And I Darken (The Conqueror's Saga #1)

Kiersten White
This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story’s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters. Fans of Victoria Aveyard’s THE RED QUEEN, Kristin Cashore’s GRACELING, and Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won’t want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy.NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-07-05
Really didn't like how this one turned out, too long for the story, and just didn't like the characters overall.
Reviewed: 2019-06-17
I enjoyed this version of turning Vlad the Impaler into a woman. Still ruthless, she's not a heroine and neither is she a weak woman. She very much marches to her own drum, often choosing the darker and grittier pathway. I enjoyed the other perspective from Radu's viewpoint while they were in the Ottoman Empire. Two very different views of an empire both loathed and loved. The author was able to bring enough imagery to the settings without it being too exhaustive or superfluous. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel, Now I Rise.
Reviewed: 2018-07-04

 

I have read some of Kiersten White's other books and this one definitely does not compare to them. It for sure wasn't her best book. 
For starters, the love...triangle, maybe, idk what you call it, but whatever it is...it's pretty messed up. You have two siblings falling for the same guy, but of course Radu isn't going to catch the affections of Mehmed. For once it would be nice to have a book favor a romance between two guys. There doesn't seem to be enough. But that isn't my point. One sibling is fall head over heals for Mehmed and the other doesn't know how they feel. She has feelings, but she doesn't. One thing is for certain, they are both constantly thinking about Mehmed. He's not constantly seen throughout the whole book, but we sure do hear about him A LOT. I felt that it was little overboard.
I overall felt this book was a little boring. And a little too long. All of these singular thoughts about Mehmed just took up a lot of ink. I will read the next book, just because I am curious to see if it gets better. Hopefully, it does.
Item Posts
@amyakarcher
@amyakarcher began #andidarken... on 2019-12-11
@amyakarcher
@amyakarcher began #andidarken... on 2019-08-27
@woodsangel
@woodsangel completed #andidarken... on 2017-05-20
@lisslvesjhnny
@lisslvesjhnny completed #andidarken... on 2019-05-31
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #andidarkenbook00... on 2018-07-01
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #andidarkenbook00... on 2018-07-01
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #andidarken... on 2017-07-28
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #andidarken... on 2017-07-08
@vcw
@vcw completed #andidarken... on 2017-04-20
@dsantana3758
@dsantana3758 completed #andidarken... on 2016-08-02
@dsantana3758
@dsantana3758 began #andidarken... on 2016-07-25
@jelaplan
@jelaplan completed #andidarken... on 2016-08-30
@jelaplan
@jelaplan began #andidarken... on 2016-08-21