Fault in Our Stars, The

John Green
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love. Opens in theaters on June 6, 2014 TODAY Book Club pick TIME Magazine’s #1 Fiction Book of 2012 -Millions of copies sold-   #1 New York Times Bestseller #1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller #1 USA Today Bestseller #1 International Bestseller #1 Indie Bestseller

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-02-06
It's been a little while since I read this book and I don't remember all the details. But I don't really understand why everybody is falling head over heels with this book.

During the entire book I didn't really 'feel' the story. I read it, the story itself seems heartfelt and sad, but somehow I just wasnt feeling it. I didn't feel the love between them, I didn't feel sad about Gus and the book just didn't touch me. Maybe I'm just getting to old for these types of teen books.

I didn't really care for the story about the book and the trip to Amsterdam. Though it was a nice touch, since I live very close to Amsterdam and the Netherlands don't appear in books that often.

It was a sort of nice read, but I didn't love it and I really disliked how it didn't have a real ending. Even though I think it was meant to be an ending like the one in the book they both loved, it still annoyed me.
Reviewed: 2018-12-30
John Green delivers some very good dialogues about the purpose and ultimate brevity of life, mingled with fleeting moments of character development and depth. Alas, the novel falls flat in its characterization of Augustus and the stumbling, scattered way Hazel exists. Not changes, but exists. Hazel is the most frustrating character in the book because Augustus brings out all the worst things about her and smothers nearly everything that makes her interesting, not to mention the infamous "kissing at Anne Frank's memorial" scene along with far too many insensitively worded at best lines and a choppy plot in the way that a weed whacker's cut job is choppy: messy and disappointing.
Reviewed: 2018-09-28
A lovely read and recommendation by my beautiful 13 year old daughter, who I love dearly.
Reviewed: 2018-07-18
Kept me thinking and crying till the last page. More like a 4.5 but i rounded down.
Reviewed: 2018-07-11

I am sure I cried the amount that I did because I was listening to some one read it instead of reading it myself. But I cried like a baby through a lot of it. This is a good thing.

This is the kind of book that I want to read many times in my life.

Reviewed: 2017-07-10

What is there to say about this book but that it was beautiful and tragic and I don't know how I got through the last of this book without throwing it across the room

Reviewed: 2017-03-18
John Green has the supranormal ability to break your heart with finesse. It hurts and feels good at the same time.

Me: Oh my Goooood. (dabbing my face with a tissue)
Hubby: Are you crying? Wait, you are cr–why are you crying??
Me: This is such a sad book.
Hubby: Well…that’s when you know it’s a good book, right? When you burst into tears.

True, but The Fault In Our Stars is not just a sad book. There is so much right–no, amazing–about this book, that it’s hard to know where to start. In the first chapter, I couldn’t count how many times I laughed out loud. John Green is not just intelligent; he is uncommonly witty, and the humor he infuses into the main characters makes the book a brilliantly entertaining read.

I love that he doesn’t dumb down the teenage main characters. Both Hazel and Augustus (Gus) are insightful and intellectual, confusing even the adults around them. I learned so much from their offbeat ramblings and monologues.

A catalyst for many of the characters’ conversations and actions is the fictional book An Imperial Affliction, written by fictional author, Peter Van Houten. Hazel is beyond obsessed with the book and brings Gus into her crazed fan club. They want nothing more than to find out what happens to the main characters because the book ends in mid-sentence.

Their obsession at one point made me want to scream, “Stop reading that book!” But they don’t stop. They end up traveling to Amsterdam to meet the reclusive one-time author, who you could call a major disappointment. I don’t want to give too much away, so let’s say that Hazel and Gus find other ways to make their trip worthwhile (marijuana not included).

I love how the characters fall in love. And I love that Hazel knows Gus so well that when his body has almost given up on him, she doesn’t treat him like a child like everybody else does. She remains her cynical, opinionated self, not giving him any special treatment, and Gus appreciates that.

I’ve known people who have died from cancer, but no one close to me. The kind of pain that enshrouds such an experience is impossible to replicate in the pages of a book. But I did experience a sense of loss through Green’s incredible storytelling, and it’s a loss that I hope to never experience in reality.

Yes, it is a book about cancer, but it’s also a book about all of us, and about time. From the epigraph in the novel:

As the tide washed in, the Dutch Tulip Man faced the ocean: “Conjoinder rejoinder poisoner concealer revelator. Look at it, rising up and rising down, taking everything with it.”
“What’s that?” I asked.
“Water,” the Dutchman said. “Well, and time.”
–Peter Van Houten, An Imperial Affliction


I can only end by saying I highly highly recommend this book. Expect to cry and laugh till your sides hurt.
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
I'm sad to say I didn't sob during the latter half of this book (I got a little teary, though). I guess I really have rotted my brain reading too much Nicholas Sparks junk (I kept thinking how this book is so much like "A Walk to Remember" and yet SO NOT). John Green just makes sadness so damn witty that I laugh instead of cry, and then just tell myself that this book is so damn sad.

Green is a very smart man. He uses a lot of big words (are you allowed to do that in YA?) and he's aware of every trope in our literature and has made it his personal agenda to smash all those tropes to pieces. Which is great.

My only complaint would be, after also reading "Looking for Alaska," that Green doesn't know how to diversify the voices of his main teen-aged characters. Sure, they all have slightly different views of the world, but the way they actually speak isn't so terribly different. They're all just hands-down wit-generating machines.
Reviewed: 2015-11-28
For those of you living in a cave without access to internet or television, The Fault in Our Stars is about 2 teenagers living with and dying of cancer. It's sad. Not sad enough to make me cry, shockingly, because I love to cry at sad books and movies. Out of Africa makes me sob hard enough to throw myself on the couch wailing. But I digress.

If you don't know the story, I refuse to spoil it for you. Just read it. It's pretty good. And I have read the criticisms that Hazel and Augustus don't talk or act like typical teenagers. It's because they aren't. They are dying, they are a little bit hipster, and they have been forced to look their own mortality in the eye and deal with it. I can't imagine what that would feel like at 16, and I would bet neither can you. Their witty banter and interesting conversations are what kept me from the eye rolling, honestly. The part that bugged me most was her father. Please stop crying about everything around your daughter. Man up, dude. She's the one dying. It struck me as incredibly selfish.

TL:DR. Cancer sucks, and this book is sad.
Reviewed: 2014-06-17

I really liked the way the narrator used her words. The relationship between Hazel and Augustus seemed a little too easy at times, but then again relationships are a lot easier when you're young. The characters all felt real and well-developed, and I liked spending time with them.

Item Posts
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #faultinourstarst... on 2013-08-13
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #faultinourstarst... on 2013-08-07
@meekle
@meekle completed #faultinourstarst... on 2016-11-28
@meekle
@meekle began #faultinourstarst... on 2016-11-28
@chrisquick
@chrisquick completed #faultinourstarst... on 2015-12-22
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #faultinourstarst... on 2012-07-10
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak completed #faultinourstarst... on 2013-06-14
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak began #faultinourstarst... on 2013-05-30
@attawaykl
@attawaykl completed #faultinourstarst... on 2014-06-07
@attawaykl
@attawaykl began #faultinourstarst... on 2014-06-07
@megoblein
@megoblein completed #faultinourstarst... on 2014-04-16
@megoblein
@megoblein began #faultinourstarst... on 2014-04-13
@madelynbrouwer
@madelynbrouwer completed #faultinourstarst... on 2014-02-03
@madelynbrouwer
@madelynbrouwer began #faultinourstarst... on 2014-01-05
@livloves
@livloves completed #faultinourstarst... on 2014-04-04