Fangirl

Rainbow Rowell
In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life--and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving.Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go. She doesn't want to.Now that they're going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn't want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She's got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can't stop worrying about her dad, who's loving and fragile and has never really been alone.For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-07-10

Love love love this book. I read this while I myself was going into college and so it became way too relatable. I don't have a twin but I felt her pain at being separated from her sister because I experienced something similar with my best friend. It was comforting to have a character to relate to while I feared all the things that came with being away from home living on a campus where I was expected to figure things out on my own. 

Reviewed: 2017-06-25

"It was better than nothing and more manageable than everything."

Finally read a Rainbow Rowell book and was not disappointed. As someone who learned a lot about writing through fanfiction, this felt like a reasoned story exploring the pros and cons of that. Full of zingers. I mean, I could do with less descriptions of Levi's hair and smile and whatever. But you can't win everything, now can you? Just most of the thing.

Overall: This is the Hunger Games, if the Hunger Games was about happy endings. Which it's not. At all. I mean. A little bit, I guess.

Reviewed: 2016-09-20
Such a great read! I'm normally not a big fan of contemporaries. I'm more of a sci-fi/fantasy/adventure reader. But this. Wow! I heard so many great things about Fangirl so I had pretty high expectations and I was not disappointed at all. I really identified with Cath. While reading Fangirl it felt like I was reading about myself. It was strange yet slightly comforting. Cath's experience as a freshman in college was exactly what I experienced thorough out middle school, high school and my first year at college. Insecurities and all. I've grown out of it a bit and matured, but I guess the reason why reading Fangirl felt comforting is because I had a sense of nostalgia. It made me want to tear up. :) Cath's relationship with her twin sister Wren was another thing I identified a lot with. My sister and I weren't as close as Wren and Cath while growing up. But my sister had more friends and was the social butterfly like Wren. I was like Cath. I didn't like to go to parties. (hell, I still don't.) I never liked to sit by myself. I didn't like to ask questions if I needed help with something, etc. Levi was a great character. He's known for always having a smile or grin on his face and somehow, through the pages, it was contagious. Anytime he'd get mentioned I started smiling or just outright cheesing. His relationship with Cath was adorable. Their interactions are funny and there are some pretty awesome quotes. This was just such a great coming of age story and Cath's character growth was just superb!
Reviewed: 2016-05-31

Cath and her twin sister Wren have always been inseparable until they go to college, and Wren decides that she needs some space. Cath, a neurotic, reclusive fanfic writer, is lost and overwhelmed by this new world. The book is mostly about Cath learning to cope with and even enjoy life outside of her family and her fandom, with a hefty dose of sweet romance. I’ve heard relentless praise for this book, and while I did enjoy it, I wasn’t amazed by it. There are a lot of subplots, but near the end of the book many of the subplots get pushed aside in favor of the romance. The romance was charming, but I wanted to know about the other aspects of Cath’s life too instead of just having it taken over by a boy. And while we do get to learn about the Simon Snow fandom thanks to excerpts from the books, the fandom community was hardly mentioned at all which I think was a huge oversight given Cath’s status as a superstar fanfic writer. Overall, I think I would have appreciated this book a lot more if I was just starting college and in need of a little hope.

"
Reviewed: 2015-09-19
Después de haber leído Eleanor & Park de la misma autora y haberme enamorado de su narrativa naturalmente quería más así que tomé Fangirl, lo leí y lo amé. Las historias de Rainbow Rowell sin duda salen de lo convencional y de lo que esperarías de un escritor de YA.

Hay mucho que quiero decir sobre este libro así que disculpen si de repente me enredo! :)

Fue fácil identificarse con Cath. Es una persona introvertida, que se refugia en la literatura y con dificultades a la hora de relacionarse con otras personas. Socializar simplemente no se le da muy bien. Además, está presente el temor a ser juzgada por las cosas en las que invierte su tiempo. Simon Snow (serie basada claramente en Harry Potter y todo el fenómeno que lo rodea) a ocupado prácticamente toda su vida.

Se tratan temas delicados como el abandono de Cath y Wren por parte de su madre y el posterior reencuentro, enfrentado de formas muy distintas por ambas. Así mismo, la depresión de su padre como resultado, en gran medida, de ello.

La historia, en gran medida, es sobre como Cath debe enfrentarse, en simples palabras, al mundo real. Su hermana, Wren, quiere disfrutar y vivir experiencias nuevas ahora que ingresa al mundo universitario y Cath espera que todo siga igual, le cuesta entender el porque del cambio de Wren y se siente dejada a un lado. Sentí que a pesar de intentar avanzar y salir de su zona de confort, Cath no le puso todo el empeño que debía. No enfrentaba los conflictos y la mayor parte del tiempo simplemente los ignoraba.

Mi parte favorita (bueno, una de ellas): Levi (aww). Posiblemente el personaje más adorable con el que me he encontrado. Es un encanto en todo el sentido de la palabra, es paciente, escucha, es adorable, es BUENO. El romance entre el y Cath se construyó de a poco y el ganó su confianza siendo amable y sincero (osea, metió un poquito las patas pero es comprensible).

Algo a tener en cuenta es que es un libro enfocado a un público específico, si no les gusta o nunca se han relacionado con los fandoms, fanfiction y ese pequeño mundo compuesto por fans, les será difícil disfrutarlo en tu totalidad. Como una persona que ha leído, digamos que una buena cantidad de fanfiction, fue muy agradable ver la discusión creada en torno a este tipo de escritura, sobre todo el que se le considerara literatura.

Al igual que en E&P la narrativa de la autora es fenomenal. Rainbow tiene esa habilidad con las palabras que logra que te imagines todo como una película mientras lee. Y una muy, pero muy buena.

Cita del libro: "¿Cómo puede no gustarte el Internet? Es como decir, âNo me gustan las cosas que son convenientes y fáciles. No me gusta tener acceso directo a todo a todos los descubrimientos de la humanidad. No me gusta la luz y el conocimientoâ."
Reviewed: 2015-05-14
Fangirl starts off great. I think most bookworms can relate to Cath and her love for a series that sounds very similar to Harry Potter. I loved the first half of the book, you can tell Levi is into her but she has no idea. She rather write fanfiction than go out like her twin and she is worried about her dad being alone. The story starts to drag though when after finally kissing Levi, she sees him kissing someone else, of course. She freaks out about her professor being upset she turned in fan fiction and instead of bouncing back from it she dwells and feels she can't write anything original for her final project, and her dad has a bit of a mental breakdown while Wren is getting to know their mom that abandoned them. All of this was great (reading wise...) but then it just kept dragging on. Once pieces started to get back into place it felt rushed and didn't ever come full circle.
Reviewed: 2015-02-12
I could have done without the Simon Snow parts and found myself skipping them toward the end of the book but Levi really made this book a 4 star for me. He was awesome! Over all I enjoyed it.
Reviewed: 2015-01-09
Oh god... Amazing... So amazing. I picked up this book because I mean... I was about writing and fanfictions... I was pretty excited. I love Levi so much. He is pure happiness and I just hope one day someone will make me just as happy as Cath was around him. Perfect book, in my opinion.
Reviewed: 2015-01-02

This brings me back, not just to middle school and high school which is when I read Harry Potter and fangirled over it, but also to college. It really miss my freshman year, it was just so awesome and such a great experience. Cath's experience is a lot different than mine, of course, I think I had more of a Wren college experience. I was always such a nerd and loved Harry Potter but I never told any of my friends, and never really had any friends that shared that love like I did. Which is why in college I didn't do much reading like I used to... I'm so behind on all the good books to be honest and it sucks I wasted a lot of time that I could've used reading. Cath inspires me, I always said I wanted to be a writer, and while I'm not the best and never really practiced it (creative writing) I had always really wanted to study it through high school. It sucks I took my parents advice in that it doesn't really pay to get into writing or art so I took on Criminal Justice because now I find myself stuck and not really knowing what I want to do with my two degrees. Honestly, I loved this story so much. Because although I was a Wren in college, I am now more of a Cath now that I am out of school. I'm more of a "I like to stay home and read books" type of a girl in comparison to my college years. I love Rainbow Rowell's writing style, and while Eleanor and Park is still my favorite of the two, I did love Fangirl so much. The romance was amazing, not that insta-love thing, which I love! I loved that it was mostly female characters, especially having a female protagonist. And also, I like the world of Simon Snow, and if it were an actual series, like Harry Potter I would so fangirl over it too. (although Harry Potter will always be number one in my heart). I also loved how it talks about a world that exists, where its okay for a female to write about fanfic that is about two men loving each other. The fact that this book is two stories in one (well three in a sense) just makes is even more awesome. When I read the Simon Snow bits, I kept forgetting its not real when I wanted to google something about it lol. Definitely recommend this book! All I need now is more... yes I want more Fangirl. So maybe there is fanfic for Fangirl, because there is so much more that could've been written... so much more I wanted to know! Maybe a sequel.... :)

Item Posts
@librarygoof
@librarygoof completed #fangirl... on 2017-07-03
@librarygoof
@librarygoof began #fangirl... on 2017-07-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #fangirl... on 2018-02-06
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #fangirl... on 2015-10-11
@emilieb
@emilieb began #fangirl... on 2015-08-26
@raymoncj
@raymoncj completed #fangirl... on 2018-03-23
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #fangirl... on 2018-06-09
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #fangirl... on 2018-06-02
@jdetour
@jdetour completed #fangirl... on 2018-06-03
@jdetour
@jdetour began #fangirl... on 2018-05-22
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #fangirl... on 2015-11-05
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #fangirl... on 2015-10-30
@dia309
@dia309 completed #fangirl... on 2018-04-25
@dia309
@dia309 began #fangirl... on 2018-04-13
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann completed #fangirl... on 2018-04-04