Me Before You

Jojo Moyes
Look out for Jojo’s new book, Still Me, the next book featuring Louisa Clark from Me Before You and After You, coming soon! They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . . Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is. Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living. A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-04-13
A tissue book that wraps you in a warm blanket
Reviewed: 2016-11-26

Me Before You came to me through a recommendation. Since I had read Jojo Moyes work in the past and enjoyed it, I picked up a copy and eagerly engrossed myself in it.

It wasn’t hard to stay absorbed. First, I enjoy Moyes voice and writing style. She is proficient in creating characters with their own identity. I didn’t like all of the characters, but that is a positive. Every character being likable would grow boring after a while, the same as if each person we met had the same personality. Will’s mother, Camille is a tight ass. Yes, we feel for what she is going through because let’s face it, almost every parent in the world would rather go through something horrific than to see our child go through it. I understand where she is coming from, but she didn’t have to be such an arse about it.

I loved Will, and like Lou, I would have done everything but move the earth to stop what was going to happen. (Trying not to give spoilers). It was a different kind of love story, and I can see why it was made into a major motion picture.

I had the advantage of hearing about the sequel, which I believe is called After You, so I am not compelled to run out and buy it. I was also told about the movie. From what I understand, the movie was very good, but – it lacked one crucial scene. I am told that the scene in the maze between Will and Lou was not included in the movie. I feel that was a mistake because it is within that scene (in the book) where they learn each other’s reasons for ‘why’. Why he is intent on carrying out his wish, and why she is the way she is. It is alluded to in the movie, but including the scene would have been much better.

Again, I enjoyed the book very much, and would highly recommend it. Buy it for the story, read it for the style. In a distinct voice, Jojo Moyes writes a tragic love story in the vein of Nicholas Sparks.

Reviewed: 2016-05-20
Me Before You was a book that came highly recommended. Everyone that I knew who had already read it raved about how wonderful yet heart wrenching the story was, and this high praise had a profound effect on my expectations for this novel. I imagined needing some time to be consumed by the story; the main situation is not one about which I would normally read extensively, so I expected a slow start building up to a rousing (and emotional) conclusion. I could not have been more wrong. Moyes' prose captured me from the first words of the prologue, and I read voraciously from start to finish. The moments in which I had to put down the novel to complete my daily obligations were torturous. All I could think about was returning to the story of Will and Lou. The characters were incredibly well-developed and three-dimensional; I had no problem believing that Will, Lou, Nathan or any of the other characters could exist. Moyes' characters remind you of friends you have or people you may have met. The emotions that Lou experiences throughout the book are mirrored in the reader's own opinions. At first, frustration with Will's refusal to be civil, then the development of respect and admiration, and finally love. After finishing the story, I found myself completely engrossed in their world, and would absolutely rank Me Before You among the best novels I have read in my lifetime. You will laugh, cry, mourn and grow with Lou as she takes this journey and finds herself, and the story will stay with you long after you've turned the last page. 5 of 5 stars.
Item Posts
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak completed #mebeforeyou... on 2016-08-02
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak began #mebeforeyou... on 2016-03-20
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #mebeforeyou... on 2016-05-26
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #mebeforeyou... on 2016-05-18
@gmbs
@gmbs completed #mebeforeyou... on 2018-04-13
@gmbs
@gmbs began #mebeforeyou... on 2018-04-09
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 completed #mebeforeyouanove... on 2018-02-18
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 began #mebeforeyouanove... on 2018-02-16
@megoblein
@megoblein completed #mebeforeyouanove... on 2016-04-19
@megoblein
@megoblein began #mebeforeyouanove... on 2016-04-14
@alyssagibson6
@alyssagibson6 began #mebeforeyouanove... on 2018-01-12
@alyssagibson6
@alyssagibson6 began #mebeforeyouanove... on 2018-01-12
@caityreads11
@caityreads11 completed #mebeforeyouanove... on 2016-08-28
@katemreads
@katemreads completed #mebeforeyouanove... on 2016-03-06
@mason
@mason completed #mebeforeyouanove... on 2016-07-04