Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness, #1)

Pierce, Tamora
Becoming a legend is not easy, as young Alanna of Trebond discovers when she disguises herself as a boy and begins training to be a knight. Alanna's skills and stubborness help her befriend Prince Jonathan and alienate his evil uncle, Duke Roger. Filled with swords and sorcery, adventure and intrigue, good and evil, this book is a rousing introduction to the intensely satisfying story of Alanna.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 12/16/15: Actual rating, probably around 4.5 stars
This was SO cute. I was a teensy bit worried and my reasons were twofold. One: Although the series grows, it starts as more of a middle grade range. I have enjoyed some but I usually don't get AS invested in MGs as I do with YAs. Two: This is everyone's favorite series from when they were a kid and I was so worried it was another one of those where I'd be like EH, not for me thanks. Thankfully, I worried for nothing!
ALANNA was super cute, lots of fun, and full of wonderful characters. I loved Alanna from the start - fiesty, determined, brave, and ambitious. Alanna goes after what she wants right away and doesn't waste any time with people telling her what to do. She knows what she wants and she achieves her goals no matter what. I loved the introduction to the magic systems and although I don't know a lot about them yet (as far as the how and the why, etc), I'm excited to learn more as the series progresses (and I DO want to continue the series)!
I loved the character relationships in this book. Alanna came off as sort of a tomboy since she was... well, disguising herself as a boy, so that introduced the wonderful friendships that I came to love in the book. I love boy-girl friendships and I love it even more when the boys aren't afraid of hurting a girl's feelings or holding back because a girl is around. Since they don't know Alanna is a girl, it really opens up the friendships to be truthful and free.
I especially enjoyed the friendship between Alanna and Jonathan. Personally, I'm hoping that will only grow throughout the books (maybe to something more!?) and their friendship just gave me all kinds of happy feels.
This book left me with feelings reminiscent of Harry Potter -- Harry arriving at Hogwarts, golden trio friendships, brave battles, and just all those happy feelings. I can't wait to read more of this series! I'm already a big fan.
Reviewed: 2016-12-21
Fans of Harry Potter, Poison Study, The Gate to Women's Country...boys and girls ages 10+
Item Posts
No posts