Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world's only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon—both of whom have lived amongst Earth's mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle—are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist . . .

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-08-01
This book was not for me. I lnow it's popular and I could see why. But it jist didn't connect with me.
Reviewed: 2019-05-08

Locus Award Nominee for Best Fantasy Novel (1991), World Fantasy Award Nominee for Best Novel (1991)

Hilarious! Until it goes on just a tad too long and doesn't change in its one-liner approach. We can see what's coming almost from the start, so it's the way the story gets told that makes this so worthwhile. It just starts to fall flat at times, but luckily, this duo is so excellent, it's never boring or not worth the read. It isn't, however, a book I'd necessarily want to reread. 

It’s Monty Python meets Douglas Adams with a pinch of Christopher Moore’s Lamb. Read it if you're one of the three people who haven't done so. 

Reviewed: 2018-07-25
This is one of my favorite books. It's hilarious and original in plot, characters, and method of storytelling. Full of surprises and laughs. Highly recommend.
Reviewed: 2018-07-14
Funny and satire. I really enjoyed reading the book! It was a struggle at first because of how Gaiman likes to write his books, he’ll throw in characters without further explanation until it all makes sense towards the end. But the book is really funny. I love Crowley! I loooove the book!! ❤️❤️❤️
Reviewed: 2018-06-26

I've been hearing praises about this book almost on every "best humor book" threads on reddit n elsewhere and thus was expecting it to be hilarious. It wasn't that. The story was entertaining and I loved listening to it, like any other Neil Gaiman book. But it wasn't among the "best funny book" I have read. In fact I didn't find it all that funny. Was the British accent supposed to be funny or was the Them gang's childishness? Other than a few passages, I didn't find anything "funny". Having that wrong expectation sort of dinged the listening experience.

 

Now that that's out of the way - the story is still entertaining. It's a wholesome story with adorable characters and a good pacing. There wasn't any dull moment. The narrator did a fab job with all the accents and different character voices.

 

Reviewed: 2018-06-03
A great book by two of the greatest authors of this generation.
Reviewed: 2016-06-06

This book is very funny story. It has a bunch of characters to keep track of that a second read of some spots is recommened. Such a enlightened view of people and of the part good and evil plays in our world. 

Item Posts
@elamoste
@elamoste completed #goodomensthenice... on 2020-03-29
@elamoste
@elamoste began #goodomensthenice... on 2020-03-15
@aspireking26
@aspireking26 completed #goodomensthenice... on 2019-07-31
@hikkay
@hikkay completed #goodomensthenice... on 2019-06-22
@maijeff
@maijeff began #goodomensthenice... on 2016-06-03
@maijeff
@maijeff completed #goodomensthenice... on 2016-06-10
@ps5517
@ps5517 completed #goodomensthenice... on 2019-03-20
@hikkay
@hikkay began #goodomensthenice... on 2019-05-25
@zairhazerdane1
@zairhazerdane1 began #goodomensthenice... on 2019-02-15
@wolfstar23
@wolfstar23 completed #goodomensthenice... on 2019-01-03
@wolfstar23
@wolfstar23 began #goodomensthenice... on 2019-01-01
@zairhazerdane1
@zairhazerdane1 completed #goodomensthenice... on 2018-07-14
@schuhrkereads
@schuhrkereads completed #goodomensthenice... on 2018-07-08
@schuhrkereads
@schuhrkereads began #goodomensthenice... on 2018-07-03
@zairhazerdane1
@zairhazerdane1 began #goodomensthenice... on 2018-07-07