Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world's only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon—both of whom have lived amongst Earth's mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle—are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist . . .

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-06-03
A great book by two of the greatest authors of this generation.
Reviewed: 2017-02-08
4.25
Reviewed: 2017-01-02
Don't bother. In my search for a good book to occupy a long flight I thought this might be a good selection to have among my picks to keep me company. A funny story about the apocalypse? It sounded like something that was just the ticket in light of relatively recent events.

That it was a collaborative effort intrigued me (although I'm not very familiar with Prachett) so it seemed like it was worth giving it a go. Unfortunately...it's not. Satire can be difficult and books that deal with religion in general aren't high on my list. Simply put, the book is a MESS.

There are too many characters, it's hard to tell what the plot is, the text desperately needs editing and I just felt it was a cash grab, really.

I wondered if it was just me and maybe not being in the right frame of mind for it but I see that I'm not alone in being unable to make heads or tails of the entire project. Never been a huge Gaiman fan either (he's typically a miss for me but I did enjoy 'American Gods').

All I can say is that I'm glad I bought this super cheap and could leave it behind for someone else to hopefully enjoy.
Reviewed: 2016-06-06

This book is very funny story. It has a bunch of characters to keep track of that a second read of some spots is recommened. Such a enlightened view of people and of the part good and evil plays in our world. 

Reviewed: 2015-03-21

After Sir Terry's passing, I knew I had to re-read something of his. As I was about to embark on vacation with Bear to the Outer Banks (the beach is FIVE HOURS AWAY from where we live, a concept I still can't wrap my mind around), I decided to "reread" this on audio. 

5 stars for performance, because Martin Jarvis rocks. Comedic novels can fail horribly if read wrong, and Jarvis just NAILS it.

It's funny, on rereads, I can totally tell which sections Pratchett wrote and which sections Gaiman wrote now. Also, it's so dated now. All with late 20th century technology, landlines, car phones, cassette tapes, but it just adds to the charm.

Always recommended, this one. 

Reviewed: 2006-11-28

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world's only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.

So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon—both of whom have lived amongst Earth's mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle—are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.

And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist . . .

Good Omens has been recommended to me an awful lot. B&amp;N, GoodReads, and Kobo - all at the same time - said this is what people who like what I like like. I guess I can see why. I've liked several Neil Gaiman books and a couple of Terry Pratchetts. (I would probably like more Pratchett but I try to avoid being sucked into series fiction.)<br /><br />Good Omens seems like a lot of other books and some BBC presentations: satire, silliness disguised as intelligent humo(u)r and vice versa. This novel actually does have some valuable stuff at the center. It's like it's trying to dissuade you from thinking of the nature of good and evil, what role religion plays in it, nature vs. nurture - but it's all there and plenty ponderous if you don't let yourself get distracted.<br /><br />Other things Good Omens has: too many characters and plot twists, as much quirky padding as clever substance (I'm still trying to figure out where the line is that separates those two), and a denouement twice as long as needed.
Item Posts
@bikram
@bikram began #goodomensthenice... on 2018-06-12
@500booksblog
@500booksblog completed #goodomensthenice... on 2018-03-06
@500booksblog
@500booksblog began #goodomensthenice... on 2018-03-02
@catpage
@catpage began #goodomensthenice... on 2017-08-01
@mrrational
@mrrational completed #goodomensthenice... on 2017-09-08
@mrrational
@mrrational began #goodomensthenice... on 2017-09-02
@wellreadwoman
@wellreadwoman completed #goodomensthenice... on 2017-06-05
@wellreadwoman
@wellreadwoman began #goodomensthenice... on 2017-05-18
@nilxchaos
@nilxchaos completed #goodomensthenice... on 2017-02-27
@nilxchaos
@nilxchaos began #goodomensthenice... on 2017-02-27
@algo1rhythm
@algo1rhythm began #goodomensthenice... on 2017-02-10
@divadiane
@divadiane began #goodomensthenice... on 2016-11-01
@circaway
@circaway completed #goodomensthenice... on 2016-02-21
@circaway
@circaway began #goodomensthenice... on 2016-02-19
@circaway
@circaway began #goodomensthenice... on 2016-02-20