Gilead: A Novel

Marilynne Robinson
Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-05-19
Read this book.
Reviewed: 2020-09-25
I don't know yet, but her writing is very intriguing. The pacing, however, isn't making me want to read this every night... though some classics that are worth reading, don't.

UPDATE... Um yeah, I don't think I made it past page 50. She's probably worth it if you have more endurance than me.
Item Posts
@citychurch
@citychurch began #gileadanovel... on 2021-10-27
@kcxcbb5
@kcxcbb5 completed #gileadanovel... on 2019-01-17
@kcxcbb5
@kcxcbb5 began #gileadanovel... on 2019-01-09
@rpavey
@rpavey completed #gileadanovel... on 2018-09-03
@rpavey
@rpavey began #gileadanovel... on 2018-09-03
@alex1024
@alex1024 completed #gileadanovel... on 2018-08-09
@alex1024
@alex1024 began #gileadanovel... on 2018-07-15
@drakewald
@drakewald completed #gileadanovel... on 2017-03-01