Annihilation (Southern Reach, #1)

Jeff VanderMeer
Paperback

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-04-12

Really intetresting concept, especially for the alien.  Some frustration though with missing detail, this being the first of a trilogy.  Even so, the purpose of the mission into Area X was vague: what was the mission trying to achieve?  Why could they not bring in modern technology?  Could hypnosis really be as powerful a controlling factor for the crew as the book purports?  Aspects of the story were too vague, not just the overarching mystery of the Southern Reach organization.

Reviewed: 2021-01-19
Not powerful, nothing much of anything- What is meant tu be THE BIG THING doesn't really have any impact

Road Side Picnic is a similar idea done much, much better, done properly, and done with some literary sensitivity.
Reviewed: 2019-09-09

4.7/5 stars

“The effect of this cannot be understood without being there. The beauty of it cannot be understood, either, and when you see beauty in desolation it changes something inside you. Desolation tries to colonize you.” 

The narrator, a bioligist, tell us the story of the expedition of four women to the mysterious Area X. A place where the previous expeditions had never come back or they had but in a weird way.
A horror story full of secrets, insanity, hallucinations, creepy creatures, complex personalities, and confusing parts. Obviously I ended up loving this book but I didn’t rate it 5 stars because I thought that it was too short, I wanted moooore!! I think that VanderMeer should have get more into the other characters, maybe more breathtaking parts or action scenes.
Leaving the things I didn’t like apart, I found it beautifully written and that’s weird because it’s a horror book and that is what I found surprisingly fascinating. A lot of parts take my breath away and made me want to read more,for example:

“I would tell you the names of the other three, if it mattered, but only the surveyor would last more than the next day or two.”

A lot of parts are like this and it keeps you tense (I don’t recommend to read it in the night). It gets under your skin because the point of view is very interesting and really make you feel like you are there. I love creepy novels and not really knowing what’s going on, I think that makes the book more realistic and creeps me out more. A must read if you like Sci Fi, Horror or Psychological Thriller. Can’t wait to read the whole series.
By the way the movie adaptation is coming and it doesn’t look like the book. A lot of parts are so different but I understand that the book maybe is too slow for showing it as it is visually, and I trust the beautiful mind of Alex Garland (the director), he is brilliant! Hope it will turn well!

Reviewed: 2019-01-14
reread this after seeing the movie (which I adored) and appreciate it much more. some really fantastic language, imagery, ideas in here. Going to read the next one, hoping it holds up!
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
There's so much to unpack from this novella. As someone obsessed with names, I could just talk about the implications within the novel of none of the characters having names all day. Then there are all these strange elements of Area X that VanderMeer describes beautifully, though cryptically. Very interested to see how this plays out as a trilogy. Doesn't have the traditional trilogy vibe.
Item Posts
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper completed #annihilation... on 2018-05-20
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper began #annihilation... on 2018-05-19
@joybancroft
@joybancroft completed #annihilationsout... on 2018-11-18
@jumpingshelves
@jumpingshelves completed #annihilationanov... on 2015-01-12
@jumpingshelves
@jumpingshelves began #annihilationanov... on 2014-12-26
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls began #southernreachtri... on 2019-09-07
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls completed #southernreachtri... on 2020-08-17
@mrpike325
@mrpike325 completed #annihilationanov... on 2019-03-17
@mrpike325
@mrpike325 began #annihilationanov... on 2019-03-17
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #annihilationanov... on 2017-12-17
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #annihilationanov... on 2017-12-13
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #annihilationanov... on 2017-12-17
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #annihilationanov... on 2017-12-13
@amraos
@amraos completed #annihilationanov... on 2017-10-03
@amraos
@amraos began #annihilationanov... on 2017-10-02