Bookshop on the Corner: A Novel, The

Jenny Colgan
Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop.“Losing myself in Jenny Colgan’s beautiful pages is the most delicious, comforting, satisfying treat I have had in ages.”—Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of Summer SecretsNina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion… and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more. Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van and transforms it into a bookmobile—a mobile bookshop that she drives from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling.  From helping her grumpy landlord deliver a lamb, to sharing picnics with a charming train conductor who serenades her with poetry, Nina discovers there’s plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that’s beginning to feel like home… a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-01-22

This book was so good. I got it thinking it would be a cute, quick read -- which it was but it was also so much more. Nina is ME! My dream is to own a bookstore that matches the perfect book to each customer, and to be successful enough to loan books to customers like Nina wished to do. And I didn't think I could love Scotland anymore than I already did, but this book made me fall in love even more. My dream is to become Nina, except I already have my guy.

Reviewed: 2019-04-15

I would never have finished this were it not for a commitment made to a family member. It wasn't nearly as boring as I'd predicted. It was definitely as predictable as I feared. I knew within minutes what would happen in every instance. It's a dreamy idea that is far more romantic than any real life. The romance was predictable and the whole story rather pissed me off: she's supposed to be a realistic figure against all the books filled with people who go off and find new lives. Well, this is a storybook about a woman who with zero real hurdles who manages to totally uproot her life and finds a perfect new life in a new place --amazingly having enough money and perfect luck. It just made me angry, actually, until I realized it fulfilled a challenge I'm doing, so I'm a bit less annoyed, but I wouldn't recommend this very "ok" book. 

Item Posts
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters completed #bookshoponthecor... on 2020-01-20
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters began #bookshoponthecor... on 2020-01-13
@ellamc
@ellamc completed #bookshoponthecor... on 2019-04-14
@ellamc
@ellamc began #bookshoponthecor... on 2019-04-14
@tomespecter
@tomespecter began #bookshoponthecor... on 2019-01-30
@laceystefan
@laceystefan completed #bookshoponthecor... on 2018-08-18