Hunger Games, The

Suzanne Collins
Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called,


Reviewed: 2018-01-17
Another book I couldn't put down. A lot great themes going on, trust, war, survival, government control, rebellion. At first this book reminded me of The Lottery, but I changed my opinion as I kept reading. Collins gives her main character, Katniss, humanity throughout the whole book when such horrific things were happening.

The government rationing of goods as a form of control made me thinking of several countries who use this type of control over their people. I can't wait to read the second and third books.
Reviewed: 2017-09-17
A fun plot, and great action sequences. It would have been a enjoyable light read if it had not been so very serious. Good lord! So much Wangst! Collins lays on the angst far too strongly far too early. You have no time to actually become attached to Catnis before you are bombarded by the excruciatingly annoying details of her dark and troubled past. She whines and moans her way through her role, reducing the tragedy of situation to something on the level of a spoiled child not getting a toy that she wants and subsequently throwing a temper tantrum. Thankfully, Collins seems to have realized her error, and the sequels are slightly funnier. But if you are looking for a fun young adult novel with a good mixture of drama and comedy, I would suggest you try either the Artemis Fowl series, or the Skulduggery Pleasant series.
Reviewed: 2017-04-11
Really wanted to read this series for a couple of years now. Glad that I finally did - action-packed and suspenseful throughout!
Reviewed: 2017-03-17
So, here is what I thought. This was a very entertaining story. I think that the romance was too contrived. It is a young adult fiction, so I sort of expect that, but it doesn't mean that I should expect that. Collins could have done a better job on that. Also, I was hoping for a bit more development in certain areas, and a more "in your face" to the Capitol ending, but there are two more books, so I'm sure that will come later. The writing could have been more polished as well. Other than that, I really enjoyed it. It has themes of redemption, loyalty, and forgiveness, and being set in a culture of death, I think that this book is very relevant to today's society.
Reviewed: 2017-03-10

What can I saw. Very enjoyable. And you can read each book in a day.

Reviewed: 2017-02-09
If you're not a young adult fan, but was intrigued by the concept - I'd recommend [b:Battle Royale|57891|Battle Royale|Koushun Takami||2786327] instead. Much bloodier and pretty much exactly the same without romance (that I can remember; I can't remember a lot but I really liked that book too).

I am a fan of YA novels and romantic comedies and dystopian worlds and basically everything this novel is. I'm not a fan of outdoor adventures (was maybe the lone kid who wasn't a fan of Gary Paulson in elementary school), but Collins even makes those elements engaging. So I devoured it happily.

Only negative I have to say is that Katniss does nothing for me. She comes off as pretty dense and close minded if you ask me. So if you're someone who really needs to get into your protaganists, and a one-dimensional stock "girl who had a tough childhood, over-attached to her dead father, now has to face the big bad world herself" doesn't appeal to you - then you might not like this so much.
Reviewed: 2017-02-08
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
Katniss Everdeen is my hero and forever will be.
Reviewed: 2017-01-17
Expert pacing and a clever premise make this young adult dystopia an incredible read for teen and adult alike.
Reviewed: 2017-01-02
I've read all about the hype and wondered, was this book good? The answer is yes, it is. Katniss is a 16 year old living in a coal-mining District after some sort of apocalypse. Every year there is a "Hunger Games", where children are sent to an arena to basically battle it out to the death.

I was surprised at how in depth and adult the story was. Dystopia, commentary on reality TV (which really comes into play for propoganda and what not), deaths of children (sometimes described rather brutally) all come into play. I admit, I could somewhat see where the story was going (as in, the basic narrative), but it's an excellent read nonetheless.

Katniss Everdeen is no Bella Swan. And I mean that in the best way possible. THIS is what young people should be reading, not the tripe of Twilight.
Item Posts
@zafiro38 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-04-22
@fromelliott completed #hungergamesthehu... on 2010-08-24
@fromelliott began #hungergamesthehu... on 2010-08-20
@booklover23 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-03-23
@bayakers completed #hungergamesthe... on 2011-08-14
@bayakers began #hungergamesthe... on 2011-08-03
@booklover4eva completed #1000newhelpfulhi... on 2009-01-01
@electricidiot completed #hungergamesthe... on 2016-01-10
@electricidiot began #hungergamesthe... on 2016-01-06
@tjanla completed #hungergamesthe... on 2014-06-30
@eorlingas23 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-05-16
@eorlingas23 began #hungergamesthe... on 2012-05-08
@meanswell completed #hungergamesthehu... on 2012-11-11
@meanswell began #hungergamesthehu... on 2012-11-04