Allegiant

Veronica Roth
The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered - fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she's known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories. But Tris's new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend to complexities of human nature - and of herself - while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-03-20
This was not as good as the second book in the series. It had some boring parts and kind of a stupid plot. I had high hopes for this book and I’m mildly upset over this. The ending was traumatic and I’m very sad that tris died, but I understand why Veronica chose do kill tris and I respect her brave decision. The ending had my ugly crying late at night. I still loved the characters in this book and I was invested in their story even thought this was not the best book I’m still pretty satisfied with it overall
Reviewed: 2017-08-07
Ending was very ballsy and meaningful, not very satisfying to me as a reader though.
Reviewed: 2017-05-23

Where do I even begin with this book? I guess I have a love-hate relationship with it. Veronica's writing is phenomenal but this book literally made me cry for days when I first read it - it still makes me cry - and I really wasn't sure how long it was appropriate to mourn a fictional character. 

Life outside of the city is definitely different in the Bureau but I always imagined it how America is now - with a lot more ruins, of course - and I absolutely loved how detailed everything was. You could tell that Veronica had thought out the side characters meticulously, giving each their own personality that you don't normally find when a character is only mentioned on one page. 

The ending was something that I'm not sure I agree with. I understand why she ended it the way that she did - it just seemed like the right thing to do with how said character was in the previous books - but it still made me feel like a part of myself died with the story. I know that it'll continue to live on as long as I cherish the story though, I just wish things had turned out differently.

Reviewed: 2017-01-29
I'll up it to 1.5 stars for making me feel something other than a boundless rage at the end. (Everyone complains about the end, but it's the best part. No more crap!)

Summation: Tris and Four didn't have distinguished enough voices for the alternating POV thing to work. Half the time I would forget who was the "I," if I left the book to go do something for five minutes or more in the middle of a chapter.

Also, all I thought the whole time was "THIS IS NOT HOW GENES WORK!" And it's not: http://reflectionofreality.com/post/98102281799/why-the-premise-in-allegiant-doesnt-make-sense

When you write something, particularly a thing with religious-y undertones, getting basic facts about science correct would be great.
Reviewed: 2015-08-26
I thought the ending was perfect. It was sad but realistic. It was not what I expected and I think that's why I loved it.
Reviewed: 2015-07-01

Overall I liked this book :D It's not better than Divergent, but in my opinnion, it's better than Insurgent. :D I like the dual point of view, but sometimes t felt like it's the same person... But, I read the book while listening to an audiobook, so I didn't have a big problem with the dual point of view. :D

Item Posts
@eclecticchic202
@eclecticchic202 began #allegiant... on 2020-08-05
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #allegiant... on 2016-03-24
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #allegiant... on 2016-03-09
@mama2eeee
@mama2eeee completed #allegiant... on 2014-01-15
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #allegiant... on 2016-03-28
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #allegiant... on 2016-03-21
@bluephoenix84
@bluephoenix84 completed #allegiantbook000... on 2018-04-30
@bluephoenix84
@bluephoenix84 began #allegiantbook000... on 2018-04-19
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #allegiant... on 2014-02-09
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #allegiant... on 2013-10-27
@makaylamw
@makaylamw completed #allegiant... on 2016-03-04
@makaylamw
@makaylamw began #allegiant... on 2016-02-24
@caityreads11
@caityreads11 completed #allegiant... on 2014-04-16
@mrscutting
@mrscutting began #allegiant... on 2016-08-26
@gomiller
@gomiller completed #allegiant... on 2016-03-26