Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Parts One and Two (Harry Potter

John Tiffany
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn't much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son, Albus, must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: Sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.The playscript for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was originally released as a "special rehearsal edition" alongside the opening of Jack Thorne's play in London's West End in summer 2016. Based on an original story by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne, the play opened to rapturous reviews from theatergoers and critics alike, while the official playscript became an immediate global bestseller.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-02-26
I was a bit scared when I started it cause I know a lot of fans had been disappointment. Maybe because of my low expectations, I enjoyed it thoughtfully. I get how it can be disappointing, it is very different from the books, and it obviously hasn't been written by Rowling, but for me it brought the characters back to life.
Reviewed: 2019-04-20
This Drarry fanfiction reader had no complaints.
Reviewed: 2019-02-06
3/5 stars? I'm not sure.

I kind of liked the direction of the story from about 30%. The part before that is just massively depressing. It's also depressing after that though and didn't really leave me with happy feelings. It's nothing like the bookseries.

That would be fine, except that it just falls a bit flat. I miss a bit more character building and information. They never really become 'real' characters. They remain 'thin' and distant

I kind of wished this series would have been left alone, it ended it perfectly on it's own. All the characters haven't really turned out how I'd hoped.

Was it something different and daring? Yes. But I would've enjoyed it more if it just wasn't so depressing and had a little more depth to it.

I'm curious how they transfer some of these concepts to the stage, it'll probably tale a lot of special effects.
Reviewed: 2018-10-06
4
Reviewed: 2018-02-12
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Book Added to TBR: IT'S REALLY HAPPENING!! And release day on Harry's birthday! Cheeky. I like it.

Initial Impressions 8/4/16: Hmmm I'm not sure what I want to rate this. It was kind of all over the place for me. The overall plot was interesting and I really, really loved certain parts. Obviously it was a unique experience reading it as a script and I think it lost a LOT. Less atmosphere, less dialogue, less development. I didn't feel like the characters were well-represented? Maybe because they're so much older... But a lot of them felt far off from their younger counter-parts (although I've changed exponentially since I was 17 so... Fair enough) but I hated that Ron came off the way he did. He was such a lump and a putz with little personality and essentially was Hermione's lesser half. Hermione was a stronger personality, as she usually is, but I feel like she lost a lot of her logic and wisdom... How do you LOSE wisdom over the years? Harry was always a bit all over the place for me so that was about the same and Ginny was a total movie Ginny, not book Ginny. Ugh. There was a weird sexual tension between the Albus and Scorpius (was that just me? Them always commenting on the hugging thing?) and I honestly thought it was going to be revealed that one had a crush on the other, which would have been fine expect for the fact that it didn't and I was confused by them always bringing up hugging and the deep friendship feelings which sounded almost romantic. Maybe I was reading too much into that because I was looking for more depth! There were also a few characters from the series who make appearances (though I won't reveal who they were) and some were AWESOME and some were confusing, to say the least.

Honestly, some of it was so much fun. Parts made me cry. Some made me laugh. But I also had moments where I scratched my head, questioned a lot, and even laughed out loud (not in a good way). Some of it was suuuuper cheesy and I can see why people said it read as fanfic. I think the fact that it was a rehearsal copy of a script really had a part in that too. You lose so much when you're not READING reactions, nuances, and tone of voice. Some of that is included but the atmosphere is greatly lost because of the format. So much is shown through the scenery and the acting (I imagine) that is not needed to include in a script, and I'm sure there are so many notes that aren't included to keep the book from being endless amounts of scenery and character notes.

The overall plot was... a really interesting concept but seemingly poorly executed. This was like cramming multiple books into one book (or I suppose, one play) and concepts were sort of flying all over the place. It was really fun to see things from the original series turn up but other times, the references back to the original series was very cheesy or just plain inaccurate. (Small inaccuracies, in my opinion but it's Harry freakin' Potter. You don't think the fandom will pick up on this, you guys??)

I mean, obviously this was specifically adapted for a play and that's how they wanted to tell this story... But I really, really wish it had been developed into an actual book instead of just giving us the rehearsal script. There was so much more of this story to tell! Things would have been a lot less cheesy if they had been developed or explained. (Although some things I'll never get over. They were just weird.) Everything felt really, really rushed and I would have rather had a simpler plot with more development instead of bursting from scene to scene. There was no time to really absorb anything and that also left very little room for character development. I don't care if we already know the majority of these characters -- they still need to have a personality.

So great to see the future for Harry Potter but I just really feel a little let down by a short story. Overall, it felt messy and rushed and after sleeping on it, I think I'm left more disappointed than excited about the development. I would have loved to see this really developed in a novel or in a series. We needed so much more time with Albus to understand him a little better. I would have loved to see this great friendship between the two boys and their complicated friendship with Rose (oh, and don't get me started about her role in the end of the book. An even cheesier way to wrap things up. Yay). I always love more time at Hogwarts. I would have loved to see those little clues along the way to the big reveal. I was okay with what the plot WAS but it really just needed way more development. I kind of feel like if it can't be done well, best to leave it alone.

I guess beggars can't be choosers!

Now can we have an Ilvermorny series pretty please?

Full and organized review as originally posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 8/16/16: Obviously there are a lot of mixed emotions before starting the infamous eighth Harry Potter book. Naturally I was excited — because it’s Harry freakin’ Potter — but I also just didn’t quite feel as excited as I thought I should be. Before picking up the bound version of the play (since I guess we really shouldn’t be calling it a book as it was never intended to be an actual book), I knew there were a few things that were hindering my excitement that I ultimately expected to affect my overall enjoyment of the experience (and in fact, they all did play a part in that). I knew that J.K. Rowling was involved in the plot and creation of CURSED CHILD, but ultimately, it was not her writing on the page. I knew that I was going to be reading a rehearsal script for the play and that the formatting might throw off my experience. And I knew that I’d be reading about adult Harry, Ron, Hermione, and company and I didn’t know if I’d like where their characters were in their adult lives since we had some pretty cheesy things happen in the epilogue of DEATHLY HALLOWS, and that actually was J.K. Rowling’s writing.

The short version of this review is that CURSED CHILD was kind of all over the place for me. The overall plot was interesting and I really, really loved certain parts but other parts of it just seemed so… I guess amateur is the best word I can think of at the moment, although that seems quite harsh. We’ve grown to love J.K. Rowling’s stories and how detailed they are and there were just certain things about CURSED CHILD that didn’t seem like they were plotted out very well. Other parts seemed completely random and totally uncharacteristic of the series. The overall concept of this story of the next generation was a really interesting concept but seemingly poorly executed. This was like cramming multiple books into one book (or I suppose, one play) and concepts were sort of flying all over the place. It was really fun to see things from the original series turn up but other times, the references back to the original series was very cheesy or just plain inaccurate. Small inaccuracies in some parts (it was “Happee Birthdae” not “Happy Birthday”), and some big timeline disagreements in others but it’s Harry freakin’ Potter. You don’t think the fandom will pick up on these? (They totally did.) It was just things like that that really made me feel like this was sloppily put together and that these playwrights who put the CURSED CHILD play together were missing some really core feelings and elements of the series.

I knew that I was going to be reading a script when I started and it was definitely a unique experience but I think the format lost a LOT in translation. There was less atmosphere, less dialogue, and less development which obviously you’ll get through the actors of the play and you won’t see in a rehearsal script. I just felt like I lost so much not READING those reactions, nuances, tone of voice, sensory descriptions — I mean, really a little of everything that brings the world of Harry Potter to life. Some of that is included in the script notes but the atmosphere is greatly lost because of the format. I mean, obviously this was specifically adapted for a play and that’s how they wanted to tell this story… But I really, really wish it had been developed into an actual book instead of just giving us the rehearsal script. There was so much more of this story to tell! Things would have been a lot less cheesy if they had been developed or explained. (Although some things I’ll never get over. They were just weird.) Everything felt really, really rushed and I would have rather had a simpler plot with more development instead of bursting from scene to scene. There was no time to really absorb anything and that also left very little room for character development. I don’t care if we already know the majority of these characters — they still need to have a personality.

I also didn’t feel like the characters were well-represented at all. Part of it may be because they’re so much older… But a lot of them felt far off from their younger counter-parts (although I’ve changed exponentially since I was 17 so… fair enough in some respects) but I hated that Ron came off the way he did. He was such a lump and a putz with little personality and he was essentially was Hermione’s lesser half. Hermione was a stronger personality, as she usually is, but I feel like even she lost a lot of her logic and wisdom… How do you LOSE wisdom over the years? Harry was always a bit all over the place for me so that was about the same and Ginny was a total movie Ginny, not book Ginny. (Ugh.) The main adult characters (the aforementioned) seemed so stiff and one-dimensional which is hard to bear after spending a full series with them, reading the series multiple times, and watching the movies over and over. We know these characters. They are our childhood. They are our friends. We grew up with them. To see them underdeveloped and misrepresented in a sequel like this just felt so uncaring. There were also a few characters from the series who make appearances (though I won’t reveal who they were) and some were AWESOME and some were confusing, to say the least.
There was a weird sexual tension between the Albus and Scorpius (which I thought was just me at first but there are tons of THINGS all over Buzzfeed and Tumblr about this so I’m not alone) and I honestly thought it was going to be revealed that one had a crush on the other, or that they both shared romantic feelings. That would have been fine expect for the fact that it didn’t happen and I was confused by them always bringing up hugging and the deep friendship feelings which when described really sounded like something more than just a deep platonic friendship bond.

It was so great to see the future for Harry Potter but I just really feel a little let down by a short story. Some of it was so much fun. Parts made me cry. Some made me laugh. But I also had moments where I scratched my head, questioned a lot, and even laughed out loud (not in a good way). Some of it was suuuuper cheesy and I can see why people said it read as fanfic. Overall, it felt messy and rushed and the more I think about it and discuss it, the more I realize that I’m more disappointed than excited about the development. I would have loved to see this really developed in a novel or in a series. We needed so much more time with Albus to understand him a little better. I would have loved to see this great friendship between the two boys and their complicated friendship with Rose (oh, and don’t get me started about her role in the end of the book. An even cheesier way to wrap things up. Yay). I always love more time at Hogwarts. I would have loved to see those little clues along the way to the big reveal. I was okay with what the plot WAS (except for some parts) but it really just needed way more development. I kind of feel like if it can’t be done well, best to leave it alone, and I don’t think CURSED CHILD did justice to this series at all.

We did beg for an eighth book though… so I guess beggars can’t be choosers?

But now can we beg for an Ilvermorny series, pretty please? (Will I ever learn my lesson?)
Reviewed: 2017-11-26
220
Reviewed: 2017-09-26
Something different than the other ones but not at all boring to read and even worth 3 stars, while I'm not at all a fan of Pottermania.
Reviewed: 2017-04-03
I appreciate Rowling not just because she gave us Harry, but also because she is an excellent writer--like, good at the craft as well as the inspiration. Casual Vacancy? Loved it!

I bring this up because it was pretty clear to me that she was not the wordsmith of Cursed Child, and I wish she had been. That might have bumped my rating up to 5. That said, LOVE!!!!!!! So nice to dive into a new, rich, meaningful Harry Potter story again.
Reviewed: 2016-10-04
No. Just... No. That 1 star is because of Scorpius. That's it. Ugh.
Item Posts
@wuhib
@wuhib began #harrypotterandth... on 2019-08-24
@hibam
@hibam completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-11-30
@yazou
@yazou completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-09-14
@electricidiot
@electricidiot completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-10
@electricidiot
@electricidiot began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-05
@proposewithoreo
@proposewithoreo completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-01
@luanch
@luanch completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-09-06
@misskaelyn
@misskaelyn completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-31
@misskaelyn
@misskaelyn began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-31