Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Book 3)

J.K. Rowling
During his third year at Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry, Harry Potter must confront the devious and dangerous wizard responsible for his parents' deaths.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-22
As always, I am obsessed with this book!! It did take me awhile to read, but only because I just started school. #harrypotter
Reviewed: 2018-01-17
Loved the book. I saw the movie first, but thought the book expanded on a few different scenes that the movie only touched on. Great series.
Reviewed: 2018-01-14

Rowling sure knows how to tell a story. Her writing seems to be very consistent with the installments so far, the characters are well developed, and the plot was paced well. One thing I really liked about this third installment is that Rowling starts to show each of the main character’s arc. Hermione develops so much within this book as she has always been perceived as a rule-follower and in this book, she breaks that mold and I absolutely loved that about her character.

The plot of the book seemed a little darker too, which I enjoyed and I had hoped it would happen too because with Harry getting older, one would hope the plot would thicken and greater dangers would be apparent in the later books and Rowling has not disappointed. Rowling is a master storyteller and the reader can tell that she knows what she is doing and that the reader can trust her without a shadow of a doubt.

As this is my first read-through of the series, shocking I know, it has been truly great to read some of the things that have not been in the movies and get a greater understanding the world, characters and the plot of the books. It is easy to get lost in the Wizarding World because after you slip in, it is hard to come out. All in all this was a great read and I am looking forward to continue with the series.

 

Reviewed: 2016-07-26
First Read 1999
Reread Times I remember:
2012
2014
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
I love how this book starts and ends with the Dursleys. Horrible and nasty, and then completely terrified. Of course both are due to their own prejudices. Harry just plays them up at the end, because who wouldn't?

This book is also a very Hermione-centric story... Her decisions and struggles and principles make the story possible. Can you imagine how it would be if she WASN'T a super ambitious student, and didn't have the time turner? Such a different story.

I love Lupin and Harry's interactions in this book, and they make me tear up a bit, knowing what's coming. Likewise with Sirius. *sigh*

Love this series.
Reviewed: 2016-02-27
Gold.
Reviewed: 1999-09-08
Arthur A. Levine Books
Item Posts
@dia309
@dia309 began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-12-11 00:00:00
@danlisa89
@danlisa89 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-11-09 00:00:00
@danlisa89
@danlisa89 began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-11-03 00:00:00
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-12-16
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 began #harrypotterandth... on 2002-01-01
@alliegraceeeee
@alliegraceeeee completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-08-22
@alliegraceeeee
@alliegraceeeee began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-08-15
@makccr
@makccr completed #harrypotterbook0... on 2018-08-01
@makccr
@makccr began #harrypotterbook0... on 2018-07-29
@sceadwerhaevn
@sceadwerhaevn completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-07-26
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-05-06
@emilieb
@emilieb began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-04-07
@jackheilpern
@jackheilpern completed #harrypotterandth... on 2003-03-14
@jackheilpern
@jackheilpern began #harrypotterandth... on 2003-03-01
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2003-04-17