We Have Always Lived in the Castle (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

Shirley Jackson
Taking readers deep into a labyrinth of dark neurosis, We Have Always Lived in the Castle is a deliciously unsettling novel about a perverse, isolated, and possibly murderous family and the struggle that ensues when a cousin arrives at their estate.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-12-23
Memorably creepy.
Reviewed: 2021-08-19
I haven't had this much fun reading a book since I read Dracula a few summers ago. The book has some of the best tension and mood of any book that I've ever read and I loved the narration. It was a joy to read.
Reviewed: 2021-07-05
A quick read that skirts the horror/mystery genre. After just finishing, not sure I loved the plot -- was hoping there might be more to the murder mystery aspect. Does MK do it because she is jealous? Or crazy? Or both? Might be more evident on a re-read. Will be interesting to see how this plays as a movie, might be more effective for me.
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
3.98
Reviewed: 2020-08-02
Eigenwilliges, aber doch sehr gutes Buch. Stärke und Schwäche gleichzeitig sind die Dinge, die die Charaktere wissen (bzw implizieren zu wissen) aber dem Leser verborgen bleiben. Es gibt der Geschichte mystique und drive, andererseits bleiben auch einige Schlüsselereignisse unerklärt (der Arsen-Vorfall, warum das Dorf die Familie so hasst, was genau Uncle Julian wahrnimmt etc etc.) - was ich persönlich nicht besonders mag, aber hier so gut funktioniert dass ich es positiv anrechne. Die Charaktere sind wunderbar schrullig, allen voran Mary Katherine, die Erzählerin, die man zwischen Retardierung und totaler anpassungsfähigkeit an die Umstände bzw Routine die ihr leben bestimmt herumspringend einordnet. Nie wirklich langatmig aber auch nicht immer genial hält we have always lived in the castle was es verspricht - vielleicht hätte ich den 5. Stern gegeben, hätte ich nicht (unfairerweise ohne Grund) angenommen, dass das Buch etwas düsterer/grotesker wird.
Reviewed: 2020-01-31
Shirley Jackson's "We Have Always Lived in the Castle, was far more entertaining to me than her more-famous The Haunting of Hill House, and at least as thought-provoking as her short story, The Lottery. "Castle" frequently appeared on school reading lists presented to me in my bookseller days, and I can understand why. The book is excellent fodder for literary discussion! I hesitate to express too much here, lest I ruin the effect of Jackson's narrative style and the way she concludes the tale itself. Suffice to say that despite being far beyond the days of school reading lists, I was engaged from first word to last, and this book will be one I remember. I listened to the audiobook, excellently read by Bernadette Dunne.
Reviewed: 2018-04-21
Extremely intese, i barely couldread this;only in short burst. Merricat protects the remains of her family from the outside world after the rest of her family has been killed by arsenic. her cousin Charles returns disrupting their home life.
Item Posts
@mollyfaulkner
@mollyfaulkner completed #wehavealwayslive... on 2021-10-20
@jumpingshelves
@jumpingshelves completed #wehavealwayslive... on 2015-08-13
@jumpingshelves
@jumpingshelves began #wehavealwayslive... on 2015-08-10
@saklog
@saklog completed #wehavealwayslive... on 2019-01-10
@maijeff
@maijeff began #wehavealwayslive... on 2013-05-01
@maijeff
@maijeff completed #wehavealwayslive... on 2013-05-01
@elamoste
@elamoste completed #wehavealwayslive... on 2018-09-04
@elamoste
@elamoste began #wehavealwayslive... on 2018-09-01
@brennagrier
@brennagrier completed #wehavealwayslive... on 2018-08-21
@brennagrier
@brennagrier began #wehavealwayslive... on 2018-08-19
@zoearabella
@zoearabella completed #wehavealwayslive... on 2017-10-30
@zoearabella
@zoearabella began #wehavealwayslive... on 2017-10-29
@pixielesher
@pixielesher completed #wehavealwayslive... on 2017-10-17
@pixielesher
@pixielesher began #wehavealwayslive... on 2017-10-16
@mason
@mason completed #wehavealwayslive... on 2017-01-06