Fault in Our Stars, The

John Green
Hazel Grace Lancaster, a 16-year-old cancer patient, meets and falls in love with Gus Waters, a similarly afflicted teen from her cancer support group. Hazel feels that Gus really understands her. They both share the same acerbic wit and a love of books, especially Grace's touchstone, "An Imperial Affliction" by Peter Van Houten. When Gus scores an invitation to meet the reclusive author, he and Hazel embark on the adventure of their brief lives.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-07-08
This book was so heart breaking and heart wrenching that it has me in tears just thinking about it. The plot was solid and for being a book with a sadder concept it had a lot of humor that kept it light hearted.
Reviewed: 2016-08-16

I did not enjoy the book as much as I thought I would. The writing bothered me. It seemed very informal and then throughout, there were difficult letters written to the author of her favorite book or very loaded passages. I wanted to keep reading only because I knew the ending and wanted to see where the book was going. From the beginning, Green made it apear that Hazel would be the one to die when in fact it was really Augustus. I wanted to see the switch. I think that I had such high expectations of the book because the pop culture surrounding it. This was all anyone could talk about for the past two years and I think I expected more. I also thought that since I like Nicholas Sparks novels, this would be similar; but I was mistaken. Overall it was a good story line but it was not a book for me.

Reviewed: 2015-12-29
Oh my goodness this was the saddest story ever! I tried so hard not to cry. I'm seriously gonna need two boxes of tissue when I see the movie. But it really does get you thinking about life, death, and how people with cancer are set as outcasts. I love how witty Gus was. He was so sweet and funny. I would have loved to have my heart broken by him. This book made me feel so small and like I need to expand my vocabulary. These people were smart though they did use the word "said" a lot.
Reviewed: 2015-08-03
LOVE LOVE LOVED this book! 5 stars no doubt about it!
Reviewed: 2015-04-04

This book man, I must admit, that I absolutly loved it. I love the way that the author (John Green) writes. The book provides many details and is writting beautifuly.
The way that the two main characters are described. UGH, I really can't express my love for this book. I litteraly sat up for i don't know how many hours, but i finished the book, in almost one go. I'm in love.

And if you haven't read it yet, get going. - It's better than the movie

Reviewed: 2015-01-02

Okay, so this book is amazing, so many feelings. Did I cry? Yes. Of course. I was an emotional wreck. If you haven't heard of this book all I have to say is... where have you been? Get up and go to your local bookstore and buy it. Or get it on your kindle, nook, iBooks, etc. I enjoy John Green's writing style, Back in high school, I read An Abundance of Katherines, and really liked it. Of course, Tumblr was full of "READ THIS BOOK" and "TFIOS is AWESOME", I was curious. When I saw it was John Green who wrote Abundance of Katherines I had to get the book. The only reason I put the book down was to try and stop from crying. When I finished it, I hugged it for about an hour. LOL. I'm excited for the movie to come out, hopefully its true to the movie, although the trailer makes it seem like it is.

In the words of Augustus Waters, my thoughts are stars I can't fathom into constellations.
Item Posts
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2014-06-01
@afortenberry
@afortenberry completed #faultinourstarst... on 2016-07-05
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2017-02-08
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 began #faultinourstarst... on 2017-01-04
@nickiepaige521
@nickiepaige521 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2012-02-12
@nickiepaige521
@nickiepaige521 began #faultinourstarst... on 2016-12-21
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi completed #faultinourstarst... on 2014-10-05
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi began #faultinourstarst... on 2014-10-01
@mrscutting
@mrscutting began #faultinourstarst... on 2016-09-08
@aprildralle
@aprildralle completed #faultinourstarst... on 2012-01-17
@valdiviadanneli
@valdiviadanneli began #faultinourstarst... on 2016-02-07
@ioannis
@ioannis began #faultinourstarst... on 2015-08-12
@wolfgirl19
@wolfgirl19 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2015-07-29
@wolfgirl19
@wolfgirl19 began #faultinourstarst... on 2015-07-23
@kwesley319
@kwesley319 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2015-06-30