Silkworm, The

Robert Galbraith
When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, Mrs. Quine just thinks her husband has gone off by himself for a few days-as he has done before-and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home. But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine's disappearance than his wife realizes. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were to be published, it would ruin lives-meaning that there are a lot of people who might want him silenced. When Quine is found brutally murdered under bizarre circumstances, it becomes a race against time to understand the motivation of a ruthless killer, a killer unlike any Strike has encountered before... A compulsively readable crime novel with twists at every turn, THE SILKWORM is the second in the highly acclaimed series featuring Cormoran Strike and his determined young assistant, Robin Ellacott.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-04-21
She writes a very solid whodunnit that keeps you reading to the end
Reviewed: 2016-08-26
3.75 of 5, audiobook review[return][return]http://www.3rsblog.com/2014/08/audiobook-talk-silkworm-by-robert-galbraith-jk-rowling.html
Reviewed: 2015-11-28
I am really enjoying this series. I love both Cormoran and Robin, and can't wait to read about their next big case.

I enjoyed The Silkworm a bit more than The Cuckoo's Calling. I feel the characters were better developed, and the mystery had great twists and turns. In fact, I thought I knew "whodunit" for 3/4 of the book and was surprised by the ending, and the clues I had missed along the way.

I really enjoy Cormoran, and my only complaint is I don't get insights into what he is necessarily feeling. Some of the sections were leaving us in the dark by design (Robin's mysterious errand, for example) but I do want to know a bit about his motivations.

Also, I am dearly hoping we have heard the last of his terrible ex-fiance. She is absolutely the world's worst. Please put that to bed and leave her in the past. More of Al, though. Let's dig into the family stuff a bit to give us more insights into Strike.

Looking forward to reading book #3. This may become one of my favorite private detective series.
Item Posts
@500booksblog
@500booksblog completed #silkwormthe... on 2019-02-24
@500booksblog
@500booksblog began #silkwormthe... on 2019-02-18
@alex1024
@alex1024 completed #silkwormacormora... on 2018-12-02
@alex1024
@alex1024 began #silkwormacormora... on 2018-11-25
@attawaykl
@attawaykl completed #silkwormacormora... on 2015-11-27
@attawaykl
@attawaykl began #silkwormacormora... on 2015-09-15
@aylai
@aylai completed #silkwormacormora... on 2016-06-26
@aylai
@aylai began #silkwormacormora... on 2016-06-13
@aprildralle
@aprildralle completed #silkwormacormora... on 2014-07-30