Silkworm (A Cormoran Strike Novel), The

Robert Galbraith
When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, Mrs. Quine just thinks her husband has gone off by himself for a few days-as he has done before-and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home. But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine's disappearance than his wife realizes. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were to be published, it would ruin lives-meaning that there are a lot of people who might want him silenced. When Quine is found brutally murdered under bizarre circumstances, it becomes a race against time to understand the motivation of a ruthless killer, a killer unlike any Strike has encountered before... A compulsively readable crime novel with twists at every turn, THE SILKWORM is the second in the highly acclaimed series featuring Cormoran Strike and his determined young assistant, Robin Ellacott.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-04-21
She writes a very solid whodunnit that keeps you reading to the end
Reviewed: 2016-08-26
3.75 of 5, audiobook review[return][return]http://www.3rsblog.com/2014/08/audiobook-talk-silkworm-by-robert-galbraith-jk-rowling.html
Reviewed: 2016-07-08
Funny how after Harry Potter, J. K. Rowling keeps writing about miserable and/or horrible people.
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
Another great installment of this series. I really hope she keeps writing these, because they are good. Sometimes a bit slow, but they are well-plotted, well-written, and interesting mysteries. I still really love the two main characters, and I love how their working relationship is growing and how they are both growing independently as well. Good stuff.

Once again I could feel JKR's style all over this book, but it's one of those things that I think I notice because I know it's there, rather than spotting one writer's similarity to another's style - something that is a kind of theme in this book about a writer who's gone missing. Not a popular guy, that writer... pissed off some people. All the people. But hey, the job's to find him, and Strike does his job.

There was also a bit of a theme with gay, transgendered, and hermaphroditic people, as well as some hetero BDSM stuff, though these were not necessarily portrayed in the best light. (Though, I don't think that really anyone/anything in this book besides the two mains could claim to be portrayed in any kind of positive light, to be fair.) It seemed to me that every mention of anything regarding sexuality was intended - by the characters bringing it up, not the author - to be derogatory. I appreciated how completely irrelevant it was to Strike and his single-minded determination to get to the truth and not be waylaid by rumors and gossip and ugliness. It wasn't something that grossed him out or made him less inclined to do his job, or which prejudiced him against anyone. I felt like it was, to him, just part of what made them who they were... which is how it should be.

One of my favorite things about Cormoran is his intuitiveness and subtlety and deft hand when interacting with people. He's a big galoot, or looks it anyway, but he's anything but when he's working, and he knows how to deal with people. I like the giant teddy bear type - but I don't think that Cormoran really falls in that category. He isn't brutal... neither is he a big softie. He's just a guy who has learned how to interact with people who find him intimidating for a variety of reasons. That's commendable to me, that he has that kind of understanding and empathy.

He doesn't always SHOW it. Sometimes he's a bit too single minded... but it is there and I like it.

I also quite liked how Robin came more into her own in this book. I liked her in the first book, but she was new and not quite sure of herself. She was far more confident and outspoken in this book, and I appreciated that. Though I do think that she put up with far more than I would have from her betrothed. Pfft.

I'm looking forward to see what they work on next.
Reviewed: 2015-11-28
I am really enjoying this series. I love both Cormoran and Robin, and can't wait to read about their next big case.

I enjoyed The Silkworm a bit more than The Cuckoo's Calling. I feel the characters were better developed, and the mystery had great twists and turns. In fact, I thought I knew "whodunit" for 3/4 of the book and was surprised by the ending, and the clues I had missed along the way.

I really enjoy Cormoran, and my only complaint is I don't get insights into what he is necessarily feeling. Some of the sections were leaving us in the dark by design (Robin's mysterious errand, for example) but I do want to know a bit about his motivations.

Also, I am dearly hoping we have heard the last of his terrible ex-fiance. She is absolutely the world's worst. Please put that to bed and leave her in the past. More of Al, though. Let's dig into the family stuff a bit to give us more insights into Strike.

Looking forward to reading book #3. This may become one of my favorite private detective series.
Reviewed: 2015-04-07
Rowling continues to impress me. She's got a good set-up for her series: Cormoran has an elaborate backstory, Robin has an elaborate backstory, and they both have somewhat complicated romantic lives during the events of the book (by way of contrast, we never learn much about Marple or Poirot as people outside of their detection). And then she comes up with a complicated plot about publishing, a white male dominated business about which she surely knows a great deal, at all levels. And on top of that, she has this Dickensian interest and sympathy for characters of all classes and circumstances, most especially, perhaps, for those who aren't normally treated with compassion.

While I'm handing her props for her mastery of the form, I should mention that even though I guessed the murderer pretty early on, the way she set up her final confrontation kept me riveted. As a work of genre it's quite good, really richly developed, atmospheric, but it should also appeal as a novel to readers who aren't otherwise particularly interested in mysteries. Casual Vacancy didn't really grab me, but this series shows that Rowling isn't just a one-trick-pony.

Library copy.
Reviewed: 2015-02-01

Yep, still hooked. Perhaps THE SILKWORM wasn't as enjoyable to read as THE CUCKOO'S CALLING (that may because of the subject matter: publishing AND gore), but the mystery was still fantastic and I love the relationship between Cormoran and Robin.

Item Posts
@alex1024
@alex1024 completed #silkwormacormora... on 2018-12-02 00:00:00
@alex1024
@alex1024 began #silkwormacormora... on 2018-11-25 00:00:00
@attawaykl
@attawaykl completed #silkwormacormora... on 2015-11-27
@attawaykl
@attawaykl began #silkwormacormora... on 2015-09-15
@aylai
@aylai completed #silkwormacormora... on 2016-06-26
@aylai
@aylai began #silkwormacormora... on 2016-06-13
@aprildralle
@aprildralle completed #silkwormacormora... on 2014-07-30