Night

Elie Wiesel
Night is Elie Wiesel's masterpiece, a candid, horrific, and deeply poignant autobiographical account of his survival as a teenager in the Nazi death camps. This new translation by Marion Wiesel, Elie's wife and frequent translator, presents this seminal memoir in the language and spirit truest to the author's original intent. And in a substantive new preface, Elie reflects on the enduring importance of Night and his lifelong, passionate dedication to ensuring that the world never forgets man's capacity for inhumanity to man.Night offers much more than a litany of the daily terrors, everyday perversions, and rampant sadism at Auschwitz and Buchenwald; it also eloquently addresses many of the philosophical as well as personal questions implicit in any serious consideration of what the Holocaust was, what it meant, and what its legacy is and will be.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-12-09
Heartbreaking. Rich with history and tragedy. My fifteen year old recommended this book from her English class. I am content with this being part of high school curriculum.
Reviewed: 2018-08-24

essential reading

Reviewed: 2017-02-08
4.29
Reviewed: 2016-11-02

K 9        570L      GLE  4.8

copies

6.  .25  PB  G  bumped, worn edges, name on page edge, crease on back cover, names in side front cover, light underlining   L1    58/06/19     8x5.5  

7.  .50  PB  G   bumped, Oprah's Book Club  L2  58/06/1  8x5.5

Reviewed: 2016-10-13
Night by Ellie Wiesel is truly a novel that depicts the horror of a recantation of the events that took place during one man's time in the concentration camps. Through the narration of Wiesel's personal experience during the Holocaust, the audience gets a first hand look into this horrific memory. This book is absolutely heartbreaking and is a must read for students at the secondary level, especially when learning about the historical events that occurred during the time of the Holocaust. My lesson plans would include activities where students will go through the novel and write down the colors and symbols used as a portrayal for certain purposes.They will work in groups and discuss what they think certain colors or symbols mean based on any previous introductary knowledge of the Holocaust. The students will then research their meanings and write down what each symbol stands for. Lastly, students will correlate their findings with what they found in the text and share what they learned with the class. The point of the lesson is to show students the stigmas those individuals faced during the Holocaust and how degrading these people were being treated and being known to be "undesirable".
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
I've wanted to read this book for a very long time, and for reasons unknown to me, I've put it off for almost as long. So when a friend of mine on Goodreads started it, I decided to read along.

I seem to gravitate toward books related to the Holocaust, however demented that may be. It's not that I enjoy the suffering of others, its that I want to understand. I want to know how people can be so cruel and horrible to each other. I want to know how people can take that cruelty and keep taking it and taking it and taking it and still survive. And so I read holocaust books, and books that contain horrible atrocities and inhumanity and suffering.

I don't really know how to review this book. Honestly, I feel a little crappy for only giving it 3 stars... I feel like I'm discounting the author's suffering and the losses he and all Jewish people endured and the holocaust in general by not giving this book 5 stars. But that's not true, and it's not my intention to discount or downplay anything.

I think honestly it was the writing that did it. There were certain lines that moved me, and made me take a step back and say wow, but they were few and far between. Mostly I thought that the writing seemed very simple, to the point of being almost cold and distant. Perhaps it WAS cold and distant, and that the only way Wiesel could tell this story was to tell it this way. I can understand that, certainly, but I'd had such high expectations of this book that I'd expected to be a weeping puddle the entire time - yet I, the girl with the far, far too active empathy gland, didn't shed a single tear while reading this story. And that in itself is cause for me to worry, because I SHOULD have been a weeping puddle.

There didn't really seem to be anything humanizing here. Wiesel related his story, and told of the people who held out hope after hope alongside the people who would kill their own family for a scrap of bread alongside the people who just gave up. True, these are all human stories, but I couldn't identify with them or put myself in their place. It was just too distant and withdrawn from the personal story, and dwelt on the "...and then this happened..." method.

I do think that this is a book that everyone should read, however. Regardless of how distant the story feels, it does relate something of the horror that Jewish people had to contend with on a daily basis, and the constant fear that today would be their day to die. It also deals with faith in the light of such atrocities, and the loss thereof. I can understand that, I think, because it's hard to put your faith and love in a God that is exterminating your people, after thousands of years of persecution already. But genocide is faithless and faceless... it just is. And it should not be.

Anyway... I liked this book, but I wanted to love it. I wanted to feel like something had changed in me after I'd read it. I wanted this to be a book that would mark me. But sadly, it didn't. :(
Reviewed: 2016-01-14
I was in AP English classes throughout high school. The benefit of this is that I got to read a lot of challenging, complex works - books like Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man and Brave New World, which made tremendous contributions to my love of literature. The downside is that I missed out on a lot of books that were "simpler," so they were taught in lower-level English classes, but not AP. I've been trying to fill in these gaps over the last few years, and Night is one of the books that came up on my list.

It's hard to contribute anything original to the conversation about this book. Everything that has been said is true. It is heartbreaking and horrifying. It is written in sparse, simple prose, which sometimes makes it even more difficult to truly comprehend the atrocities that the book describes: "Yes, I did see this, with my own eyes . . . children thrown into the flames" (ellipses original). If the words were more flowery or burdened with tortured metaphor, somehow it would be easier to take it all in.

One of the things that struck me is that throughout the book, Wiesel noted that the people around him were in disbelief that something like this was truly happening. At the beginning of the book, the disbelief he describes seems to be at least somewhat genuine. By the end of the book, the instances that he points out are always noted to be some kind of coping mechanism - if we think this can't be happening, or that things will get better, we'll be prepared for the worst.

Yes, many of us are familiar with the atrocities of the Holocaust, and other genocides. Yes, we have an emotional reaction to what occurred. But this disbelief reminded me that the people who suffered in these camps were real human beings in the real world, not cardboard figures. They had the same emotions that we would have if something like this occurred in our community today. Night humanizes the Holocaust in ways that I had not encountered before.
Reviewed: 2015-11-28
Wow. This book absolutely wrecked me. I made the mistake of reading a little of it before I left for work, and had to put it down for a day to let my soul heal. Elie Wiesel shares his story of spending time in the World War II concentration camps of Auschwitz, Buna, and Buchenwald. Separated from his mother and three sisters, his father and he work in the camps, struggling through the cold, starvation, and cruelty to survive the war. He tells his story in such a way that you can picture the scenes. He pulls you in, stomps on your heart, and leaves an imprint on your soul. Don't be fooled by the short length, as his words are so powerful, so compelling, that you will find enough in these pages to last a lifetime. This book is a must-read.
Reviewed: 2015-08-24

If you should happen to be studying the Holocaust or are looking for some memoirs this would be the book I recommend for you. Truly haunting and powerful accounts of what happened inside a Nazi camp that will stay with you forever. You can order this book at the Colona Public Library. ~Ashley

Reviewed: 2014-10-21

Extremely eye-opening and heartbreaking. One of the most powerful stories I've ever read, hands down.

 

Item Posts
@jmmiller1215
@jmmiller1215 completed #night... on 2018-02-05
@hstewart
@hstewart completed #night... on 2014-09-03
@naivevegas
@naivevegas completed #night... on 2018-01-11
@shailene92
@shailene92 completed #night... on 2017-10-09
@powerawbs
@powerawbs completed #night... on 2016-09-09
@jackheilpern
@jackheilpern completed #night... on 2009-08-31
@jackheilpern
@jackheilpern began #night... on 2009-08-22
@afortenberry
@afortenberry completed #night... on 2016-08-25
@adamesauer
@adamesauer completed #night... on 2016-07-10