Saga Volume 6

Brian K Vaughan
After a dramatic time jump, the three-time Eisner Award winner for Best Continuing Series continues to evolve, as Hazel begins the most exciting adventure of her life: kindergarten. Meanwhile, her starcrossed family learns hard lessons of their own.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-07-24
Image Comics
Reviewed: 2019-06-19

I did not appreciate the time jump, with so many years Hazel lost with her family. This series also turns The Will into some fat oaf which is also a waste of a good character. It was still entertaining and kept me interested, but my least favorite volume so far.

Reviewed: 2018-09-22
So, I read what was at the time all of Saga that existed back when Vol. 5 came out, back in, dear god, 2012, and then completely failed to pick up the series against because honestly, I'm horrible at keeping up with comics. I'm actually horrible at keeping up with new releases in general. I grew up getting whatever books were available at my local library, which were mostly older series that were already completed. I only knew about new releases in series that I was following when they showed up on the "new" shelf of the library. If they never showed up on that shelf? They effectively didn't exist for this young book dragon. I was reading 3-4 books a week and got $10 in allowance once a month. I couldn't have afforded to buy even a fraction of the books I was reading... and still have money left over for candy for movie nights at my friends houses. Priorities. Middle school priorities.

But anyway! I finally remembered that Saga is a thing! I've got a ton of volumes to catch up on, and I could not be more pleased. Volume 6 in this amazing series continues to tell a real and human story with aliens that have horns, aliens that have wings, and aliens that have TVs for heads. Even though I'm familiar with the style of the story, volume 6 still continues to surprise and delight with its multi-layered story, and continues to absolutely astound me with its beautiful artwork. I absolutely love this series, and can't wait to get caught up on everything that I've been missing.

I would absolutely recommend this to anybody. Just, you know, do yourself a favor and start with Volume 1.

This review first appeared on my blog.
Reviewed: 2018-03-22
UGGGGHHHHHH I FREAKING LOVE THIS SERIES.

No other graphic novel series has drawn me in the way Saga has. The fierce characters, the give-zero-fucks parents (and the now inked-up Granny), the LGBTIQAP+ inclusion, the underlying story of racial discrimination, Ghus and Friendo (OMG THESE GUUUUUUYSSSSS), the art, the story, the freaking aliens.

Can you tell I'm a fan?

Now, this is the first Saga volume that I have NOT given 5 stars. And while on Goodreads it says 4, I would say it's really a 4.5 4.75, just because some of the best characters didn't have as much on-screen time that I wanted.

Alana and Marko (the parentals) were more background characters then the previous 5 volumes. I get that they are meandering around space AND that it means I get more time with the gorgeous little Hazel. BUT I miss those guys. But it's okay - I still got the obligatory sex scene from them.

Also Izabel wasn't around as much. I love that teenage ghostie so freaking much. I honestly want her to bond herself to me so we can be weird-ass besties.

I also really missed Sophie, Gwendolyn, and Lying Cat -The Will's sidekicks. I got super attached in Volume 5, but this volume they just completely disappeared? Apparently The Will just abandoned them. Also, he got fat.

NEW CHARACTERS THOUGH. I already LOVE Petrichor. She is potentially my new favourite character because she is just as kick-ass as Alana. And Noreen was fun. And super sweet. She can teach my children.

The ending left me wanting the next volume so bad (which is now on hold at the library) - I really don't see where the series will go from here but I have doubts it will continue to blow my mind.

Item Posts
@tmilano
@tmilano completed #sagavolume000000... on 2019-01-29
@tmilano
@tmilano began #sagavolume000000... on 2019-01-22
@amraos
@amraos completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-05-22
@amraos
@amraos began #sagavolume000000... on 2018-05-22
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-08-03
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #sagavolume000000... on 2018-08-03
@zoearabella
@zoearabella completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-02-26
@zoearabella
@zoearabella began #sagavolume000000... on 2018-02-25
@lornaflowerday
@lornaflowerday completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-05-01
@emilymcawesomep
@emilymcawesomep completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-04-02
@electricidiot
@electricidiot completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-01-31
@electricidiot
@electricidiot began #sagavolume000000... on 2018-01-30
@pterodashtyl
@pterodashtyl completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-01-12
@pterodashtyl
@pterodashtyl began #sagavolume000000... on 2018-01-11
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak completed #sagavol000000000... on 2016-11-09