Blade Itself (First Law 1)

Joe Abercrombie
Inquisitor Glokta, a crippled and increasingly bitter relic of the last war, former fencing champion turned torturer extraordinaire, is trapped in a twisted and broken body - not that he allows it to distract him from his daily routine of torturing smugglers. Nobleman, dashing officer and would-be fencing champion Captain Jezal dan Luthar is living a life of ease by cheating his friends at cards. Vain, shallow, selfish and self-obsessed, the biggest blot on his horizon is having to get out of bed in the morning to train with obsessive and boring old men. And Logen Ninefingers, an infamous warrior with a bloody past, is about to wake up in a hole in the snow with plans to settle a blood feud with Bethod, the new King of the Northmen, once and for all - ideally by running away from it. But as he's discovering, old habits die really, really hard indeed ...especially when Bayaz gets involved. A bald old man with a terrible temper and a pathetic assistant, he could be the First of the Magi, he could be a spectacular fraud, but whatever he is, he's about to make the lives of Glotka, Jezal and Logen a whole lot more difficult ...

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-02-05
I had no idea what to expect going into this series All I read was that it was very good and very dark and were they ever right. This book is extremely violent to say the least. It mostly serves as an introduction to all of the main characters and getting them setup for the tasks to come. I love how not a single person here is cliche (Jezal is the closest), and none of them can be considered "good".

All in all, a very exciting read, and I'm looking forward to the rest of the trilogy.
Reviewed: 2019-01-12
to-read
Reviewed: 2018-12-26
I am so disappointed. I'm not done with this story, even by a little, but the book is done! This is very definitely just the first book. It sets the stage for at least a sequel, or probably a trilogy, but is maybe a longer series.
The beginning was not slow to me but all the story did was gain momentum and speed with every new page. I liked most of the characters, the way they thought, the quirky dialog, etc., though I wish "I do indeed" hadn't featured as often nor from as many sources.
Read this book. I look forward to reading the next one.
Reviewed: 2018-01-25
Abercrombie versammelt eine Runde an klassischen Fantasy-Charakteren: Logen, einen Barbaren; Jezal, einen Soldaten; Bayaz, einen Magier; Glokta, einen... verkrüppelten Inquisitor?

Nun gut, nicht alles ist standard. Vor allem nicht das Setting, das durchaus in unserer Zukunft spielen sollte, halt mit Magie und nur verschütteten Resten unserer Zivilisation.

Krieg und Liebe gibt es immer noch. Und Intrigen und Mord und... eine spannende Geschichte, aus mehreren Gesichtspunkten erzählt.
Reviewed: 2016-12-15
Wonderful. Don't know how I missed this series for the past six years. Some really great writing in here, not just as fantasy, but as actual literature. That the most fascinating character is so utterly repulsive - a cynical world-weary torturer - just makes it all the better. The magic element in this is understated and, therefore, quite believable. Unlike most fantasy, this book doesn't portray the status-quo as either right or supportable, but as something horribly wrong and debased which needs to change.
Item Posts
@bas
@bas completed #bladeitselffirst... on 2019-06-02
@sammieb
@sammieb completed #bladeitselffirst... on 2015-06-27
@sammieb
@sammieb began #bladeitselffirst... on 2015-05-28
@caine
@caine completed #bladeitselfthe... on 2009-01-01