Hunger Games, The

Suzanne Collins
Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called,

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-07-13
  This is a re-read that was assigned for my class this term. The class will be finishing it next week. I love The Hunger Games. I adore the Katniss/Peeta relationship from the first book.
Reviewed: 2021-04-14
Second reading of this book. Just as good as the first.
Reviewed: 2021-04-10
Takes place in Panem, which is N America in the future. All districts have to send a child to fight in the Hunger Games, a brutal fight to the death with only one survivor. Surprisingly good.
Reviewed: 2021-03-06
I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did, but it was a quick, easy read. Was definitely a page turner. I read this after watching the movie and I’m impressed by how much the movie followed the book. Very well done.
Reviewed: 2021-02-05
Collins creates a brutal world where the children of the poor are thrown into a life and death game for the entertainment of the rich. A great beginning to an interesting trilogy. I'm very excited to read the rest of it.
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
4.33
Reviewed: 2020-11-07
This is my favorite YA series since Harry Potter. It's well-written, compelling, and doesn't shy away from tackling tough issues like slavery, oppression, and human trafficking. I know that there's been some criticism that the plot is similar to Battle Royale, but I don't think that takes away from the fact that this is a good book. Originality is great, but it doesn't always equal a good story. Collins manages to strike a good balance between the external and internal action, showing how the events change Katniss without slowing down or getting bogged down with internal dialogue.
Reviewed: 2020-08-17

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2767052-the-hunger-games

Ms. Nystel has read this book!

Reviewed: 2020-07-13

7/10

Reviewed: 2020-06-29
The language isn't elaborate, but this just leads to build the suspense and anxiety, and even more importantly, belief in the very elaborate world Collins has built and the rules of this post-apocalyptic world. I think I would have enjoyed it a bit more if I hadn't already known the general storyline and the actors who portray the characters in the movie, but it was still a great read that I couldn't put down and I'm very glad I finally read it for myself.
Item Posts
@faramir
@faramir completed #hungergamesthe... on 2014-01-30
@faramir
@faramir began #hungergamesthe... on 2014-01-10
@ahaleman
@ahaleman completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-02-25
@spirit0
@spirit0 completed #hungergamesthehu... on 2020-05-16
@spirit0
@spirit0 began #hungergamesthehu... on 2020-05-09
@momo05
@momo05 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2020-02-16
@momo05
@momo05 began #hungergamesthe... on 2020-02-12
@mama2eeee
@mama2eeee completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-10-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #hungergamesthehu... on 2010-12-08
@drewpy94
@drewpy94 completed #hungergames00000... on 2018-05-08
@drewpy94
@drewpy94 began #hungergames00000... on 2018-05-07
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #hungergamesthehu... on 2010-08-24
@fromelliott
@fromelliott began #hungergamesthehu... on 2010-08-20
@booklover23
@booklover23 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-03-23
@bayakers
@bayakers completed #hungergamesthe... on 2011-08-14