Fault in Our Stars, The

John Green
Hazel Grace Lancaster, a 16-year-old cancer patient, meets and falls in love with Gus Waters, a similarly afflicted teen from her cancer support group. Hazel feels that Gus really understands her. They both share the same acerbic wit and a love of books, especially Grace's touchstone, "An Imperial Affliction" by Peter Van Houten. When Gus scores an invitation to meet the reclusive author, he and Hazel embark on the adventure of their brief lives.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-06-08
I did not mean to read this all in one sitting, but I could not put it down. Now my day is gone and my heart, shattered.

This book broke my heart. I knew it was going to, but I didn't expect it to be quite so deep a heartbreak.

It was a beautiful book. It made me laugh and sigh and hope and cry. And it is not easy for me to cry. But I bawled like I had lost just someone dear to me. I feel like I did lose someone close to my heart.

I wanted to read this book for two reasons. One, I heard wonderful things about it and it seemed like something I would enjoy reading. And two, because I try to make it a point to read a book before seeing the film adaptation, because inevitably, if I did it the other way around I would never read the book.

I don't think I'll ever watch the movie now. I don't think I could handle seeing Hazel and Augustus in brilliant Technicolor, laughing and falling in love. That first new, young love. The kind that hits you like a sledgehammer and runs deep and burns bright and fast. I can't watch the heartbreak in real-time.

I don't think I'll ever read this book again, which is sad because it was such a beautiful book. It should be read many times by many people.

This review is probably one of my worst, but it's how this book made me feel.

Reviewed: 2018-12-26
It was a cute book, but I feel like it was nothing special. When I was done I didn’t feel like I had to read it. The characters were not developed very well in my opinion.
Reviewed: 2018-11-07

This story is about a girl who has the thyroid cancer and fall in love with a boy who lost a leg because of osteosarcoma. It presents how do they deal with their illness and embrace each other into their lives. It’s a heavy theme but the story is encouraging and positive. I feel so thankful that being alive and powerful to face all of the challenges in my life.

-Xiaozhen Tong

Reviewed: 2018-10-26

Tearjerker

read if sad 

It is a beautiful piece; it got me into reading more of John Green's works, which are mostly just as amazing. 

Reviewed: 2016-08-16

I did not enjoy the book as much as I thought I would. The writing bothered me. It seemed very informal and then throughout, there were difficult letters written to the author of her favorite book or very loaded passages. I wanted to keep reading only because I knew the ending and wanted to see where the book was going. From the beginning, Green made it apear that Hazel would be the one to die when in fact it was really Augustus. I wanted to see the switch. I think that I had such high expectations of the book because the pop culture surrounding it. This was all anyone could talk about for the past two years and I think I expected more. I also thought that since I like Nicholas Sparks novels, this would be similar; but I was mistaken. Overall it was a good story line but it was not a book for me.

Item Posts
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2018-07-31
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #faultinourstarst... on 2018-07-31
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2014-05-29
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #faultinourstarst... on 2014-05-29
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2014-06-01
@afortenberry
@afortenberry completed #faultinourstarst... on 2016-07-05
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2017-02-08
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 began #faultinourstarst... on 2017-01-04
@nickiepaige521
@nickiepaige521 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2012-02-12
@nickiepaige521
@nickiepaige521 began #faultinourstarst... on 2016-12-21
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi completed #faultinourstarst... on 2014-10-05
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi began #faultinourstarst... on 2014-10-01
@mrscutting
@mrscutting began #faultinourstarst... on 2016-09-08
@aprildralle
@aprildralle completed #faultinourstarst... on 2012-01-17
@wolfgirl19
@wolfgirl19 completed #faultinourstarst... on 2015-07-29