Beware That Girl

Teresa Toten
For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl, this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep readers guessing until the very last line.The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change that. She’s book smart. She’s street-smart. Oh, and she’s also a masterful liar.As the scholarship student at the Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ladder and land a spot at Yale. She’s already found her “people” among the senior class “it” girls—specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she’s always needed, the sister she never had. When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he immediately charms his way into the faculty’s and students’ lives—becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she’s intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can’t reveal—and can’t afford to ignore. How close can Kate and Olivia get to Mark without having to share their dark pasts?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-12-01

Set in Manhattan, two girls from different sides of the tracks become best friends at an upper preparatory school. Kate is an orphan living in the back of a grocery store located in Chinatown where she also happens to work. Olivia is the daughter of a wealthy widower who has just about everything she could ask for, but her dark past and mental problems seem to threaten her constantly. When these two girls meet up at the Waverly School for girls, they automatically become best friends. This may seem like fate to Olivia, but Kate had this planned all along. By becoming friends with Olivia, Kate ensures her trip out of the Chinatown slums and moves in with Olivia in her penthouse apartment. Even though their friendship started under false pretenses, Kate soon forms a special bond with Olivia and would do absolutely anything for her. Once Olivia starts secretly seeing a young Waverly faculty member, the stakes of just what Kate would do for Olivia darkens. Beware That Girl is a great read for anybody who loves thrillers and teen lit. It is set through the eyes of both girls which allows the reader to understand how each girl is feeling through the same situation. Toten does a great job blending high society New York with the psychological thriller genre.

Item Posts
No posts