Night - BOOK SET 20 COPIES

Elie Wiesel
Night is Elie Wiesel's masterpiece, a candid, horrific, and deeply poignant autobiographical account of his survival as a teenager in the Nazi death camps. This new translation by Marion Wiesel, Elie's wife and frequent translator, presents this seminal memoir in the language and spirit truest to the author's original intent. And in a substantive new preface, Elie reflects on the enduring importance of Night and his lifelong, passionate dedication to ensuring that the world never forgets man's capacity for inhumanity to man.Night offers much more than a litany of the daily terrors, everyday perversions, and rampant sadism at Auschwitz and Buchenwald; it also eloquently addresses many of the philosophical as well as personal questions implicit in any serious consideration of what the Holocaust was, what it meant, and what its legacy is and will be.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-09-22
I read this in high school and again recently... Powerful is the only way I can describe it. As Weisel states, the number of survivors is shrinking daily and the sharing of memories will soon be lost. To forget would not only be dangerous, but offensive. Such a tragedy that should never be forgotten. “Just as man cannot live without dreams, he cannot live without hope. If dreams reflect the past, hope summons the future.” —Elie Wiesel (born 1928) Writer, Humanitarian
Reviewed: 2018-12-09
Heartbreaking. Rich with history and tragedy. My fifteen year old recommended this book from her English class. I am content with this being part of high school curriculum.
Reviewed: 2018-08-24

essential reading

Reviewed: 2016-11-02

K 9        570L      GLE  4.8

copies

6.  .25  PB  G  bumped, worn edges, name on page edge, crease on back cover, names in side front cover, light underlining   L1    58/06/19     8x5.5  

7.  .50  PB  G   bumped, Oprah's Book Club  L2  58/06/1  8x5.5

Reviewed: 2015-11-28
Wow. This book absolutely wrecked me. I made the mistake of reading a little of it before I left for work, and had to put it down for a day to let my soul heal. Elie Wiesel shares his story of spending time in the World War II concentration camps of Auschwitz, Buna, and Buchenwald. Separated from his mother and three sisters, his father and he work in the camps, struggling through the cold, starvation, and cruelty to survive the war. He tells his story in such a way that you can picture the scenes. He pulls you in, stomps on your heart, and leaves an imprint on your soul. Don't be fooled by the short length, as his words are so powerful, so compelling, that you will find enough in these pages to last a lifetime. This book is a must-read.
Reviewed: 2014-10-21

Extremely eye-opening and heartbreaking. One of the most powerful stories I've ever read, hands down.

 

Item Posts
@martialpeace
@martialpeace completed #night... on 2019-05-25
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 completed #night... on 2014-06-13
@jmmiller1215
@jmmiller1215 completed #night... on 2018-02-05
@hstewart
@hstewart completed #night... on 2014-09-03
@naivevegas
@naivevegas completed #night... on 2018-01-11
@shailene92
@shailene92 completed #night... on 2017-10-09
@powerawbs
@powerawbs completed #night... on 2016-09-09
@jackheilpern
@jackheilpern completed #night... on 2009-08-31
@jackheilpern
@jackheilpern began #night... on 2009-08-22
@afortenberry
@afortenberry completed #night... on 2016-08-25
@adamesauer
@adamesauer completed #night... on 2016-07-10