Girl on the Train: A Novel, The

Paula Hawkins
The #1 New York Times Bestseller, USA Today Book of the Year, soon to be a major motion picture.   The debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives.   “Nothing is more addicting than The Girl on the Train.”—Vanity Fair “The Girl on the Train has more fun with unreliable narration than any chiller since Gone Girl. . . . [It] is liable to draw a large, bedazzled readership.”—The New York Times   “Marries movie noir with novelistic trickery. . . hang on tight. You'll be surprised by what horrors lurk around the bend.”—USA Today   “Like its train, the story blasts through the stagnation of these lives in suburban London and the reader cannot help but turn pages.”—The Boston Globe “Gone Girl fans will devour this psychological thriller.”—People      EVERY DAY THE SAME Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. UNTIL TODAY And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?        

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-01-22

It's not quite Gone Girl, but still a page turner and a quality thriller. I did sort of figure it out midway through which ruined some of the suspense.

Reviewed: 2017-02-07
It took me a few minutes to get into this book, but once I did, I couldn't put it down. Although there were occasions when the author's writing was a bit confusing, clarity usually followed. I really enjoyed the book, and I did not see the outcome coming. Although, I probably should have.
Reviewed: 2016-12-04

First, let me start off by saying I bought this as an audiobook. And I HATED it. I literally suffered through all 8 hours it took to play. Two of the main characters sounded the same so I was constantly trying to figure out or remember who was speaking and trying to keep their stories straight. Second, unless you are interested in listening to a woman struggle within herself about her alcoholism, her obsession with her ex-husband, and her bizarre fascination with a train, than this book may not be for you. The vast majority of the book consisted of the main character struggling to find answers about herself, which she never ends up finding. The last 30 minutes is the only part of the book that was exciting or interesting. If I had to do it all over again, I'd skip to the end.

Reviewed: 2016-11-25

I enjoyed this novel because it stimulated and engaged me to want to know what happens next. I would not use this novel in a High School because I found it tough to prose questions and lessons around the novel. I would encourage it as an independent read but to perform lessons I do not think it will be beneficial. The style in which it was written was interesting and I defitnitely think students would have a hard time comprehending the flow of the novel. Overall it is a fun, exciting, stimulating read but in a High School classroom, I do not reccomend. Another 21st century skill, as teachers want to teach with students is connecting it to life experiences and their own life. This novel again would be a rigorous to make connections with prior knowledge and first hand experiences. 

Item Posts
@gemini23
@gemini23 completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2018-03-14
@gemini23
@gemini23 began #girlonthetrainan... on 2018-03-01
@megster89
@megster89 completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2018-02-17
@ellamc
@ellamc completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2018-01-23
@tmilano
@tmilano completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-07-09
@tmilano
@tmilano began #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-07-07
@wellreadwoman
@wellreadwoman completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-03-08
@momof3
@momof3 completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-02-16
@alxtheforbidden
@alxtheforbidden completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2016-12-01
@cgrandolph
@cgrandolph completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-02-07
@stephmarie
@stephmarie completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-01-20
@stephmarie
@stephmarie began #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-01-19
@de267
@de267 began #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-01-13
@katemreads
@katemreads completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2016-10-02
@kaityfaye
@kaityfaye completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2016-09-19