Clash of Kings, A

George R.R. Martin
THE BOOK BEHIND THE SECOND SEASON OF GAME OF THRONES, AN ORIGINAL SERIES NOW ON HBO.In this eagerly awaited sequel to A Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin has created a work of unsurpassed vision, power, and imagination. A Clash of Kings transports us to a world of revelry and revenge, wizardry and warfare unlike any you have ever experienced.A CLASH OF KINGSA comet the color of blood and flame cuts across the sky. And from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns. Six factions struggle for control of a divided land and the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, preparing to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war. It is a tale in which brother plots against brother and the dead rise to walk in the night. Here a princess masquerades as an orphan boy; a knight of the mind prepares a poison for a treacherous sorceress; and wild men descend from the Mountains of the Moon to ravage the countryside. Against a backdrop of incest and fratricide, alchemy and murder, victory may go to the men and women possessed of the coldest steel...and the coldest hearts. For when kings clash, the whole land trembles.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description THE BOOK BEHIND THE SECOND SEASON OF GAME OF THRONES, AN ORIGINAL SERIES NOW ON HBO. In this eagerly awaited sequel to A Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin has created a work of unsurpassed vision, power, and imagination. A Clash of Kings transports us to a world of revelry and revenge, wizardry and warfare unlike any you have ever experienced. A CLASH OF KINGS A comet the color of blood and flame cuts across the sky. And from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns. Six factions struggle for control of a divided land and the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, preparing to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war. It is a tale in which brother plots against brother and the dead rise to walk in the night. Here a princess masquerades as an orphan boy; a knight of the mind prepares a poison for a treacherous sorceress; and wild men descend from the Mountains of the Moon to ravage the countryside. Against a backdrop of incest and fratricide, alchemy and murder, victory may go to the men and women possessed of the coldest steel...and the coldest hearts. For when kings clash, the whole land trembles. Editorial Reviews Amazon.com Review How does he do it? George R.R. Martin's high fantasy weaves a spell sufficient to seduce even those who vowed never to start a doorstopper fantasy series again (the first book--A Game of Thrones--runs over 700 pages). A Clash of Kings is longer and even more grim, but Martin continues to provide compelling characters in a vividly real world. The Seven Kingdoms have come apart. Joffrey, Queen Cersei's sadistic son, ascends the Iron Throne following the death of Robert Baratheon, the Usurper, who won it in battle. Queen Cersei's family, the Lannisters, fight to hold it for him. Both the dour Stannis and the charismatic Renly Baratheon, Robert's brothers, also seek the throne. Robb Stark, declared King in the North, battles to avenge his father's execution and retrieve his sister from Joffrey's court. Daenerys, the exiled last heir of the former ruling family, nurtures three dragons and seeks a way home. Meanwhile the Night's Watch, sworn to protect the realm from dangers north of the Wall, dwindle in numbers, even as barbarian forces gather and beings out of legend stalk the Haunted Forest. Sound complicated? It is, but fine writing makes this a thoroughly satisfying stew of dark magic, complex political intrigue, and horrific bloodshed. --Nona Vero --This text refers to the Hardcover edition. From Publishers Weekly The second novel of Martin's titanic Song of Ice and Fire saga (A Game of Thrones, 1996) begins with Princess Arya Stark fleeing her dead father's capital of King's Landing, disguised as a boy. [...] In between [the beginning and the end], her actions map the further course of a truly epic fantasy set in a world bedecked with 8000 years of history, beset by an imminent winter that will last 10 years and bedazzled by swords and spells wielded to devastating effect by the scrupulous and unscrupulous alike. Standout characters besides Arya include Queen Cersei, so lacking in morals that she becomes almost pitiable; the queen's brother, the relentlessly ingenious dwarf Tyrion Lannister; and Arya's brother, Prince Brandon, crippled except when he runs with the wolves in his dreams. The novel is notable particularly for the lived-in quality of its world, created through abundant detail that dramatically increases narrative length even as it aids suspension of disbelief; for the comparatively modest role of magic (although with one ambitious young woman raising a trio of dragons, that may change in future volumes)... Martin may not rival Tolkien or Robert Jordan, but he ranks with such accomplished medievalists of fantasy as Poul Anderson and Gordon Dickson. Here, he provides a banquet for fantasy lovers with large appetites--and this is only the second course of a repast with no end in sight. Author tour. Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.
Reviewed: 2016-10-28
THE BOOK BEHIND THE SECOND SEASON OF GAME OF THRONES, AN ORIGINAL SERIES NOW ON HBO.In this eagerly awaited sequel to A Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin has created a work of unsurpassed vision, power, and imagination. A Clash of Kings transports us to a world of revelry and revenge, wizardry and warfare unlike any you have ever experienced.A CLASH OF KINGSA comet the color of blood and flame cuts across the sky. And from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns. Six factions struggle for control of a divided land and the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, preparing to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war. It is a tale in which brother plots against brother and the dead rise to walk in the night. Here a princess masquerades as an orphan boy; a knight of the mind prepares a poison for a treacherous sorceress; and wild men descend from the Mountains of the Moon to ravage the countryside. Against a backdrop of incest and fratricide, alchemy and murder, victory may go to the men and women possessed of the coldest steel...and the coldest hearts. For when kings clash, the whole land trembles.
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
I know what you're thinking... "Only 4 stars??!" Yeah. I shall tell you why.

First, because getting to the halfway mark of this book took me 11 days. In my edition, which was 807 pages of book, that's about 400 pages. I read more than half that just today, so 11 days is a LONG time for me to get into a story.

Secondly, because so much of this book felt like set up and maneuverings and I was ready for stuff to happen! A Game of Thrones had me on the edge of my seat almost from the word "go", and Clash just didn't have that same tension for a large part of it. I know that, considering events, that's appropriate, but I couldn't help wanting to feel the way I felt while reading Game - which was a gnaw-my-fingers-raw anxiety.

I got my wish in the second half of the book though, for sure.

And I want to make it clear that I don't think the writing was bad or that the story was slow or anything like that. All the maneuverings and set ups and everything were exceptionally well done, but to me, it just didn't feel the same... Game of Thrones spoiler: ...with Ned and Robert and Drogo all dead. Missing characters were missed by me, and it made a difference.

The story though... Even when I read it in dribs and drabs, was fantastic. Once again, picking up this story is like immersion in Westeros, and I love that. The second half of the book was incredibly exciting and harrowing. When the maneuverings and plots started to come together, I almost couldn't look away. 11 days to read the first half set up, and 3 to finish. But it's a mark of how incredible this series is that it affects me like that. Too bad Martin doesn't care about the characters I love. HE'S RUTHLESS! *sniffle* (I secretly love that though. Authors take note: Don't sacrifice your story to save a character.)

I am almost scared to continue this series... scared to see what is coming. Chaos and winter, likely. *shiver*
Reviewed: 2016-02-15
Another good book.
Reviewed: 2015-07-09
Alright, so now that we've been introduced to the world... you have to work a little bit harder, Mr. Martin, to keep me as fascinated. Characters like Jon and Tyrion are quickly becoming favorites in all of fiction - but characters (and plot arcs, for that matter) like Theon Greyjoy are beneath your fabulous writing. War has come to Westeros and that's great because I do love me some battles... but things got a little confusing as this book went on and I wondered more than a few times whether there were a few too many plates in the air. Still, I'm more than excited for book three and do love this world that's been created.

More thoughts, mostly about characters (if you're into that sort of thing), at Raging Biblioholism: http://t.co/qT1l2M13
Reviewed: 2000-09-05
Bantam Books
A Clash of Kings continues the battles and struggles for the throne that took place first in A Game of Thrones. The Seven Kingdoms is plaqued by a civil war that only grows more complex with each chapter. Robb Stark, new King in the North, is at war with the Lannisters for the arrest and beheading of his father. Renly and Stannis Baratheon have both declared themselves rightful heir to the throne, and thus begin fighting over who deserves it more. (The outcome makes me sad.) Balon Greyjoy declares himself king of the Iron Islands and begins to attack the coast of the North, making him another king vying for power. And, while all of this is going on, we have Arya disguising herself as a boy, Sansa pretty much stuck at King's Landing for fear of what the Lannisters could do to her, Bran and Rickon stuck at Winterfell trying to continue on without their father or King Robb to guide them, Jon Snow and the Knight's Watch seeking out answers about the wildlings, Theon trying too hard to impress his daddy, and the Khaleesi continues being a badass in the East.

Despite the thickness of the books, they're really not difficult to read. They're so enticing and interesting, that I didn't want to put the book down until I'd finished it, only to start the next one. Also, having also watched the television show, I enjoyed doing the comparison thing. Honestly, the show is pretty much right on the money, with only a few things or aspects added. So, if you're a fan of Game of Thrones, I'd highly recommend that you watch the show on HBO or other internet places.

While there are definitely some slow bits that make you want to skim, I highly urge you to delete that thought from your mind. There are plenty of details and plot points that are mixed in all throughout the book, and if you skim, you'll definitely miss some of them. Details, details, details, with quite a bit of profanity and mistreatment of women. (Which was the time, obviously, when women weren't seen as very important in some places.) Even so, these books are fantastic, and I highly recommend that you read them.

Final thoughts / feelings;
I will most definitely read the next book: A Storm of Swords, because I'm extremely curious as to what's going to happen next.
I felt like there was hardly any Khaleesi in this one, which made me kind of sad seeing as she's my favorite character.
The ages of the characters might throw you off a bit.
Poor, poor Sansa.

☆☆☆☆☆/5
Recommend?: If you want a new and enticing series to read.
Especially if you're into castles and wars and kings and the like.

I'm pretty much too burnt out from reading that to even write a review.

Don't hit me for saying this but I"m pretty sure Martin could have cut out the first 800 pages of this epic. The twists towards the end were good but I wish he had smattered more of them throughout the rest of the book.

There are way too many POV's in this book. Way too much naming that it got incredibly tedious and annoying. I kind of wish that the twists didn't happen so that I wouldn't have any inclination whatsoever to read the next book.
It is hard for a sequel to be as well loved and interesting as the first book. Sadly, A Clash of Kings did not touch the first book.This story felt more tedious and treacherous than the first, and the battle scenes did little more than bore me. The characters are starting to become fleshed out, and the audience cannot help but to love and cheer for each side, and feel a bit of pity and pride for the underdogs Theon, The Hound, and Tyrion.For the the great length of the book, it seemed that very little happened, which kept the book from obtaining a higher score. However, I am anxious to see the outcome for Robb, The Hound and Jon. Hopefully, the next book will not stretch out into a long description of just a few short events.
Item Posts
@jmsmith328
@jmsmith328 completed #clashofkingsason... on 2016-09-18
@jmsmith328
@jmsmith328 began #clashofkingsason... on 2016-02-28
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi began #clashofkingsa... on 2014-04-26
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi completed #clashofkingsa... on 2012-08-15
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi began #clashofkingsa... on 2012-07-30
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 completed #clashofkingsason... on 2016-10-16
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 began #clashofkingsason... on 2016-09-25
@mattsuo
@mattsuo completed #clashofkingsason... on 2016-09-06
@rachelluv11
@rachelluv11 began #clashofkingsason... on 2016-07-20
@gauthammanoj
@gauthammanoj began #clashofkingsason... on 2015-09-05
@kayis813
@kayis813 began #clashofkingsason... on 2015-10-06
@atenelli
@atenelli completed #clashofkingsason... on 2015-05-31
@khalesiey
@khalesiey completed #songoficeandfire... on 2014-01-07
@khalesiey
@khalesiey began #songoficeandfire... on 2013-12-09
@jandmenriquex
@jandmenriquex completed #clashofkingsason... on 2012-02-01