Girl in Pieces

Kathleen Glasgow
For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a novel Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything, calls "a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page."     Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.    Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.   A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from."A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page." —Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-01-26
I had a difficult time with this book. I haven't been in Charlotte's position (I don't think many have), but I have suffered from major depression and anxiety disorder. To be perfectly honest, this book was triggering not because it dealt with dark issues but because it lacked hope or any light. It was so freaking dark that it was suffocating, like the author wanted you to feel the crappiness of everyone and everything combined. I had to keep putting it down because it physically hurt to be made to feel so downtrodden and hopeless about life. This book also reminded how the medical system in America fails to take care of its mentally ill youth. Charlotte was 17, living on her own with basically no support after a suicide attempt. She was basically chucked out the psych ward because of no money and was put into the hands of one of her abusers. Like NO WAY is this acceptable. She should have been on a mental health care plan that made sure she was looked after by her country. But no, because of no support from her country, state or family, she has to keep struggling to find peace in a world that is constantly trying to crush her. This book is really fucking depressing and aggravating.
Item Posts
@kennedianne
@kennedianne completed #girlinpieces... on 2018-01-30
@kennedianne
@kennedianne began #girlinpieces... on 2018-01-18
@dolphin
@dolphin completed #girlinpieces... on 2016-10-10
@dolphin
@dolphin began #girlinpieces... on 2016-10-07