid read. Children will love this magical book. Children will read from start to finish trust me!!
@leslielinares
This is the first book into the fantasy land of wizards and magic where we meet a young wizard Harry Potter. #harrypotterandth...
@dany
@dany completed #harrypotterandth... on 2021-02-04
@dany
@dany began #harrypotterandth... on 2020-12-26
@faramir
@faramir completed #harrypotterandth... on 2004-01-31
@faramir
@faramir began #harrypotterandth... on 2004-01-01
@wagnersu
@wagnersu completed #harrypotterandth... on 2005-04-28
@ksmalley
@ksmalley completed #harrypotterandth... on 2015-06-17
@ksmalley
@ksmalley began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-06-13
@saltyjoker25
@saltyjoker25 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2019-02-17
@saltyjoker25
@saltyjoker25 began #harrypotterandth... on 2019-02-01
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-11-14
@makccr
@makccr began #harrypotterbook0... on 2018-07-24