Night Circus, The

Erin Morgenstern
The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night. But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands. True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead. Written in rich, seductive prose, this spell-casting novel is a feast for the senses and the heart.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-04-22
My favorite book this year. Can't wait to read it again!
Reviewed: 2019-06-20
This just arrived! I'm so excited to start reading!!

Mostly harmless. Could be a young adult book. Most of the characters are young adults, and have young adult issues to deal with. It doesn't get sinister until about halfway through. We'll see if the real grown ups play a part.

I like this book, a lot. But it is like cotton candy: it's pretty and tastes good but doesn't have a lot of substance. If you like fantasy, romance and the fin de siècle, then there's a good chance you'll enjoy this.
Reviewed: 2019-06-20
This just arrived! I'm so excited to start reading!!

Mostly harmless. Could be a young adult book. Most of the characters are young adults, and have young adult issues to deal with. It doesn't get sinister until about halfway through. We'll see if the "real" grown ups play a part.

I like this book, a lot. But it is like cotton candy: it's pretty and tastes good but doesn't have a lot of substance. If you like fantasy, romance and the fin de siècle, then there's a good chance you'll enjoy this.
Reviewed: 2018-10-15

I lingered over this book, not wanting to leave this world. Upon finishing I actually wept. Did not expect that. Such a beautiful and magical book. Definitely one I will reread and give as gifts.

Reviewed: 2018-07-20
3.5
Reviewed: 2018-04-21
The author really loves Cirque De Sole you can tell. The magical circus grows as the the two competitors slowly fall in love.
Reviewed: 2018-02-24
I need some time to think about this one. On the surface, it's a great book. It pulled me, created a world that was vivid and engaging, and the storyline was different and unique. However, there are elements that I didn't like. At times, it felt like too much talking and not enough describing-too toothy, if you will. The story bogged down at mid-point. Easily could have cut characters or let them go sooner to help keep it flowing. One of those, I liked, but... books.
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
Closer to 4.5 stars. Everything about this story truly is enchanting. I just wish the first ~250 pages had been a bit more condensed. It felt like it took a while to actually get caught up in the magic.
Item Posts
@kristynrene
@kristynrene completed #nightcircusthe... on 2018-07-26
@kristynrene
@kristynrene began #nightcircusthe... on 2018-07-21
@pixielesher
@pixielesher completed #nightcircusthe... on 2018-10-14
@pixielesher
@pixielesher began #nightcircusthe... on 2018-10-09
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary completed #nightcircusthe... on 2015-10-19
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #nightcircusthe... on 2015-10-18
@tjoffs
@tjoffs completed #nightcircusthe... on 2017-01-30
@macduffh
@macduffh began #nightcircusthe... on 2017-03-12
@dia309
@dia309 completed #nightcircusthe... on 2015-05-11
@dia309
@dia309 began #nightcircusthe... on 2015-05-06
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #nightcircusthe... on 2014-08-21
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #nightcircusthe... on 2014-08-15