Fangirl

Rainbow Rowell
In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life--and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving.Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go. She doesn't want to.Now that they're going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn't want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She's got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can't stop worrying about her dad, who's loving and fragile and has never really been alone.For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-12-26
I haven’t read this in while, but I remember that it was very relatable, making me love to read it.
Reviewed: 2017-07-10

Love love love this book. I read this while I myself was going into college and so it became way too relatable. I don't have a twin but I felt her pain at being separated from her sister because I experienced something similar with my best friend. It was comforting to have a character to relate to while I feared all the things that came with being away from home living on a campus where I was expected to figure things out on my own. 

Reviewed: 2017-06-25

"It was better than nothing and more manageable than everything."

Finally read a Rainbow Rowell book and was not disappointed. As someone who learned a lot about writing through fanfiction, this felt like a reasoned story exploring the pros and cons of that. Full of zingers. I mean, I could do with less descriptions of Levi's hair and smile and whatever. But you can't win everything, now can you? Just most of the thing.

Overall: This is the Hunger Games, if the Hunger Games was about happy endings. Which it's not. At all. I mean. A little bit, I guess.

Reviewed: 2016-09-20
Such a great read! I'm normally not a big fan of contemporaries. I'm more of a sci-fi/fantasy/adventure reader. But this. Wow! I heard so many great things about Fangirl so I had pretty high expectations and I was not disappointed at all. I really identified with Cath. While reading Fangirl it felt like I was reading about myself. It was strange yet slightly comforting. Cath's experience as a freshman in college was exactly what I experienced thorough out middle school, high school and my first year at college. Insecurities and all. I've grown out of it a bit and matured, but I guess the reason why reading Fangirl felt comforting is because I had a sense of nostalgia. It made me want to tear up. :) Cath's relationship with her twin sister Wren was another thing I identified a lot with. My sister and I weren't as close as Wren and Cath while growing up. But my sister had more friends and was the social butterfly like Wren. I was like Cath. I didn't like to go to parties. (hell, I still don't.) I never liked to sit by myself. I didn't like to ask questions if I needed help with something, etc. Levi was a great character. He's known for always having a smile or grin on his face and somehow, through the pages, it was contagious. Anytime he'd get mentioned I started smiling or just outright cheesing. His relationship with Cath was adorable. Their interactions are funny and there are some pretty awesome quotes. This was just such a great coming of age story and Cath's character growth was just superb!
Reviewed: 2016-05-31

Cath and her twin sister Wren have always been inseparable until they go to college, and Wren decides that she needs some space. Cath, a neurotic, reclusive fanfic writer, is lost and overwhelmed by this new world. The book is mostly about Cath learning to cope with and even enjoy life outside of her family and her fandom, with a hefty dose of sweet romance. I’ve heard relentless praise for this book, and while I did enjoy it, I wasn’t amazed by it. There are a lot of subplots, but near the end of the book many of the subplots get pushed aside in favor of the romance. The romance was charming, but I wanted to know about the other aspects of Cath’s life too instead of just having it taken over by a boy. And while we do get to learn about the Simon Snow fandom thanks to excerpts from the books, the fandom community was hardly mentioned at all which I think was a huge oversight given Cath’s status as a superstar fanfic writer. Overall, I think I would have appreciated this book a lot more if I was just starting college and in need of a little hope.

"
Reviewed: 2015-05-14
Fangirl starts off great. I think most bookworms can relate to Cath and her love for a series that sounds very similar to Harry Potter. I loved the first half of the book, you can tell Levi is into her but she has no idea. She rather write fanfiction than go out like her twin and she is worried about her dad being alone. The story starts to drag though when after finally kissing Levi, she sees him kissing someone else, of course. She freaks out about her professor being upset she turned in fan fiction and instead of bouncing back from it she dwells and feels she can't write anything original for her final project, and her dad has a bit of a mental breakdown while Wren is getting to know their mom that abandoned them. All of this was great (reading wise...) but then it just kept dragging on. Once pieces started to get back into place it felt rushed and didn't ever come full circle.
Item Posts
@goofaloo
@goofaloo completed #fangirl... on 2017-07-03
@goofaloo
@goofaloo began #fangirl... on 2017-07-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #fangirl... on 2018-02-06
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #fangirl... on 2015-10-11
@emilieb
@emilieb began #fangirl... on 2015-08-26
@raymoncj
@raymoncj completed #fangirl... on 2018-03-23
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #fangirl... on 2018-06-09
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #fangirl... on 2018-06-02
@jdetour
@jdetour completed #fangirl... on 2018-06-03
@jdetour
@jdetour began #fangirl... on 2018-05-22
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #fangirl... on 2015-11-05
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #fangirl... on 2015-10-30
@dia309
@dia309 completed #fangirl... on 2018-04-25
@dia309
@dia309 began #fangirl... on 2018-04-13
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann completed #fangirl... on 2018-04-04