Behind Closed Doors

B.A. Paris
The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?The debut psychological thriller you can’t miss!“A hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep you reading long into the night.” ―Mary Kubica, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Good Girl"This outstanding debut novel will leave you breathless." ―Bella"Brilliant, chilling, scary and unputdownable." ―Lesley Pearse, bestselling author of Without a Trace"This one is 2016’s answer to Gone Girl. Nuff said." ―Women’s Health UK"You’ll love this." ―The SunEveryone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do.You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.From author B. A. Paris comes a thriller and international phenomenon Behind Closed Doors."Behind Closed Doors gives us a glimpse into the realities of a "perfect marriage," with addictive and heart pounding moments guaranteed to have you looking at your friends and neighbours differently." ―Margaret Madden, Bleach House Library

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-12-18
I enjoyed the suspense. It was a bit slow to start for me, but when I realized the author wasn’t going the traditional route, I started to really get into it. The book has a good build up to the end when you discover what happened.
Reviewed: 2020-11-04
Literally one of the most chilling books I've read in a very long time!
Reviewed: 2019-09-22
This book was just.... Omg.... Holy hell! The writing was simple and straight forward, but did not lack descriptiveness... I could picture every detail from the house layout and room design to the rose garden... The anguish was palpable... And let's not forget that dinner... the perfect soufflé served with the perfect beef Wellington, perfect gratin potato, perfect honey glazed carrots and and perfect tiny sugar peas... My mouth is still watering! The story telling was so potent and the plot so twisted and tension filled that I could not put it down. The format alternates between past and present which normally drives me nuts, but in this case was so successful in giving hints as to what was going to happen. I found that this only to added to the suspense... It was gripping... And I will say again, I COULD NOT PUT THIS DOWN. The character development was excellent, from Grace to Millie, Esther to Jack... Oh Jack... Never have I felt such a visceral hatred toward a character. You were pure evil. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 * is because it was too predicable... But again it didn't hinder me from being compelled to forge ahead with ONE more chapter in the wee hours of the morning!
Reviewed: 2019-04-16
Behind Closed Doors stands out.
A nice and inteligent read.
Reviewed: 2019-02-06
So.. this is just one of those books that wasn't particularly bad, but something just didn't fully work for me. I finished it and I liked it on some level, but the story was just missing something. I wasn't feeling it, I wasn't scared for her. I just wanted to get to the ending already. Which was then rushed and also lacking a certain closure. We don't even see her go get Millie? That's kind of a missed opportunity
I think I only liked Millie and Neighbour Esther in this story.
I'm also a little suprised that people found this story thrilling and/or scary. It's more like a baby-thriller, not yet grown in to a full blown thriller and not scary at all.

I liked the idea and set up of the story. But the execution just wasn't a 5 star read for me.
Reviewed: 2018-05-07
WOW! This might have been the most thrilling book I have read in a really long time. I had been eyeing this book since it came out last year but really could not fork over $26.00 for it. So a couple of months ago I found it at Barnes and Noble in their bargain section for $5.00, so I knew I had to get it. I’m so glad I did. I will recommend this book for a really long time. This story follows newlyweds Jack and Grace who seem to have the perfect life. Jack is a lawyer and Grace is a stay at home wife. She cooks the perfect meals, she can paint and her and Jack’s marriage just seems to be flawless. They have a gorgeous house and they throw some very nice dinner parties with their friends. Grace has a sister named Millie who has Down syndrome and they will be welcoming her into their home in a short few months, after she finishes at her school. But some people are starting to get suspicious. Jack always accompanies Grace everywhere she goes. Grace remains so thin even though she makes such wonderful meals. She cancels with her friends for lunch or for coffee everytime and she never carries anything in her purse. Their house also has metal shutters on the windows and doors. So we ask ourselves: what is going on behind closed doors? I honestly can not tell you anymore of this story without giving away spoilers. But I will say that it was phenomenal. The writing made me feel like I was there in the story going through everything that was happening. It was thrilling and at times I felt a little claustrophobic. I thought the ending was amazing as well. It wrapped up so nicely but still had the thrilling, sitting on the edge of your seat feeling. If you are a fan of thrillers, pick this one up. I don’t think you will be disappointed.
Item Posts
@michellelour
@michellelour completed #behindcloseddoor... on 2017-07-06
@bratt167
@bratt167 completed #behindcloseddoor... on 2017-01-30
@bratt167
@bratt167 began #behindcloseddoor... on 2017-01-29
@nmurphy
@nmurphy completed #behindcloseddoor... on 2016-09-30