Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Book 4)

J.K. Rowling
Fourteen-year-old Harry Potter joins the Weasleys at the Quidditch World Cup, then enters his fourth year at Hogwarts Academy where he is mysteriously entered in an unusual contest that challenges his wizarding skills, friendships and character, amid signs that an old enemy is growing stronger.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-16
The fourth title in the continuing saga includes Harry's latest adventure at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.
Reviewed: 2018-01-17
Wow! I can understand the mania.
Reviewed: 2018-01-14

Rowling’s 4th installment of her infamous ‘Harry Potter’ series has started to become more intricate than ever before. With the characters getting older, the stakes are getting even higher as the series progresses. I find Rowling’s writing to be so illuminating as she can set the scene and draw you in immediately. Rowling has a clear vision of the plot of the story, and of the series making each installment feel perfectly paced thus far.

One of the things I love about our three main characters is to see how they grow over the span of the books. Harry’s amazement of magic and all that it can do is still there, which I love because it helps the reader connect with him. I have really enjoyed Hermione’s arc as she has gotten more “political” like standing up for what she believes in! Since she is also from the muggle world, she sees how arbitrary some of the wizarding customs still are while non-muggle families may not see it.

I was also glad to see witches and wizards from other countries like at the Quidditch World Cup and with the other competitors in the Triwizard Tournament. With Rowling expanding beyond Hogwarts, it gives the world a much bigger scope and gives opportunity for areas besides Hogwarts to be explored in the future.

Rowling knows how to write cruel characters and Snape is one I really do not care for at the moment. He is cold to Harry from the very beginning of the series, but he does help him out in some ways so I have to give credit where credit is due, but he does seem to give Harry hell when he can.

Having Harry experience something he has not really experienced before was hard to read because it also took me by surprise. With Rowling’s expertise writing, I could not stop turning the page to find out what happened next! I am excited to see what book 5 holds.

Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Reread # ??

Initial Impressions 5/17/14: Wow, this book. I mean, I just finished my re-reads for 1-3, but Goblet of Fire really steps it up a notch. The plotting that goes on, the darkness that really starts to emerge -- everything rapidly escalates and also takes on a much more adult air. There are SO many things not in the movie and they really enhance the book that much more. I think this may be a contender for my favorite Harry Potter book again... But I DO still have the rest of the series to re-read first...

Review originally posted on The Book Addict's Guide 5/29/14: How is it that each time I re-read a Harry Potter book, I find myself amazed all over again? I know I said it before with the first three books, especially with my amazement of how much I enjoyed HARRY POTTER AND THE PRISONER OF AZKABAN when it used to be my least favorite book of the series, but honestly. J.K. Rowling really stepped everything up a notch with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

Sure, we stepped from defending the world from a supervillain in the first two books and magical school hijinks to personal vendettas and darker family history in book three, but GOBLET OF FIRE puts Harry in mortal peril preeeeeetty much all year. It’s not as apparent how much time passes int he movies, but Harry is literally involved in the Triwizard tournament all freaking year and pretty much his state in the mortal world depends on how well he can figure out these clues before it’s time to put him in front of another dangerous task that may or may not kill him.

Aside from upping the danger, things also get exponentially darker. Not only is Voldemort still involved, as always, but we learn more about the Death Eaters — his dedicated followers — but also the Unforgivable Curses and so much more about the dark years that preceded Voldemort’s decline. We’ve seen the bad guys punished in previous books and we knew about the awful deaths that occurred when Harry was just a baby, but Goblet of Fire… This book really takes a dive into the deep end of the dark. Bad things happen to good people in this book and there are just some really gut-wrenching moments that even when you know they’re coming still hit you hard.

This is another book whose movie really started to deviate a lot — not even necessarily changing events and specifics but we lose whole plot lines and characters. I’m not necessarily disappointed looking back because of course you can’t adapt everything in a book for a movie, but it’s kind of amazing when you see what has changed and what you totally forgot about. Here are just a few.
•Ludo Bagman: Remember Ludo Bagman? He’s the head of Magical Games and Sports and once played Quidditch for the Wimbourne Wasps. If you haven’t read the books in a long time and you’ve been watching the movies, I’m sure you remember Ludo Bagman but you wouldn’t believe how much he is actually a part of the books!! He’s involved in so many scenes, from beginning to end!
•S.P.E.W.: The Society for the Promotion of Elfish Welfare, for those who aren’t familiar, was Hermione’s attempt to free the house elves from their lifetimes of enslavement. However……. I was not sorry to see that go. Sorry, not sorry, Hermione. It was a bit much!
•Winky: To go along with S.P.E.W., Winky was a house elf who also played a very significant part in the book. But again….. eh. Not sorry to see that go and be adapted in a different way! Oh, the movie spoils me in some ways.
•Rita Skeeter’s “downfall”: I mean, we’re assuming here that you all have read the books if you’re reading my review, but I’ll try to remain mostly spoiler-free here, so Rita! I wish the movie had at least touched on what really happened to her at the end of the book and how Hermione really put her in her place!

My take from the audiobook re-read? This may be a new contender for my favorite Harry Potter book out of all seven. Then again, my current favorites are five and six, so there’s still time for that to change! We’ll have to see how those audiobooks go as well. HARRY POTTER AND THE GOBLET OF FIRE was just SO good. An amazing book to begin with and so much fun to re-read (for the countless time because I’ve honestly lost track)!
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description It's the pivotal fourth novel in the seven-part saga of a young wizard's coming of age. The thickest. The juiciest yet. Harry Potter turns fourteen. But will all his friends? Rumors have persisted that one of the characters may not see the conclusion of this novel, something the author has refused either to confirm or deny. But we who love Ron, Hermione, Hagrid...even pitiful Neville Longbottom...wait anxiously to see if they will make it through safely. No one's fate is certain when Volde -- excuse me -- He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named is part of the picture. What is certain is that a novel of excruciating suspense awaits, leavened by J. K. Rowling's inimitable sense of humor and the burgeoning details of her magical world. Whether it's taking a front-row seat at the International Quidditch World Cup, or meeting the new Defense-Against-the-Dark-Arts teacher, or finding out if Harry really does start a romance with Cho Chang, fans of the history-making boy-wizard will find their thirst for Hogwarts adventure slaked deliciously...at least for a little while! Editorial Reviews Amazon.com Review In Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J.K. Rowling offers up equal parts danger and delight--and any number of dragons, house-elves, and death-defying challenges. Now 14, her orphan hero has only two more weeks with his Muggle relatives before returning to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Yet one night a vision harrowing enough to make his lightning-bolt-shaped scar burn has Harry on edge and contacting his godfather-in-hiding, Sirius Black. Happily, the prospect of attending the season's premier sporting event, the Quidditch World Cup, is enough to make Harry momentarily forget that Lord Voldemort and his sinister familiars--the Death Eaters--are out for murder. Readers, we will cast a giant invisibility cloak over any more plot and reveal only that You-Know-Who is very much after Harry and that this year there will be no Quidditch matches between Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Slytherin. Instead, Hogwarts will vie with two other magicians' schools, the stylish Beauxbatons and the icy Durmstrang, in a Triwizard Tournament. Those chosen to compete will undergo three supreme tests. Could Harry be one of the lucky contenders? But Quidditch buffs need not go into mourning: we get our share of this great game at the World Cup. Attempting to go incognito as Muggles, 100,000 witches and wizards converge on a "nice deserted moor." As ever, Rowling magicks up the details that make her world so vivid, and so comic. Several spectators' tents, for instance, are entirely unquotidian. One is a minipalace, complete with live peacocks; another has three floors and multiple turrets. And the sports paraphernalia on offer includes rosettes "squealing the names of the players" as well as "tiny models of Firebolts that really flew, and collectible figures of famous players, which strolled across the palm of your hand, preening themselves." Needless to say, the two teams are decidedly different, down to their mascots. Bulgaria is supported by the beautiful veela, who instantly enchant everyone--including Ireland's supporters--over to their side. Until, that is, thousands of tiny cheerleaders engage in some pyrotechnics of their own: "The leprechauns had risen into the air again, and this time, they formed a giant hand, which was making a very rude sign indeed at the veela across the field." Long before her fourth installment appeared, Rowling warned that it would be darker, and it's true that every exhilaration is equaled by a moment that has us fearing for Harry's life, the book's emotions running as deep as its dangers. Along the way, though, she conjures up such new characters as Alastor "Mad-Eye" Moody, a Dark Wizard catcher who may or may not be getting paranoid in his old age, and Rita Skeeter, who beetles around Hogwarts in search of stories. (This Daily Prophet scoop artist has a Quick-Quotes Quill that turns even the most innocent assertion into tabloid innuendo.) And at her bedazzling close, Rowling leaves several plot strands open, awaiting book 5. This fan is ready to wager that the author herself is part veela--her pen her wand, her commitment to her world complete. (Ages 9 and older) --Kerry Fried From Publishers Weekly Even without the unprecedented media attention and popularity her magical series has attracted, it would seem too much to hope that Rowling could sustain the brilliance and wit of her first three novels. Astonishingly, Rowling seems to have the spell-casting powers she assigns her characters: this fourth volume might be her most thrilling yet. The novel opens as a confused Muggle overhears Lord Voldemort and his henchman, Wormtail (the escapee from book three, Azkaban) discussing a murder and plotting more deaths (and invoking Harry Potter's name); clues suggest that Voldemort and Wormtail's location will prove highly significant. From here it takes a while (perhaps slightly too long a while) for Harry and his friends to get back to the Hogwarts school, where Rowling is on surest footing. Headmaster Dumbledore appalls everyone by declaring that Quidditch competition has been canceled for the year; then he makes the exciting announcement that the Triwizard Tournament is to be held after a cessation of many hundred years (it was discontinued, he explains, because the death toll mounted so high). One representative from each of the three largest wizardry schools of Europe (sinister Durmstrang, luxurious Beauxbatons and Hogwarts) are to be chosen by the Goblet of Fire; because of the mortal dangers, Dumbledore casts a spell that allows only students who are at least 17 to drop their names into the Goblet. Thus no one foresees that the Goblet will announce a fourth candidate: Harry. Who has put his name into the Goblet, and how is his participation in the tournament linked, as it surely must be, to Voldemort's newest plot? The details are as ingenious and original as ever, and somehow (for catching readers off-guard must certainly get more difficult with each successive volume) Rowling plants the red herrings, the artful clues and tricky surprises that disarm the most attentive audience. A climax even more spectacular than that of Azkaban will leave readers breathless. The muscle-building heft of this volume notwithstanding, the clamor for book five will begin as soon as readers finish installment four. All ages. (July) Copyright 2000 Reed Business Information, Inc.
Reviewed: 2016-07-26
First Read 1999
Reread Times I remember:
2012
2014
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
Soooo... I don't really understand why it was left to Dumbledore to decide Harry's placement after his parents' death. Was Sirius not named his Godfather? Sirius's... arrest... was not immediate, at least not from what I gathered from Prisoner of Azkaban - it seemed like it took a bit of time for that to take place. Days, a week, more? Who knows, but it's kind of glossed over why Dumbledore stepped in immediately to make the decisions and override the Godfather status.

Inquiring minds would like to know!

Anyway, this book is where things start getting dark, and where things always start picking up for me. I mean, I GUESS one could say that they start getting dark with book 3, but for me, the delineation is always book 4 - the first time that we see a character that we actually knew in the story die. Up until this point, death was an offscreen event, or averted in some way. So book 4 is the dividing line for me. After this point, the books get much more "real" to me.

I love watching Harry grow throughout the series, and I can't wait to get to the next books because these last three are the ones that I wait for the entire series long.
Reviewed: 2016-06-16
4
Reviewed: 2016-02-27
Gold.
Item Posts
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-02-16
@makccr
@makccr began #harrypotterbook0... on 2018-08-01
@sceadwerhaevn
@sceadwerhaevn completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-07-26
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2003-04-17
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #harrypotterandth... on 2003-04-17
@colesmith92
@colesmith92 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-12-27
@colesmith92
@colesmith92 began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-12-04
@aryka08
@aryka08 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-08-13
@aryka08
@aryka08 began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-08-12
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2010-04-26
@lborsh
@lborsh completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-10-09
@lborsh
@lborsh began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-10-01
@riannareads
@riannareads completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-01-11
@jarhill0
@jarhill0 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2015-09-26
@jarhill0
@jarhill0 began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-09-08