By Your Side

Kasie West
An irresistible story from Kasie West that explores the timeless question What do you do when you fall for the person you least expect?When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.Only he doesn’t come. No one does.Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn at first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-03-07
I liked By Your Side significantly more than the previous West book I'd read, The Fill-In Boyfriend. The whole thing was still slightly absurd, but it was a light, quick read that had its funny moments!
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 1/16/17: I loooooved it. Not my all-time favorite Kasie West but I ADORED Dax and how the relationship developed in this book. There was some seriously adorable flirtation, a bad-boy vibe, SUCH tension, and a really great close to the story. I seriously applaud the way everything ended because it could have been unnecessarily dramatic and instead, it was harmonious and a true show of great friends.

It's not my all-time favorite simply because I didn't feel as MUCH personality as I have from some of Kasie's other female leads but I did still love Autumn in so many ways! I appreciated how everything was handled with her anxiety and I liked that a plot point wasn't how she discovered the extent of her anxiety but rather that she hadn't told her friends about it because she didn't want to be treated differently. I liked that she wasn't embarrassed by it but just didn't want to be treated like she was emotionally fragile. And I also appreciated how all of that resolved in the several ways that it did in the end.

The romance was SO. CUTE. I just love Kasie West's romances and I always love a good bad-boy type finally opening up and falling for someone. It's so cliche sometimes but it's such a heart-warming trope that I'll never get sick of it (as long as it's done well). I instantly loved Dax and his whole vibe.

I don't know why I was surprised because Kasie West always writes some really awesome friend support but I also really loved Autumn's friends! I was worried at first because it seemed like she was extending herself too far to be a part of their group but it was great to see that friendship support really roll out throughout the whole book. There were issues, as all friends will have, especially in the teenage years, but I really loved how everything worked out and how the group really came together instead of breaking apart.

As usual, another hit for Kasie West! I have my clear favorites but I've loved every single one of her books and I needed a cute and fun love story right now and this definitely delivered! She's one of my queens of contemporary and this books all have a special place in my heart.

OH, and I happened to read it during the actual weekend that the book took place so high five for good timing! It just made it that much more fun.
Reviewed: 2017-07-16

Love love love, absolutely loved it! this might very well be my favorite kasie west book now <3

Item Posts
@Darci
@Darci completed #byyourside... on 2019-01-10
@Darci
@Darci began #byyourside... on 2019-01-08
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #byyourside... on 2017-05-04
@emilieb
@emilieb began #byyourside... on 2017-05-01
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #byyourside... on 2017-02-20
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #byyourside... on 2017-02-16
@schuhrkereads
@schuhrkereads completed #byyourside... on 2018-01-17
@schuhrkereads
@schuhrkereads began #byyourside... on 2018-01-17
@catandmouse10
@catandmouse10 completed #byyourside... on 2017-02-02
@julikxxo
@julikxxo completed #byyourside... on 2017-11-25
@julikxxo
@julikxxo began #byyourside... on 2017-11-23
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt completed #byyourside... on 2017-07-25
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt began #byyourside... on 2017-07-24
@booknerdgirl97
@booknerdgirl97 completed #byyourside... on 2017-05-06
@booknerdgirl97
@booknerdgirl97 began #byyourside... on 2017-02-28