Will Grayson, Will Grayson

John Green, David Levithan
One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical. Hilarious, poignant, and deeply insightful, John Green and David Levithan’s collaborative novel is brimming with a double helping of the heart and humor that have won them both legions of faithful fans.  

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-07-18
Laughed and smiled throughout the entire book :)
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 12/6/15: This was actually a lot more enjoyable than I thought it would be! I haven't really had success with either author (nothing BAD but I just haven't felt very invested) so I was super hesitant about this book... But when I saw that two of my favorite audiobook narrators performed it, I knew I had to give it a try!
It was actually quite an enjoyable listen. I guess I'm still not super invested in the characters (similar to my experience with other John Green books) and I really think that the narrators brought out a lot of personality. I think this is one of those times where it was very beneficial to listen on audio because I might not have enjoyed it as much if I hadn't. That being said, I really did like how the whole story played out! It was a love story and it wasn't. It was a break-up story and it wasn't. It was about friendship and finding happiness and how hard it is to even know where to start finding happiness because we don't always know what we're missing.
I actually really loved how both Wills ended up growing and evolving by the end of the book. The development was great and it was awesome to see how their friendships (although not really with each other) helped them get there. I wasn't totally hooked but I'll say a solid four stars!
(MacLeod Andrews and Nick Podehl forever <3)

Full review as originally posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 1/12/16: Full disclosure: I really only read this book because of the audiobook narrators. I’ve really struck out with both authors on multiple occasions (not terrible but enough to make me feel like I wasn’t anxious to pick up anything else by them) so I was super nervous to read WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON… But with two of my favorite audio narrators ever (Nick Podehl and MacLeod Andrews), I knew I had to give it a shot!

I was actually… pleasantly surprised! WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON was enjoyable from start to finish and it ended up being a really quick read/listen for me. I wasn’t totally in love with the book since Will Grayson #2 was a bit hard to like sometimes due to his generally surly demeanor and Will Grayson #1 was a bit more closed off… But it was also really interested to watch those characters change and grow throughout the book! I really did like the character development, seeing how their relationships changed, and how they really grew up and gained confidence along the way.

The story takes place in the suburbs of Chicago which is where I’m from so really I was dying for more specific locations so I could really put myself in the book! Will Grayson #2 is from Naperville which I’ve known all my life, I have relatives who live there, and that’s also where my husband used to live so I was trying to dissect which high school he went to but there really weren’t any clues given. I guess it’s probably better and more universal not to reference a specific high school or place when referencing a real town but I really wanted to pretend like I knew exactly where Will Grayson lived!

I think I was hoping for a quicker merge of the two Will Grayson story lines. Now that I’m looking back, I can’t remember exactly how long it took them to meet (halfway through the book? Not quite as far?) but I do remember wishing it had been just a bit sooner. I also was imagining their stories would be much more connected. They aren’t quite a part of each other’s lives but they do end up with mutual friends/acquaintances from their meeting.

Overall, the book was fun, quick, and I really did enjoy from start to finish. There were some small moments where I think I had expectations that didn’t quite pan out (in general, just my impression of what the book was going to be) so I wasn’t as invested as I possibly could have been. I also had the hang-up that I wasn’t a huge fan of either author before starting but it was kind of nice to have this book renew my faith a bit! I don’t know if I’m motivated to pick up more from either author but it was a very pleasant experience and a really nice read!
Reviewed: 2017-04-03
It's really only a personal issue that made me give this only 4 and not 5 stars: I cannot freaking stand it when people write in all lower-case. Barely tolerable in a text message, unacceptable in a book! It's proofread and edited and shit!

Ok, but the story was so good and the characters so real and, god help me, likeable, even the one who wrote in all lower-case, that I soldiered on and soon enough no power in the verse was going to stop me from finding out what happens to those people.

Hint: It's life. Not much of a hint on the surface but if you read Will Grayson, Will Grayson, it's almost like I'm profound or whatever.
Item Posts
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #willgraysonwillg... on 2012-09-02
@buzzy12
@buzzy12 completed #willgraysonwillg... on 2017-11-03
@okklou
@okklou completed #willgraysonwillg... on 2015-05-26
@okklou
@okklou began #willgraysonwillg... on 2015-05-25