Book Thief, The

Markus Zusak
The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that will be in movie theaters on November 15, 2013, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still. Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement. In superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity, award-winning author Markus Zusak, author of I Am the Messenger, has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-10-06
I won't have the chance to write a review yet, but I will say that this book was a tear-jerker. I don't usually read fiction or YA, but was prompted to by my sister with this one. I have to say that although the characters are extraordinarily ordinary, they are very relatable and memorable. I can't say that this book changed my life but it is definitely well-written. Liesel and Rudy's relationship as well as the characters of Hans and Max are well developed and entertaining as well as deep and meaningful. Rosa is in a completely different league, as her interactions with her loved ones are both twisted and endemic to her. I loved all of the characters, and I enjoyed the book! I sure am glad that I decided to read it as my fiction choice for the month!
Reviewed: 2018-12-30
While the style of the book is unique, it doesn't detract from the story it seeks to tell. Beautifully structured and written, the Book Thief is an excellent example of well-crafted characters. Not to say, of course, that it's perfect. I dislike the inconsistency of Death's otherworldliness, and I don't feel like the narrative treated the Jewish characters well enough.
Reviewed: 2017-07-10

I can't put into words the beauty of this story. 

Reviewed: 2016-01-05

I kept hearing about this book through Booktube, so when I was buying some new books to get out of my reading slump, I picked this one up, because why not? Going in, I knew nothing about the story. However, I very much enjoyed this book. What can I say that hasn't already been said: So often when we hear about, or read, stories about WWII, its from the the side of the Allies, or from Jews. So, reading about a girl growing up in Germany, and the various ways it impacted her, was unexpected and refreshing, particularly as you see her growth from blind patriotism to blind hatred for Nazism, to an eventual understanding of the "greyness" of politics. It was an incredible read, and I enjoyed it so much more than I expected.

Reviewed: 2015-03-06

This book is amazing!!! It took me a couple chapters to get into the writing style, but once I did -- magic. This is definitely one of my new favorites! The end made me weep....WEEEEEP... but so worth it. Such an amazing story and I loved that it was told from the perspective of Death. So great!

Item Posts
@bosmaru
@bosmaru completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-09-26
@bosmaru
@bosmaru began #bookthiefthe... on 2017-09-26
@newlove
@newlove completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-07-01
@maeb2
@maeb2 began #bookthiefthe... on 2016-08-22
@ariel
@ariel completed #bookthiefthe... on 2015-03-06
@ariel
@ariel began #bookthiefthe... on 2015-02-23